Re: Always Right Match Committee Round One v Melbourne at the G

Originally posted by azabob
    Genuine question for all.

Everyone had Schache cards marked and out of the club come end of 2021 when he played forward.

He took an opportunity with both hands against the demons at the MCG as a key defender.

What has changed that makes some posters think Schache now can go forward and contribute?

I can't see it.
    I certainly didn't stamp Schache cards and I genuinely think he can contribute at either end of the ground.
    I haven't given up on him being able to contribute something like 2 goals a game as a forward.
    If he plays back it's about nullifying one of the oppositions better key forwards and kicking the ball neatly out of the back line.

I certainly didn't stamp Schache cards and I genuinely think he can contribute at either end of the ground.
      I haven't given up on him being able to contribute something like 2 goals a game as a forward.
      If he plays back it's about nullifying one of the oppositions better key forwards and kicking the ball neatly out of the back line.
      That's a pretty highbar to set - only 16 players averaged 2 or more goals a game last year.

IF Schache plays forward, here's his role - make Aaron Naughton better and don't let your opponent mark the ball. That's enough.

Originally posted by azabob
        Genuine question for all.

Everyone had Schache cards marked and out of the club come end of 2021 when he played forward.

He took an opportunity with both hands against the demons at the MCG as a key defender.

What has changed that makes some posters think Schache now can go forward and contribute?

I can't see it.
        Where did he play in the finals?

He put in a shocker against Richmond that had people seething, though from what I recall after coming back against the Dees as a defender he put in a lot of time at both ends with varying results. Well that's how I remember it!

• soupman

Expecting Schache to play defence and Cordy forward. All pre-season it seemed that was how we were setting up, and it's only really been the second half against Brisbane where Cordy was covering an injury in defence that has indicated otherwise.

I think Schache is a lock to play back, Cordy might spend time at both ends but will probably be mostly forward, maybe on Lever.

Originally posted by soupman
            Expecting Schache to play defence and Cordy forward. All pre-season it seemed that was how we were setting up, and it's only really been the second half against Brisbane where Cordy was covering an injury in defence that has indicated otherwise.

I think Schache is a lock to play back, Cordy might spend time at both ends but will probably be mostly forward, maybe on Lever.
            Do you have any confidence that Cordy can actually be dangerous as a forward? Like take a mark on a lead and convert. We know he can scrap, but does he have any forward craft?

Originally posted by Mantis
              Do you have any confidence that Cordy can actually be dangerous as a forward? Like take a mark on a lead and convert. We know he can scrap, but does he have any forward craft?
              I hate it.

Granted it was years ago, but he couldn't stop Grundy taking 10 marks in the GF and I have no confidence that has changed. We're already down a pure key target (Bruce), at least Schache can lead, has forward craft and is a great kick. The latter also ironically played the lockdown role extremely well in the finals series last year, which we're now seemingly asking Cordy to do.

I guess we have the ability to swap them if it isn't working, but I think we get more out of Schache forward/Cordy back (prefer it was Gardner).

If he plays forward and all he does is stop Lever from having a huge influence, I’d consider that a win and the best we can hope for.

• Axe Man

I would prefer Schache forward, Gardner back. Cordy would actually make a reasonable sub as you can throw him either end if needed and even into the ruck in an emergency.

• soupman

He has kicked multiple goals in a finals series before so he can be dangerous i guess, although i concede it isn't likely. They were all opportunist style scrappy goals though, so completely agree he doesn't have forward craft.

I don't hate him there, I really do believe that if you aren't a gun key forward then you need to be intense and Cordy brings that. I think Cordy's bad games there will be better than Schaches.

I'm content with it but hoping by mid year JUH has pushed him out.

I don't think it matters if that's not his role?

If Lever doesn't influence the contest and Naughton gets one on one opportunities in the F50 then he's done well. I don't think it's the kind of role where stats tell the story.

With a fit Bruce we don't even have this converstaion.

• mjp

Originally posted by Mofra

If Lever doesn't influence the contest and Naughton gets one on one opportunities in the F50 then he's done well. I don't think it's the kind of role where stats tell the story.

