Re: Three things you've learned. Round 22, 2021 v Hawthorn at Tassie

Originally posted by Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
    100% in agreement with that.

Given our list profile, there might be a really hard conversation to be had in coming weeks about whether or not we go chips in on Darcy or prioritise addressing the ruck dilemma, and it really is a dilemma, no doubt.
    Darcy doesn't help us for 3-4 years potentially.
    We're in a big window right now and our work in centre square is the one thing that is holding back our game plan and potentially a shot at a premiership.

I know you are open to Bailey Smith being expendable if a great offer came our way.
    I contend Bailey Smith is out of form ( that's still a thing isn't it? Even Chris Grant was out of form) but his talent and upside is undeniable and a massive part of our game plan holding water.
    He's not for sale from my perspective, he, as a 20 yr old, needs to work on his deficiencies. I think its more likely than not, he can do this.

If we don't try and move him on, what other things could we do to get adequate ruck support in? Can we do this and still acquire Darcy?
    It depends on if we go aggressive as my last essay advocates. If so, we get Darcy and have the option to trade two first rounders. Every week on Ed Richards seems less likely and for me if a great offer on Smith came in I’d do it. The key being a great deal. We have options.

If Tim moves to forward covering for Bruce. Then I’d say the best ruck we can get plus another ruck. Darcy would be 4th in line. I’m not certain that Sweet is a part of the plans anymore. Since Gawn go in his head, he’s looked absolutely shot.

• Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Originally posted by comrade
      Bevo would definitely be having significant input on who we trade in, every coach does.
      Agree. But what info do we have that says he hasn't been favourable to recruiting one? It's frustrating, but we are just not the destination choice for many recruitable players.

Hickey grinds my gears a bit.

He went for a bag of chips and has really been a fantastic pick up for the Swans and at 30 fits our "window" perfectly.

No idea if we had a crack we may have as you have alluded to.

We’ve recently picked up key players in Keath and Bruce, plus attracted Hannan and Martin. That’s 4 players in 2 years from other clubs so as a destination, I think we’re ok. If the ruck situation was clearly seen by Bevo as being fatal to our premiership chances the last 2-3 years, we would have bolstered the role.

• BornInDroopSt'54

Didn't see it.
            Didn't read all posts.
            Don't have sense of the game.
            1. We need to refind our self esteem.
            2. Who cares about Clarkson's Hawks in Hobart?
            No finals played there.
            3. Room for wondering if our collective focus has already shifted to finals.
            Footscray Football Republic.

We’ve recently picked up key players in Keath and Bruce, plus attracted Hannan and Martin. That’s 4 players in 2 years from other clubs so as a destination, I think we’re ok. If the ruck situation was clearly seen by Bevo as being fatal to our premiership chances the last 2-3 years, we would have bolstered the role.
              There’s been heaps too. Hickey, Pruess x 2, Vardy, Zac Smith, Ryder, etc, etc.

While exiting Roughead, Campbell, JT. Never replaced our divets.

• Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Keath I'll give you, but the others are not out of line with the historical recruits we've managed to land.
                I really would love to hear something from the club about its attempts to address our ruck need, but we're not going to get it.
                But when I hear Bevo speak, when our ruck weakness is shown up, I don't get the impression he's consciously avoiding trying to address it. What i hear is someone who is frustrated at having to mitigate it week to week with funky tactics.

It's a tough one because there'd be word out there that Bevo needs certain attributes to be shown by rucks if he's to play them and that makes it harder to attract them, while Bevo only wants rucks with certain attributes and that narrows the field.

Then you've got to get the commercials right, and it's easier said than done.

I can live with English losing the taps (the mids if concentrating can counter this and we outnumber at most contests anyway), what I can't live with is him being weak around the ground and not giving us something to kick to or helping in defencive transition by taking marks.

Anyway, what did I really learn:

1. This team can really stink it up much more than I thought it could this year. Today's loss was as uncaring a performance as I have seen

2. Our leaders still have a long way to go in turning the tide. Dunkley to his credit met a really hard ball where he was vulnerable in a day where he seemed to be running around half interested, but Bont, Hunter, Jacko, Wood and Libba need to show more defencive attributes, physicality and set the tone

3. You really appreciate the work rate of a player like Bruce and the impact he can have in creating a contest and making it easier to move the ball and not let it fling out once he's gone. Even though only the goals he kicks in the first quarter of games count, he does a lot of good for our side due to his undoubted effort and we missed him today

• ratsmac
                    • May 2009

1. I was certain that this group was different to the others before them that would falter at vital stages in seasons. Now I'm not so sure.

