Bankers & Anchors: Rnd 12, 2022 vs Geelong
Collapse
X
-
Re: Bankers & Anchors: Rnd 12, 2022 vs Geelong
I'd not thought about it in that way before. Don't mind it, but it's also a bit tricky for umpires to judge whether the kick was impacted don't you think?
Watching the replay on this, the umpire blew the whistle as soon as Ed kicked the ball and was polaxed. However, a late hit and pretty sure to the head, should have given Ed a 50 metre penalty down field. At the time, I thought it should have been paid for down field, but now I think it was Ed's free plus the 50mScreen Shot 2022-06-06 at 1.58.43 pm.jpg
^Please excuse the Kayo play icon overlay/darkness. This shows that Stanley arrived and made contact before the ball left the boot, but the contact was high. So a free kick in place is (to the letter of the law) correct. However the advantage was clearly ours and so the free kick did more harm than good.'And the Western suburbs erupt!'Comment
-
Re: Bankers & Anchors: Rnd 12, 2022 vs Geelong
Tuohy all class. Yes Bailey Smith was an anchor, no butts about it.
Message to Smith (and Buddy):
"When someone tries to trigger you by insulting you or by doing or saying something that irritates you,
take a deep breath and switch off your ego.
Remember that if you are easily offended, you are easily manipulated.
Footscray Football Republic.Comment
-
Comment
-
Comment
-
Comment
-
Re: Bankers & Anchors: Rnd 12, 2022 vs Geelong
Thanks for posting. I didn't over-analyse it and you're right, correct decision paid if contact occurred during the act of kicking.I'd not thought about it in that way before. Don't mind it, but it's also a bit tricky for umpires to judge whether the kick was impacted don't you think?
[ATTACH=CONFIG]1115[/ATTACH]
^Please excuse the Kayo play icon overlay/darkness. This shows that Stanley arrived and made contact before the ball left the boot, but the contact was high. So a free kick in place is (to the letter of the law) correct. However the advantage was clearly ours and so the free kick did more harm than good.
Using the disruption to the kick isn't a bad way to add a bit of context, but if the umpire doubts it was late then shouldn't pay the infringement.TF is this?.........Obviously you're not a golfer.Comment
-
Re: Bankers & Anchors: Rnd 12, 2022 vs Geelong
The problem with this is that the tackler has free rein to infringe the opponent to stop momentum.Thanks for posting. I didn't over-analyse it and you're right, correct decision paid if contact occurred during the act of kicking.
Using the disruption to the kick isn't a bad way to add a bit of context, but if the umpire doubts it was late then shouldn't pay the infringement.
It was a blatant free and the infringer gets the ball back to where his team were, but with time to set up the defence.
We need these to be a minimum of 50 to prevent the PROFESSIONAL free.Life is to be Enjoyed not EnduredComment
-
Comment
Comment