The BT Who To Root For Thread (for the earliest first round pick)

Re: The BT Who To Root For Thread (for the earliest first round pick)

Originally posted by bulldogsthru&thru
    Despite the shiny toy you get with a nice low draft pick we still want to see the dogs win. So this week is a massive root for the brisbane lions to knock off north at the Gabba.

Assuming we only beat carlton from here (the only other possibility is the saints, but i can't see it happening) a win to Brisbane this week along with a win over Gold Coast will have them finish above us and give us pick 4. I just warm to the idea of getting one of Lukosius, Walsh, Smith or Rankine. So go Lions!
    Higgins out so that will help Brissie

• Missing-Dog

Originally posted by bulldogsthru&thru
      Despite the shiny toy you get with a nice low draft pick we still want to see the dogs win. So this week is a massive root for the brisbane lions to knock off north at the Gabba.

Assuming we only beat carlton from here (the only other possibility is the saints, but i can't see it happening) a win to Brisbane this week along with a win over Gold Coast will have them finish above us and give us pick 4. I just warm to the idea of getting one of Lukosius, Walsh, Smith or Rankine. So go Lions!
      If Carlton, or anyone that finishes below us gets a Priority Pick, where is that activated? After their first pick or at the end of the first round?

Originally posted by craigsahibee
        If Carlton, or anyone that finishes below us gets a Priority Pick, where is that activated? After their first pick or at the end of the first round?

It depends on the nature of the pick. It could be attached (immediately after) their first pick or at the end of the first round after everyone has had a turn. In short it could be either of the things you said.

Higgins out so that will help Brissie
          That helps the root. Carn Brisbane! Build momentum into next year.

They've picked up some real momentum in the back end of this season already. I'm worried come 2019 they'll have gone past us. Their % is over 90 this season which I think is a really good indicator of how a team is actually travelling.

Originally posted by Greystache
              They've picked up some real momentum in the back end of this season already. I'm worried come 2019 they'll have gone past us. Their % is over 90 this season which I think is a really good indicator of how a team is actually travelling.
              I agree - but it's about time they actually start winning some games of football.

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
                I agree - but it's about time they actually start winning some games of football.
                They're 4 and 6 from their last 10, so not great but definitely an improvement. Their trajectory looks on the rise.

We're 1-9 at the same and if not for an easy miss after the siren we'd have lost 10 straight. So a lot would need to change for them not to go past us next year.

Originally posted by Greystache
                  They're 4 and 6 from their last 10, so not great but definitely an improvement. Their trajectory looks on the rise.

We're 1-9 at the same and if not for an easy miss after the siren we'd have lost 10 straight. So a lot would need to change for them not to go past us next year.
                  You can see watching them that when they 'click' it's very good footy. Once that 'clicking footy' becomes the norm and not the exception they're going to be very hard to beat. Leppitsch held them back, but now they've got some good footy brains and man managers up there, to go with recruiters, they're on the right path. Soon when the likes of Robinson and Taylor are out of the side because there's far better talent now ready they'll be fun to watch I reckon. Plus they pick balanced sides, respect the ruck role, then they also recruit and then develop KPFs and then play them as KPFs, and train their midfielders to hit targets. Which is paying off big time. Maybe there's a lesson of two in it.?

Brisbane again losing by a less than a goal, that's twice in the last three weeks. They're positively screwing us.

Looking like pick 5, out to pick 6 after GCS take pick 3 as compo.

• DOG GOD
                      • Jul 2007

Brisbane again losing by a less than a goal, that's twice in the last three weeks. They're positively screwing us.

Yep and goodbye Rankine

Saints will jump us tonight, fingers crossed GC can cause an upset somewhere and Brisbane will get one of their last games. That will put us in play for a top 3 pick.

We'll probably stuff this up as well and win 3 of our last 4 and drop down to pick 8 - 10. :P

Originally posted by DOG GOD
                          Yep and goodbye Rankine
                          But next best available is a KPD. So it's sweeeeetttt mate.

Originally posted by G-Mo77
                            Saints will jump us tonight, fingers crossed GC can cause an upset somewhere and Brisbane will get one of their last games. That will put us in play for a top 3 pick.

We'll probably stuff this up as well and win 3 of our last 4 and drop down to pick 8 - 10. :P
                            The win tonight gaps us over Saints & Brisbane. Too far from Freo with percentage in play. Beating Carlton, or losing to them probably won't change now. It looks like pick 5 down into pick 6 after GCS compo. Here's hoping one or both of the King brothers go, or we will be drafting another tall, a 200cm forward (fwd/ruck as flexibility demands) as best available.

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
                              Their season is a little overrated - they've lost something like only 15 games through injury all season from their playing list, easily the best in the AFL. By contrast the Dogs and Pies are closing in on 150 games lost through injury.

Maybe we should poach their fitness and conditioning staff.

• divvydan
                                • Oct 2009

Yep, with tonight's win we're pretty much locked into 14th. Game and significant % behind Freo and both of us play Carlton in the run home, so I don't see us catching them. Given that, we may as well go all out against North Melbourne next week and try and end any hope of them making the finals.