2. Our biggest strength has become our biggest weakness. I thought our mids could carry us through when we have weaknesses down back and up forward. The last 2 weeks they have been our biggest weakness.

3. We have no mongrel. We have had some at times this year but it's evaporated. Someone needs to start a fight or something when we have no fire. Something, anything!!

• The bulldog tragician
                      • Apr 2013

1. It’s not just that we’ve had so many injuries that has hurt us - coming back from injuries in a time of lockdown is leading to players struggling (quite badly) on their return. We’ve had to prioritise getting games into underdone players and ‘carrying’ them is costing us ( we have had little choice).

2. The unease we felt about odd selections was unfortunately justified.

3. Fans are resilient/delusional (take your pick). After moping in the wake of yesterday’s great frustration and disappointment, I suddenly thought this morning:

We can and will beat Port. Why not? We’ve beaten them before. We have everything on the line. We have pride, we have Bont, we have a team that has been deservedly top 2-3 all year, we have surely been awoken from that late season apathy where bodies are sore, and September seems a million miles away…
                      [url]www.bulldogtragician.com[/url] A blog about being a lifelong fan of the Dogs and our quixotic attempt to replicate 1954. AND WE DID
                      Author of [URL="http://www.blackincbooks.com.au/books/mighty-west"]"The Mighty West: the Bulldogs journey from daydream believers to premiership heroes[/URL]"

• macca

It's a tough one because there'd be word out there that Bevo needs certain attributes to be shown by rucks if he's to play them and that makes it harder to attract them, while Bevo only wants rucks with certain attributes and that narrows the field.

Then you've got to get the commercials right, and it's easier said than done.

I can live with English losing the taps (the mids if concentrating can counter this and we outnumber at most contests anyway), what I can't live with is him being weak around the ground and not giving us something to kick to or helping in defencive transition by taking marks.

Anyway, what did I really learn:

1. This team can really stink it up much more than I thought it could this year. Today's loss was as uncaring a performance as I have seen

2. Our leaders still have a long way to go in turning the tide. Dunkley to his credit met a really hard ball where he was vulnerable in a day where he seemed to be running around half interested, but Bont, Hunter, Jacko, Wood and Libba need to show more defencive attributes, physicality and set the tone

3. You really appreciate the work rate of a player like Bruce and the impact he can have in creating a contest and making it easier to move the ball and not let it fling out once he's gone. Even though only the goals he kicks in the first quarter of games count, he does a lot of good for our side due to his undoubted effort and we missed him today
                        Great point JeeMak. These atheletic type Ruckman who can run all day, take a mark, kick a few goals, and get back in defense to plug the hole, honestly are the exception. To do this consistently week in and week out without breaking down. Grundy, Nic Natanui and Goldstein are exceptions than the norm, maybe not natanui, but their longevity in the game is extraordinary. We really needed to pickup Ryder a few years ago.

Ben hudson type is someone we should be looking for, the great man himself. Bring back the spirit of the great beard.

His stoppage work was outstanding. Often he was at bottom of backs trying to keep positions for us and he was fierce competitor in the ruck.

Interesting, Jarrod Witt comes to mind, but his now injured. The high injury rate to Ruckman is also a concern.

1/ You can't hide underdone players in AFL footy... and when you have 4 in the one team you are pushing shit up hill.

2/ You can't win a game of footy without a forward-line.

3/ Given the basic premise of the game is to be able to kick the ball it's amazing how hard a task it is for highly trained professionals who do it every day.

• ratsmac
                            • May 2009

Originally posted by Mantis
                            1/ You can't hide underdone players in AFL footy... and when you have 4 in the one team you are pushing shit up hill.

2/ You can't win a game of footy without a forward-line.

3/ Given the basic premise of the game is to be able to kick the ball it's amazing how hard a task it is for highly trained professionals who do it every day.
                            We could've had Lockett, Dunstal, Franklin etc but if you can't get the ball them they can't kick goals.

You 100% right will kicking the ball. We were/are terrible

Originally posted by ratsmac
                              We could've had Lockett, Dunstal, Franklin etc but if you can't get the ball them they can't kick goals.

You 100% right will kicking the ball. We were/are terrible
                              How many times did our players look up the ground and have no-one forward of the ball to kick the ball to? We had no structure, but that is what happens when you fill the team full of defenders and midfielders.