• Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Bankers & Anchors: Rnd 15, 2025, vs Richmond

This is the Round 15, 2025 edition of the weekly Bankers and Anchors thread. Once this afternoon's game against Richmond has concluded post your nominations for:

The Bankers = 3 guys/aspects of the game that we banked on to do the right thing during the game
    The Anchors = 3 guys/aspects of the game that weighed us down by their errors or poor play

Please limit it to no more than three of each player or aspect of the game, but feel free to make honourable/dishonourable mentions. As usual try to make it constructive criticism.

Try and restrict it to individual players rather than aspects of the overall match - I will allow more freedom now as the thread seems to be going down more of the aspects of the game path so you can have 3 for each made up of aspects of the game and individual player.
  • Raels_d
    • Jun 2021

Bont - our magnificent captain led from the front
    Darcy - love watching him mark and kick goals in the forward line but his agility around the ground is amazing
    Bont & Darcy - to think it’s only the second game played together this year. Excited to watch them both as the season progresses

Treloar - another calf set back
    Naughton - another match where his endeavour is good but he is struggling to have an impact

• Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

I'm going to look outside the obvious

1. Hynes- strong finishing today . 5 games in and he must really have come off today feeling like he had a net impact. Well done young fella!. That's what I used to love when I was a kid watching the Doggies in the early 80's, and seeing a kid do something to stand out and mark himself as someone you wanted to see suceed.

2. Sam Davidson - I just can't believe a guy like Sam can step in and 15 weeks deep into his debut AFL season is not just holding his spot, but forcing oppo coaches to be cognisant of him. Man we really should be celebrating him more.

3. Bailey Williams. Just quietly goes about his work. Has earned both praise and opprobrium along the journey, but he is super resilient, and keeps fronting up and learning. He's looking like he could be a one club player, and I'm stoked. There's very little fanfare, but you can see by his interactions with other players after the game that he's a jovial guy who loves to have an in joke and a laugh. I suspect he's well liked in the group.

Anchors.

1. I'm giving the players a week off. Heaps made mistakes, but meh I'll leave that to the coaches. A lot of nasty sh1t in the world, and my football team won by 70 something points, I'll enjoy and celebrate the sunshine today. I hope many of you enjoyed it too.

1. Bont's three goals and 36 disposals - no wonder he is in the team of the century coming up.
        2. Ed - love the way he is able to get himself out of tight situations then hit up a superb pass to a team mate.
        3. Dolan - he is almost there, just want to give him a wrap

Treloar's calf

• jazzadogs
          • Oct 2008

Originally posted by Bornadog

1. Bont's three goals and 36 disposals - no wonder he is in the team of the century coming up.
          2. Ed - love the way he is able to get himself out of tight situations then hit up a superb pass to a team mate.
          3. Dolan - he is almost there, just want to give him a wrap

Treloar's calf
          What's this?

Originally posted by jazzadogs

What's this?
            The Bulldogs will name the best 25 players for the past 100 years. Bont and Libba confirmed in. I don't know the others

• jazzadogs
              • Oct 2008

The Bulldogs will name the best 25 players for the past 100 years. Bont and Libba confirmed in. I don't know the others
              Oh right. Is there an event for that? First I've heard of it!

• Dry Rot

[QUOTE=Yankee Hotel Foxtrot;n1332360]Bankers

1. Hynes- strong finishing today . 5 games in and he must really have come off today feeling like he had a net impact. Well done young fella!. That's what I used to love when I was a kid watching the Doggies in the early 80's, and seeing a kid do something to stand out and mark himself as someone you wanted to see suceed.

2. Sam Davidson - I just can't believe a guy like Sam can step in and 15 weeks deep into his debut AFL season is not just holding his spot, but forcing oppo coaches to be cognisant of him. Man we really should be celebrating him more.

3. Bailey Williams. Just quietly goes about his work. Has earned both praise and opprobrium along the journey, but he is super resilient, and keeps fronting up and learning. He's looking like he could be a one club player, and I'm stoked. There's very little fanfare, but you can see by his interactions with other players after the game that he's a jovial guy who loves to have an in joke and a laugh. I suspect he's well liked in the group.

