The Club To Do List

image.png

Do you agree the above are the priorities?

What else is on the clubs to do list to make us a better club /Team

• Aidan7557
    • Jan 2025

Hopefully pick up a gun half-back and small forward tonight. Don't bother with Rowell and go all in for Butters. Trade out Jamarra and clear more cap and absolutely lock in Freijah long term who will be a target of a lot of clubs.

It's a reasonable to do list. Ambitious in some sense but most of it is 'doable'.
      I might be on my own here but I'd have Rowell as the ambitious signing priority.

In saying that IF Butters says I want to come THEN we go as hard as we can to bring him in.

• JackCJohnston2000
        • May 2024

We shouldn't go all in on Butters unless he secretly tells us that he's going to leave. In the same way that we shouldn't go all in on ANY player unless they want to leave their current club.

Because it can go horribly wrong, saving and acquiring a war chest of picks to only be met with "Butters re-signs with Port Adelaide".

I don't know how likely we are, but it's nice to be considered an actual destination for genuine stars like Butters & Rowell. Would love for just one to come here and open the flood gates.

• mighty_west
            • Feb 2008

It's a reasonable to do list. Ambitious in some sense but most of it is 'doable'.
            I might be on my own here but I'd have Rowell as the ambitious signing priority.

In saying that IF Butters says I want to come THEN we go as hard as we can to bring him in.
            You're not on your own there, would love to get Rowell, either of the two would be amazing and help set up our midfield for the next decade, the only issues i see is what do we have to give up? If Will Darcy continues to gain momentum especially via the media, if Cooney and West show their full potential heading into next years draft, we obviously have Jamarra (if he can get himself right) and if he wants to continue playing footy as possible bait, either of the two players would cost us plenty.

• josie
              • Oct 2012

I’m leaning this way too. Butters is a star however he has a bit of a light frame & I fear injures in not too distant future. I’d still be overjoyed if we sign Butters though. I just don’t think we should sell the farm for him, or Rowell.
              Josie :)

Our day will come
              And we'll have everything.
              We'll share the joy
              Just like '54 again.

• Flamethrower
                • Oct 2009

We need to get a bidding war going for Marra - and accept nothing less than 2 1st round picks in 2025 and 2026 and a 2nd round pick this year or next.

Go all in for whomever is gettable out of Matt Rowell or Zac Butters (or both if Rowell is sick of playing for Maccas FC and Butters wants out of Adelaide Prison FC).

If successful getting one or both of them then sign Sanders to a contract that assures us of maximum return when he is traded to Tasmania as their inaugural captain.

Footscray member since 1980.

I will like to also add VDM as a must sign

• kruder

Originally posted by Bornadog
                    I will like to also add VDM as a must sign
                    Who would have thought... Has had an influential year.

• DOG GOD
                      • Jul 2007

Originally posted by Flamethrower
                      We need to get a bidding war going for Marra - and accept nothing less than 2 1st round picks in 2025 and 2026 and a 2nd round pick this year or next.

Go all in for whomever is gettable out of Matt Rowell or Zac Butters (or both if Rowell is sick of playing for Maccas FC and Butters wants out of Adelaide Prison FC).

If successful getting one or both of them then sign Sanders to a contract that assures us of maximum return when he is traded to Tasmania as their inaugural captain.
                      jamarra is an interesting one. Obviously massive off field issues. I just can’t see any club giving up 2 first rounders for him. If we want him gone, then we will take what we can get.
                      let’s just say for argument sake, Sydney show interest. They finish 14th, so get pick 4 in the draft, and pick 21 before any draft concessions. No way do they offer pick 4. Pick 21? Doesn’t seem good enough, but if it’s 21 or keep him, Whst do the dogs do ?

I don't give a shit which midfielder we try and get in from a super star level, if they can't play forward pocket/ flank from time to time without sooking then I don't want them. On top of that we need to prioritise quality in those areas.

The difference between us and the best right now is the ability to execute/ finish our work when the heat is on. This should be our main priority in recruitment right now, outside of the Libba/ Treloar replacement.

• Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Originally posted by JackCJohnston2000
                          We shouldn't go all in on Butters unless he secretly tells us that he's going to leave. In the same way that we shouldn't go all in on ANY player unless they want to leave their current club.

Because it can go horribly wrong, saving and acquiring a war chest of picks to only be met with "Butters re-signs with Port Adelaide".
                          It's all good man, we've still got all that Hurley money up our sleeved squirreled away don't we???, We play the long game. 5D multiverse chess., everyone else is playing tic-tac-toe