Question re: their tall defenders - for teams that play a very high forward do they have their third taller defender follow them up, or do they hand over and hold firm in their D50?

If that's a chance Croft can drag one of their talls away and give Darcy & Naughton some 1 on 1s we may exploit that. Especially given we tend to play Rhylee West as our deepest forward (Ryan goes to him and tries to impact contests as third man up?)

• mjp

Originally posted by Pleather Sole

They managed 5 goals for the entire game....... They missed easy goals, butchered them. They are slow moving the ball from D50.
      You said they were 'dreadful' - I said that doesn't tell the tail of the game where poor goal-kicking cost them a half time (and possibly quarter time) lead.

Who cares if the ball movement is fast or slow? What matters is the end result. When slow ball movement results in a mark inside 50 and a shot on goal...isn't that good? I know it's trendy to criticise anything that isn't balls to the wall through the corridor, but it's outcomes that matter. Freo's inability to kick SIMPLE GOALS on the weekend really hurt them and the way the game is being represented in the post match is not an accurate description of what actually happened.

Ultimately you're statement "They missed easy goals, butchered them" is 100% accurate. But missing goals and moving the ball slowly from D50...well, those two things are not really related.

There was a stat yesterday that the side currently ranked 18th for effective ball movement chains from D50 to F50 is....ADELAIDE. And they're on top of the ladder. They just beat Collingwood being -34 for inside 50. They weren't SLOW moving the ball. They couldn't move it AT ALL. They still won.

There are 10000000 ways to skin a cat.

• mjp

Originally posted by Rusty12
        More of a request than a question.
        Dishwashing liquid, all over the training ground, please, and test out Young's adductor injury........
        He is the key for me (And as you said above, Clarke) if we can lock them in, and make them play slow, leaving D50, we got em. Is that the case?
        I would definitely have someone on Clark who is gonna play and is fit/firing. His efforts in the first 15mins of q2 vs Brisbane on Friday night were quite remarkable...if only they could have kicked straight!

With Young - yeah, I have no idea if he'll suit up. Young and Fyfe would seem to be a fair risk!

Do the Dockers play to the strengths of their playing group, or to the coach's preference?
        Do you think they will flip it, and go full throttle against us?
        I think you are who you are at this point of the year and I'm expected measured from D50 to midfield then speed on the ball from there...that's how they play.

Have you seen enough from Buss, that he can hold up against any one of the Dockers 4 talls?
        Umm - he's gonna have to! I haven't seen enough from JOD or Lobb either to be fair...we haven't looked settled down back all year.

• mjp

Originally posted by Mofra
          Question re: their tall defenders - for teams that play a very high forward do they have their third taller defender follow them up, or do they hand over and hold firm in their D50?
          Cox wants to drop where he can - I think he'll get Naughton though and Pearce will take Darcy. That means Ryan will get the next...he will go into a full drop and basically create a 2v1 with our deepest forward.

If you want to engage Ryan, you're gonna have to use Bontempelli or someone...he ain't going to follow Croft around. He wont care about him at all.

We have the 6th best defence and Freo have the 7th best (only 10 points in it), but Points kicked we are number one and they are 9th, so do they have trouble kicking goals (forgetting the misses last game)

Top ten goal kickers

image.png

Originally posted by mjp

Cox wants to drop where he can - I think he'll get Naughton though and Pearce will take Darcy. That means Ryan will get the next...he will go into a full drop and basically create a 2v1 with our deepest forward.

If you want to engage Ryan, you're gonna have to use Bontempelli or someone...he ain't going to follow Croft around. He wont care about him at all.
              Does that mean they just run a rebounder on Croft and bank on support to split the difference?

IIRC in 2009 Lindsay Gilbee was the only bulldog to play on an opposition ruckman from every other team. We rolled the dice every game and it was generally successful.

• mjp

Originally posted by Mofra
                Does that mean they just run a rebounder on Croft and bank on support to split the difference?

IIRC in 2009 Lindsay Gilbee was the only bulldog to play on an opposition ruckman from every other team. We rolled the dice every game and it was generally successful.
                Yeah - I reckon they will do that.

