Three things you've learned. Round three 2022 v Sydney
Re: Three things you've learned. Round three 2022 v Sydney
All of that is true and I am incredibly grateful we have him. But also true is that his disposal by foot was below average. I’m honestly not sure if he hit a target. It was why I couldn’t give him a vote.Park that car
Dream about meComment
I missed the game but saw that highlight this morning. I reckon previously Timmy would have had second thoughts going full throttle for that mark against a player of Buddy’s stature, but to not only plant the knee and take the grab but to then hit the ground and take a bounce signals a player finding his confidence. God I hope he kicks on.Our 1954 premiership players are our heroes, and it has to be said that Charlie was their hero.Comment
I agree with the first two points but would have added something about our unsung hero in Ryan Gardner. He did a sterling job last night.1. Keath’s importance to our team can’t be overstated. When he’s in good form the whole backline looks better.
2. We would have won last week with Bazlenka fit.
3. We only won tonight though because the umpires love us. They weren’t content to gift us a Premiership, they’ve been working desperately behind the scenes to get us up for another **** according to the media plus Swans fans**** who don’t understand that teams winning contested footy earn more freesWestern Bulldogs Football Club "Where it's cool to drool"Comment
Ahem."It's over. It's all over."Comment
To quote EW, Ahem.
For mine Gardner was actually more influential than Keath. I still think Keath is slowly on the improve but still not at this level we expect.More of an In Bruges guy?Comment
So the one game you miss, Cordy goes down with concussion very early on.. For some reason that amuses me.I missed the game but saw that highlight this morning. I reckon previously Timmy would have had second thoughts going full throttle for that mark against a player of Buddy’s stature, but to not only plant the knee and take the grab but to then hit the ground and take a bounce signals a player finding his confidence. God I hope he kicks on.More of an In Bruges guy?Comment
Our 1954 premiership players are our heroes, and it has to be said that Charlie was their hero.Comment
1. Gardner has slowly been building his confidence as a backmen. His game last night was huge against one of the superstars of the game. Not only did he nullify Buddy’s influence but he was also able to take a couple of intercept marks. That is a sign of a player building confidence.
2. Keath continues to be so important to our structure. When he is down it affects our performance. When he is on what a difference he makes to this team.
3. Our midfield stepped up tonight and dominated from the get go. We need to be able to bring this to the table week in week out. We can’t afford to be prone to lapses where the opposition pile on multiple goals in quick succession. Dominate like that and we are a contender.Comment
Gardner did do a decent job at nullifying Buddy who whilst still a very effective player, is a shadow of his former self.1. Gardner has slowly been building his confidence as a backmen. His game last night was huge against one of the superstars of the game. Not only did he nullify Buddy’s influence but he was also able to take a couple of intercept marks. That is a sign of a player building confidence.
And whilst it was great that Ryan showed confidence to go for his marks he does need to move the ball on quicker when in possession because his reluctance to 'go' really stifles our ball movement.Comment
Gardner was superb, outside of one kick that was simply biting off more than he could chew. He is a brave footballer, with pretty good positioning aerial athleticism. Played a smart, meat and potatoes game without the footy and I thought he really quelled Buddy’s influence at key moments. Never let him get his tail up.
1. Cordy was doing a lot of unrewarded running and behind the scenes work I50 to free up space for Naughton and Marra. Was a shame to see he got subbed out for concussion. Thought he was putting in one of those classic, disciplined, sacrificial games. Need to be seeing that from the squad at times.
2. English’s mark over Buddy and bump on Blakey were an emphatic franking of his form. He’s showing us that he is the player we wanted him, and need him to be. Would love to have the opportunity to pull the three headed monster while he is up and about.
3. Sydney fans and the footy media just can’t resist the freekickbulldogs sooking. It’s equal parts funny and annoying.Time and Tide Waits For No ManComment
Gardner was great but I think Buddy started to have a pretty big impact in that second half. Was really on his bike and I thought pretty important in their comeback.Gardner did do a decent job at nullifying Buddy who whilst still a very effective player, is a shadow of his former self.
And whilst it was great that Ryan showed confidence to go for his marks he does need to move the ball on quicker when in possession because his reluctance to 'go' really stifles our ball movement.
They moved the ball a lot faster after the half time break.BT COME BACK!
Keath was back to his best last night, taking 12 marks, only 3 contested, but shows his role isnot a lockdown one on one. Leave that to Gardner.FFC: Established 1883
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment