Re: Should we rest a few players this week.

Originally posted by lion in the midst
    Ok big names was used quite liberally but they were all running around with them last year. 2 of their stating midfield and 2 of their starting full back line.
    Mate, Stuart Dew was drinking Pi.. with me at the footy not playing for Port.

• lion in the midst

Originally posted by EJ Smith
      Mate, Stuart Dew was drinking Pi.. with me at the footy not playing for Port.
      off the top of my head, should've checked

Originally posted by jerry
        You cant be serious Bornadog? No team is good enough to rest players, let alone key players.
        I agree, we are not good enough to choose when we will or won't play our best side and it's far to early in the season to even consider it. I still haven't forgotten our last 7 weeks of 2007.

• BulldogBelle

Another no to resting players - if the medicos deem them fit to be out there then so be it. They can all rest up the week after with the week off.

Originally posted by aker39
            Why???

When they've got the following week to recover. They will not play a game for 15 days.
            Only those who could really benefit from that amount of time off. Obviously they wouldn't just be sitting around doing nothing during this period anyway, but why not put one eye on the finals for a few blokes who will greatly benefit from an extended break to improve their conditioning for September?

Originally posted by jerry
              You cant be serious Bornadog? No team is good enough to rest players, let alone key players.
              Ps This kind of arrogance is creeping into this board more and more. A reality check is nigh
              HELLO JERRY, no arrogance here not from me any way.

I put up the thread to stimulate discussion especially since Eade suggested about a month ago that he may rest Johnno mid season, so its not my idea. I am not saying rest everyone, but rather asking if there is an opportunity to do so this week, which gives players two weeks to fully recover and be fit for the rest of the season and finals time.

Originally posted by Griffen#16
                Only those who could really benefit from that amount of time off. Obviously they wouldn't just be sitting around doing nothing during this period anyway, but why not put one eye on the finals for a few blokes who will greatly benefit from an extended break to improve their conditioning for September?
                Exactly why I suggested a discussion. WE all know that players play with niggles and injuries and the older you are the longer it takes to recover. To me, no way Johnno is fully fit. Last week he couldn't even kick the ball 35 metres and turned it over sevearl times attempting a pass only to find it dropping short.

Any way we will see what happens.

I think that resting player that deserves a spot in the side would be a stupid thing to do at the moment. It would be nice to see some of our younger players that are performing well in the Williamstown side play, but this should not be done until an injury creates a spot for these players, or until there is no way that we can drop out of the top 4.

• The Pie Man

Exactly why I suggested a discussion. WE all know that players play with niggles and injuries and the older you are the longer it takes to recover. To me, no way Johnno is fully fit. Last week he couldn't even kick the ball 35 metres and turned it over sevearl times attempting a pass only to find it dropping short.

Any way we will see what happens.
                    I'm happy with the topic (think most of us are) That's what forums are for, exploring ideas

You'd hope that anything someone like Johno is carrying could get mostly sorted with 2 weeks off - you'd hope guys aren't playing with anything that ideally would need more than 1 week to get close to 100% (or am I just completely niaive?)

Aka looked in worse shape last week, but looked so free against Brisvegas - wonder how he trained (and is training this week)

Originally posted by rhnbtlr
                      Aka looked in worse shape last week, but looked so free against Brisvegas - wonder how he trained (and is training this week)
                      He mentioned on Tuesday (SEN) that he had a bout of gastro just before the game and he didn't tell the medicos. He also said he got a serve from Rocket.

• The Coon Dog

He mentioned on Tuesday (SEN) that he had a bout of gastro just before the game and he didn't tell the medicos. He also said he got a serve from Rocket.
                        Surely you would expect better than that from someone like Aker. Sounds a little like putting himself before the team to me.
                        [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
                          Surely you would expect better than that from someone like Aker. Sounds a little like putting himself before the team to me.
                          I initially thought the same, but at that stage it was probably too late to change, plus Akermanis even on an off-day still warrants a top defender on him.