Re: McDonald’s becomes Gold Partner of the Bulldogs

I guess our main sponsor isn't exactly health food either. But I somewhat agree. This stuff exists, and sadly it's the lower socio- economic groups that are drawn mostly to it. So it's a bit of a conflict as you say.
    Think we also have affiliations with Mars and the Pancake Parlour.

And on that line - I've got some connections on the canine front, I wouldn't eat Pedigree either ! (if I was a dog).

• Scraggers
      Premiership Moderator

For a friend?
      Of course ... of course

• Topdog

Maccas is terribly unhealthy, lets not even pretend otherwise.

Originally posted by mjp

I don't want to deny the club the right to get whoever they want to sponsor them, but there shouldn't be any Chinese Walls here...if you run the SOTW program, well, you don't have fast food restaurants as a sponsor.
        Where do you stop though? I'm happy to be rid of pokies from the club revenue streams but we arent exactly in a position to knock back sponsorship money from one of the AFLs major sponsors.

• boydogs
          • Apr 2009

Originally posted by mjp
          Sorry but comments like this annoy me. The menu might be 'better', but seriously...better than what? And compared to 10-years ago when mega size drinks weren't even available...

The healthiest items on the menu are listed here:

Lifehacker is the ultimate authority on optimizing every aspect of your life. Do everything better.

Try and cross reference that list (and when a muffin with jam qualifies as healthy it isn't much of a list!!) with this one for the most popular foods on a Macca's menu:
          https://www.sunshinecoastdaily.com.a...items/3470384/ (article is from the Sunshine coast because that's the most recent one I can find) and you will see there is not much overlap.

In other words, there is some 'not the worst' food on the menu...unfortunately no-one buys it.

I don't want to deny the club the right to get whoever they want to sponsor them, but there shouldn't be any Chinese Walls here...if you run the SOTW program, well, you don't have fast food restaurants as a sponsor.
          Just saying it took a while for the appropriateness of Macca's as a sponsor to come up, before that it was just 'wow great job especially during covid'

Easton Wood has been an outspoken opponent of pokies as a revenue source, to me a sponsor is worse because you're promoting the unhealthy behaviour

Where do we draw the line with sponsors? We shouldn't promote McDonalds because they have unhealthy food, so does that mean we should knock back Amazon because they have unhealthy items on their platform?

Or if Google came knocking, we should say no because their search engine brings up results we don't agree with?

Or what about Netflix, which streams material that inappropriately sexualises children?

Until Freddie's Organic Farm is prepared to pay hundreds of thousands sponsoring a small market footy team, I'm not sure we're in a position to knock back someone like McDonalds.

• mjp

Originally posted by comrade
              Where do we draw the line with sponsors? We shouldn't promote McDonalds because they have unhealthy food, so does that mean we should knock back Amazon because they have unhealthy items on their platform?

Or if Google came knocking, we should say no because their search engine brings up results we don't agree with?

Or what about Netflix, which streams material that inappropriately sexualises children?

Until Freddie's Organic Farm is prepared to pay hundreds of thousands sponsoring a small market footy team, I'm not sure we're in a position to knock back someone like McDonalds.
              You know I love you comrade but I don't think the examples you have given are in the same ballpark as McDonalds. I actually don't think they are part of the same sport.

Yes - every potential sponsor has elements that we may like and may not like. Yes - in 2020, McDonalds (and similar brands) are part of everyday life for a lot of people/families. But if you have higher aspirations as an organisation, then you need to stand for something 'more'. To me, the SOTW program has been an amazing initiative that has helped a lot of people. I'm pretty certain the program isn't advocating people head out to Maccas to help improve their current life-style AND their longevity.

No - we probably can't afford to turn away potential sponsors.

No - that doesn't mean we should compromise our values and aspirations.

For me - I own a gym. Could I make money sticking powerade/gatorade etc in the fridge and selling it to people who don't know any better? Of course I could. And once upon a time I did. Do I do that now? No - 'cos it is BAD FOR YOU and you have to plant your flag somewhere as to what is acceptable and what isn't.

I agree with you but the original point was more around the fact we run a men's health program. So it's less 'let's take this moral stand' and more 'aren't be being outright hypocritical' which has more weight behind it.

Originally posted by hujsh
                  I agree with you but the original point was more around the fact we run a men's health program. So it's less 'let's take this moral stand' and more 'aren't be being outright hypocritical' which has more weight behind it.
                  I'm more of an 'everything in moderation' type and feel that we are all responsible for our own health. Getting a Maccas coffee (even though it sucks) or the occasional sundae or god forbid a one off Egg McMuffin isn't going to kill anyone.

People know McDonalds shouldn't be an everyday choice, and if they don't, then they have much bigger problems than our sponsorship.

• Topdog

SOTW is a brilliant program but is much more focused on the mental health side of things rather than physical wellbeing (yes i know they can be quite intrinsically linked)

SOTW does teach doing things in moderation.

I'm happy to take their money for sponsorship.

• Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

I'm more of an 'everything in moderation' type and feel that we are all responsible for our own health. Getting a Maccas coffee (even though it sucks) or the occasional sundae or god forbid a one off Egg McMuffin isn't going to kill anyone.

People know McDonalds shouldn't be an everyday choice, and if they don't, then they have much bigger problems than our sponsorship.
                      I'm an 'Everything in moderation, including moderation' kinda guy

Originally posted by Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
                        I'm an 'Everything in moderation, including moderation' kinda guy
                        During lockdown and working from home, ain't that the truth. I've had to get the family to hide snacks from me.