Re: Famous Sayings or Quotes By Club Figures Over The Decades

"It's easier to stay fit than to get fit"

Scott West. Sums up his approach to training over his career.

"That's one"

- Steve Wallis to a prone Brett Heady, after he knocked him 5 ways into next week.
      The previous game Heady kicked a bag against the Bulldogs and was taunting the defenders after each goal "that's one", "that's two" etc.

• Axe Man

Obvious one, but EJ's last game:

It’s got to be a do or die effort. It’s got to be a determined effort.

You’ve got to show me all the guts and the determination you’ve got in your body.

You’ve got to inspire me with this last quarter finish.

You’ve been in front all day and you’ve got to stay there.

Are you going to sit there and let them take it away from us?

• Axe Man

Ben Hudson to a young Richmond player:

‘Mate you’re so ugly, you’re almost as ugly as Murph’.

"I've been wanting to say this for as long as I can remember. The Bulldogs are through to the Grand Final! Can you believe it!"

- Luke Darcy

Originally posted by Mofra
              "That's one"

- Steve Wallis to a prone Brett Heady, after he knocked him 5 ways into next week.
              The previous game Heady kicked a bag against the Bulldogs and was taunting the defenders after each goal "that's one", "that's two" etc.
              Thanks Mof, I've always wondered what it was that Wallis screamed in Heady's (jobby is one of the great nicknames of all time) face as he lay on the boundary line.

That was the hit that lead to the brawl when Danny Southern killed Peter Sumich or whatever the girly men at West Coast reckon he did.

• Axe Man

Captain Groenewegen over the planes p.a. system on the end of season trip:

"Ladies and gentlemen, this is Captain Groenewegen speaking, we are currently cruising at 10,000 metres. I hope you are enjoying the flight because it will be your last - we're going down".

Charlie Sutton's 27 word prematch address on Grand Final day 1954 is a thing of beautiful simplicity:

"I ask you for a personal effort. Go on to the field full of grit, full of football. Come with me and we can win this thing."

Great Peter Gordon quotes from fightback:

We are here today I suppose because it's better to die on our feet than live on our knees

the great moments that had been played out on the very ground we are standing on, Brian Royal's left foot goal from the centre against Essendon in 1985, Gubby Allen kicking across goal, only for Simon Beasley to mark it, & spots that Ricky Kennedy dished out his very own brand of Bulldog justice, which were, here & here, & over there, & there, infact there weren't too many places Rick didn't dispense summary justice.

If we hurt today with the VFL's decision, then that will nothing compared to the hurt we'll feel in a few short weeks when the 1990 VFL draw is released. Think of how bad you'll hurt next year when the season approaches & there's no Footscray! I want you to give until it hurts as much as that, because that's the ONLY way we can defeat these people!

For those who love a sledge, Jayden Schofield had some great on field stuff:

To John Anthony in a pre-season game, "No wonder Collingwood traded you, you are shit".

To Brendan Fevola, in a VFL game, after his missus just left him, "You're a fat sack of crap with no wife and no life".

For those who love a sledge, Jayden Schofield had some great on field stuff:

To John Anthony in a pre-season game, "No wonder Collingwood traded you, you are shit".

To Brendan Fevola, in a VFL game, after his missus just left him, "You're a fat sack of crap with no wife and no life".
                        Decent sledges, not sure Schofield earnt the right to them though.

• ReLoad
                          • Sep 2009

The Trainer than ran over Johnno with the golf cart:

"Sorry"

Originally posted by EasternWest
                            Decent sledges, not sure Schofield earnt the right to them though.
                            For sure, not at all (I thought he could play to a good standard though, if he applied himself...). I think he also gave a ripper to Ryan Crowley too.

Yeah I thought he had potential too. I was disappointed when he left, but his heart didn't seem to be in it and I can respect that he chose to look after his own interests without becoming a drain on our club.

Originally posted by EasternWest
                                Yeah I thought he had potential too. I was disappointed when he left, but his heart didn't seem to be in it and I can respect that he chose to look after his own interests without becoming a drain on our club.

Yeah it must have been a hard decision to make, when you have been aiming for something all your life and you get there and think "hang on, this isn't like I thought it would be at all" it can't be easy to say "*!*!*!*! it" and walk away without thinking there is something wrong with you. I don't think that I could do it.