• dog town

Re: Game Day - Bulldogs vs Magpies

Originally posted by Raw Toast
    Boyd did a number of super things as well, keeps on setting us up as well as negating opponents, and I think Eade was right to single him and Cross out.

Boyd and Cross are sort of the heart beat of the team at the moment. They lead the way in alot of areas and are really putting their hands up for future captaincy honours.

Morris was as composed as I've seen him with the ball. Had a great moment where he feinted a hand-ball and then worked with the space that opened up for him. It seems like quite a few in the team are learning from Cooney's added composure this season and his ability to create space and size up his option. It's a dangerous thing to do, because you can open yourself up to being crunched and can get a bit too arrogant, but when balanced with normally using the first option, it can really help split the game open.

I know the one your talking about. It created a goal for someone in the last quarter. Have not watched the game twice yet.

Eagle had some very good moments and some appalling ones. He played from behind as a forward a few times, and was pretty poor in some contested situations. His run is important but he'd want to do better, because Hill will be challenging for his spot sometime soon I reckon.

Ward's hands are so good in leading marking contests. From what we've seen, if the ball is put in front of him he'll mark it out in front. He might be dropped back for Hill, but I'd like to see used as a leading half-forward flanker, and maybe even a bit deeper in the forward fifty. When we're breaking down like we were across half-forward he looks like he could be another go-to small leading type.
    I dont like seeing Eagle playing as a forward. He ended up as a genuine forward a couple of times and I dont think it suits our set up. He is not a natural forward and really offers very little as either a crumber or marking player. His strength is his hard running and I think we should keep using him like that.

Ward looks to have really nice hands. They might as well give him a go now because we dont want to be experimenting later in the year. Personally I think its a huge ask for a kid his age and size to stay in the side up until the finals. Hope he can though. It looks like last years draft could be really big for us.

Its already the most over policed sport in the world, no more umps please, in fact reduce the number on field back to two.
      I don't see the problem with interrupting actual play here, all they will do is officiate on out of bounds calls, they won't interrupt play and they will barely be noticed if you ask me. They will make it fairer on close up out on the full decisions as well. Two boundary umpires cannot keep up with the pace of the game. Soccer is way more over officiated than Aussie Rules.

• The Coon Dog

Originally posted by wimberga
        the 2nd thing was, should the non-officiating umpires always have the right to call free kicks when the ball is not in there zone? 2 or 3 times on sunday there were stoppages in the middle where the officiating umpire was 5 metres away and didnt call anything, but one of the other umpires who was in the 50m arc and probably about 45 metres away would call a high tackle or holding the ball.
        I don't have a problem with that, particularly if the officiating umpire's vision is obscured.

Surely if we can see a free kick from 150 metres away in the crowd, then the non officiating umpire can from 45 metres.
        [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

• Sockeye Salmon

Originally posted by wimberga
          got two pointswant queried here.

1st, there has been talk of aker being injured, but i wondered what others thought of Didak. There were rumours circulating he wouldnt play, but during the match he didnt seem to be himself. there was no real pace there and it certainly wasnt his normal game. That said, Morris did play a very good game on him.
          Didak did go in injured but Collingwood thought he could still play an important role. Morris always gets Didak (and always owns him) so Didak was selected basically so we wouldn't play Morris on Medhurst. Collingwood thought Medhurst was a chance of kicking goal on Hargrave especially if Hargrave gave up a few frees.

Did anyone see? Adam Cooney's son made the first of many appearances on the Telstra Dome pitch against the Maggies. With Adam's 100th game as a Bulldog, he is now able to be taken under the father-son rule in 2025. Can't wait for that one

• BulldogBelle

Originally posted by craigsahibee
              From Row W on level 3 it looked like Cooney was carrying a footy out on to he ground.
              Your comment made me laugh.

I bet that little bundle of joy has given him a few sleepless nights, it was moving seeing the little bub in his arms and Sir Lake helping out and carrying Cooney's daughter.