With a fit Bruce we don't even have this converstaion.
                        That's fair mate but aside from playing with an elbow in Lever's back - which our coaches never seem to be prepared to ask the players to do - how is he going to do that?

Lever simply reads it better than pretty much everyone else. And whilst Naughton is an 'intercept mark disrupter' and more than a handful for May, he isnt going to beat May AND Lever...if Cordy leads for the footy, Lever will simply let him go. I'm not sure how this is Cordy's fault...

IF he plays forward, he needs to either play with an elbow in Lever's back the WHOLE NIGHT (I mean, don't lead AT ALL!!!) or it is gonna be a disaster.

Originally posted by mjp
                          That's fair mate but aside from playing with an elbow in Lever's back - which our coaches never seem to be prepared to ask the players to do - how is he going to do that?
                          The first sentence hit the nail on the head - we simply have to. We just have to change.
                          I know people will point to Schache as the guy who did a job late last year but he doesn't have Cordy's mongrel. I know he cops a lot of flack on this board but Cordy might be the only tall on our list who would sharpen his elbows ahead of this encounter.
                          Again, we often overlook what a player can do in the pursuit of pointing out what he can't.

Martin might get himself a mismatch too as the Dees have gone with only two 'talls' (who aren't that tall) in the F50. If we really want to split Lever & May, Stef being absolutely nowhere near Naughton and actually providing an option will help.

• Bulldog Revolution

Where did he play in the finals?

He put in a shocker against Richmond that had people seething, though from what I recall after coming back against the Dees as a defender he put in a lot of time at both ends with varying results. Well that's how I remember it!
                            We should be fair to Schache - he played 2 games in 2020 - rounds 5 & 6

He then plays his first game in over a year in rnd 7 2021 V Richmond and wasnt great in a side that struggled and gets dropped.

He then doesnt play for another 12 weeks until Rnd 19 against Melbourne and plays a good game and holds his place through the finals where I felt he showed he is a good kick, good decision maker, goal kicker and good at finding space.

Its a credit to him that he was able to work through 2+ years in the wilderness

• MrMahatma

Originally posted by Mofra
                              The first sentence hit the nail on the head - we simply have to. We just have to change.
                              I know people will point to Schache as the guy who did a job late last year but he doesn't have Cordy's mongrel. I know he cops a lot of flack on this board but Cordy might be the only tall on our list who would sharpen his elbows ahead of this encounter.
                              Again, we often overlook what a player can do in the pursuit of pointing out what he can't.

Martin might get himself a mismatch too as the Dees have gone with only two 'talls' (who aren't that tall) in the F50. If we really want to split Lever & May, Stef being absolutely nowhere near Naughton and actually providing an option will help.
                              Are there two guys on our list who are worse forwards than Cordy and Martin? I mean, the last set shot Keith took he almost missed his foot, but I struggle to think of 2 blokes who are less likely to actually take a mark up there - and therefore, 2 guys the Dees would be less worried about.

I reckon, if the grand plan is for Schache to play as a defender, then he should play there. I don't love robbing peter to pay paul and reckon getting a settled backline is important for the rest of the season.

Why Cordy is in ahead of JUH is probably the question I have. Cordy has 0 upside and what we get is going to be, well... average at best. JUH has loads of upside and he can actually lead and mark well. If we were to have one late change, I'd love to see Cordy out for JUH.

Originally posted by Bulldog Revolution
                                We should be fair to Schache - he played 2 games in 2020 - rounds 5 & 6

He then plays his first game in over a year in rnd 7 2021 V Richmond and wasnt great in a side that struggled and gets dropped.

He then doesnt play for another 12 weeks until Rnd 19 against Melbourne and plays a good game and holds his place through the finals where I felt he showed he is a good kick, good decision maker, goal kicker and good at finding space.

Its a credit to him that he was able to work through 2+ years in the wilderness
                                Where should Schache play BR? I would actually like him to learn to play CHB, but he is still learning the defensive role. Playing Defense is actually easier than playing a Key forward role