And yeah, Gilbs used to fight out of his weight class every week. Then again, we're also talking about an era where sticking talls in the forward who looked dangerous rather than being dangerous was in vogue.

• mjp

Originally posted by Bornadog
                  We have the 6th best defence and Freo have the 7th best (only 10 points in it), but Points kicked we are number one and they are 9th, so do they have trouble kicking goals (forgetting the misses last game)
                  I think they're 8th on the ladder and 8th for points for and 8th for points against and in the middle of everything. After 14x games they were 7-wins and 7-losses and 100.0 percent.

I think they are a solid defensive team who are relatively hard to score against. They are a solid offensive team with multiple threats. If we kick 14 goals I cannot see them kicking 15 unless one of them gets off the chain. Candidates are Treacy, Voss and Bolton with potential cameos from the others...

Originally posted by comrade
                    Sorry guys, I’ve shuffled around my entire work week and co-parenting arrangements to make this game which means we’ll inevitably shit the bed. Just an FYI
                    You’re so bloody selfish!

I worry Amiss (who has been pretty inconsistent this year) will be the type of bob up and do some damage against us. Who goes to him?

While they’ve got some height down back, we’ve got (in my view) an advantage there still if we can create 1:1 contests which gets a bit harder in a game played in our half as opposed to a clearance game. Is there something we can do differently to create more looks to our big guys and create isolation?

• mjp

Originally posted by Go_Dogs
                        I worry Amiss (who has been pretty inconsistent this year) will be the type of bob up and do some damage against us. Who goes to him?
                        They'll try and get Voss to Lobb which means JOD will inevitably end up on Treacy.

Busslinger and Amiss played colts together at East Perth. I would like to think Busslinger has some idea of what he's up against!!

• Pleather Sole
                          • Jan 2024

Originally posted by mjp

You said they were 'dreadful' - I said that doesn't tell the tail of the game where poor goal-kicking cost them a half time (and possibly quarter time) lead.

Who cares if the ball movement is fast or slow? What matters is the end result. When slow ball movement results in a mark inside 50 and a shot on goal...isn't that good? I know it's trendy to criticise anything that isn't balls to the wall through the corridor, but it's outcomes that matter. Freo's inability to kick SIMPLE GOALS on the weekend really hurt them and the way the game is being represented in the post match is not an accurate description of what actually happened.

Ultimately you're statement "They missed easy goals, butchered them" is 100% accurate. But missing goals and moving the ball slowly from D50...well, those two things are not really related.

There was a stat yesterday that the side currently ranked 18th for effective ball movement chains from D50 to F50 is....ADELAIDE. And they're on top of the ladder. They just beat Collingwood being -34 for inside 50. They weren't SLOW moving the ball. They couldn't move it AT ALL. They still won.

There are 10000000 ways to skin a cat.
                          Did I say they were related? I asked if they could flip a switch and play fast like we do because if they are slow in transition from their D50 our fwds and mids are likely going to jump on that and it'll be turnover heaven if we can put pressure on, have heaps of time to read the play, spoil, intercept etc

How on earth do stop the speed and impact of Shai Bolton and Michael Fredrick? Earlier this year Fedrick was the match winner and Bolton, well he can turn a game on its head in a ten-minute patch.

Will it be a team defence effort or does Cleary and JJ need to stick to one of them each?

• lemmon

What kind of instructions would you be giving Timmy English this week? I feel like Darcy is going to give him a physical working over, knowing that Jackson has the historical wood over him and has capitalised on something similar in the past.

I imagine we'll see Tim getting on his bike and trying to stretch them ahead of the footy, but he's going to need a fair amount of support from our own Darcy and Lobb.

Originally posted by azabob
                                How on earth do stop the speed and impact of Shai Bolton and Michael Fredrick? Earlier this year Fedrick was the match winner and Bolton, well he can turn a game on its head in a ten-minute patch.

Will it be a team defence effort or does Cleary and JJ need to stick to one of them each?
                                Fred is a good player but he isn’t so overwhelmingly awesome that Cleary can’t defending him effectively. Potential Man hasn’t fired a shot all year.