Absolutely agree with these three Bankers here, and would add Dolan in there.

Hard to pick anchors in such a one-sided game, but a controversial anchor.

I love what Lobb brings to his role, and he's been sensational in so many games since he has played down back.

However, today he encountered an old gun forward in his twilight in Lynch and was to a degree shown up. Hope he's learnt something from all of that.

Originally posted by jazzadogs

Oh right. Is there an event for that? First I've heard of it!
                  image.png
                  $250 per head

• Ozza

English - has been pushed around by Nankervis over the years. Really pleased with how he competed.
                    Lobb - so reliable down back. Very bankable.
                    Darcy - Love how he stays involved. Averages 17 possessions in his completed games this season.

Naughton - just isn't getting involved. 7 times this season he hasn't reached 10 possessions. I know thats not his core role - but if he had developed forward craft, he would be able to get some easy footy. He hardly ever gets an easy kick.

Bramble - this is not going to be our guy for a final or big game.

Treloar - body has always been a bit unreliable. Starting to get hard for him to make an impact this season.

• JackCJohnston2000
                      • May 2024

[QUOTE=Dry Rot;n1332406]
                      Originally posted by Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Absolutely agree with these three Bankers here, and would add Dolan in there.

Hard to pick anchors in such a one-sided game, but a controversial anchor.

I love what Lobb brings to his role, and he's been sensational in so many games since he has played down back.

However, today he encountered an old gun forward in his twilight in Lynch and was to a degree shown up. Hope he's learnt something from all of that.
                      I don't want to beat down on Lobb either as he has been incredible for us down back and seems to be a great man. But in the name of constant improvement and accountability, I am glad you brought this up, Dry Rot. One on one, he may have a weakness against the brutish type full forwards. Lynch played with him a bit and just used his body against Lobby way better than the other way around.

I am not concerned because Rory seems like a proud footballer and will work on that... but I think it'll be a watch when we play teams that have those archetype full forwards like Adelaide (Walker and Fogarty) and GWS (Hogan).

Originally posted by Ozza

English - has been pushed around by Nankervis over the years. Really pleased with how he competed.
                        Lobb - so reliable down back. Very bankable.
                        Darcy - Love how he stays involved. Averages 17 possessions in his completed games this season.

Naughton - just isn't getting involved. 7 times this season he hasn't reached 10 possessions. I know thats not his core role - but if he had developed forward craft, he would be able to get some easy footy. He hardly ever gets an easy kick.

Bramble - this is not going to be our guy for a final or big game.

Treloar - body has always been a bit unreliable. Starting to get hard for him to make an impact this season.
                        Re. Bramble got a shocking HTB decision trying to 360 in congestion but 23 touches, 9 marks, 4 i50s a goal and 94 ranking points may not be the right week to once again pin up our supposed whipping boy. I guess someone has to be IT though.

Just a reminder, Lobb - 21 Disposals, 13 marks - yeah Lynch with 5 marks, but hey overall Lobb destroyed him

I think when you consider the limited supply that Lobby wouldn’t be stoked with his performance one on one with Lynch, but he’s so good the other way that it kinda broke even. I think he needed to be a bit more back shoulder but given we were belting them I can understand the positioning he took. He won’t play Amartey so aggressively this week.

• Jeanette54
                              • Oct 2009

Hopefully John Jillard cracks it for a mention, he was a reliable standout for the defense, back in his day. Also, I remember the incredible effort from Scott Wynd during a semi-final in which we were flogged by Geelong. It was probably the best captain's game I have ever seen. The rucks will be interesting, John Schultz, Norman Ware, Garry Dempsey, Scott Wynd, Luke Darcy etc. etc. And which Libba, could there be a father and son selection ? Will Scott West or Adam Cooney edge out Alan Hopkins? Unbelievable array of deserving talent, all of whom could be deserving of a place.
                              The truth will set you free,
                              but first it will piss you off. ... Gloria Steinem.