Re: Game Day - Bulldogs vs Kangaroos

The most obvious aspect of the game today (apart from Telstra Dome being colder than Santa's outdoor dunny) was how terrible we look when we play defensively.
    First half, we played a spare man in defence. Second half, we play accountable football (except for the occasional running forward of the ball at contests) and match a team who has more to play for than us.

At least we have unequivocable proof that man behind the play, zones etc. are not how we will win games as a club.

• BulldogBelle

We cant say that our fitness is to blame, as we fought back in the 3rd and 4th quarters

We were completely outplayed in centre clearances...I was tearing my hair out in the 4th quarter when Rocket put Ward in the middle when we were 2/3 goals down...the kid will be a player in a few years time, but sending a just turned 18 year old into the middle isnt such a good idea...

Minson and Street did OK...but our onballers got whopped in the centre clearance department.

Campbell got a few of his goals very cheaply at times when we couldnt let him

Really pleased with Harbrow..got his chances and converted them...Hopefully his confidence will improve from today...

I won't give a lot of kudos for the way we bounced back in the 2nd half because we should have never gotten into that position to start with. This is however getting quite embarrassing the way North have the wood on us. I know a lot of Bulldog people get stuck into Grant Thomas because he doesn't rate us highly (because of the way the Saints used to handle us during his tenure) but I'm guessing North supporters would very much look forward to playing us in the finals.

Originally posted by Dog House
          Really pleased with Harbrow..got his chances and converted them...Hopefully his confidence will improve from today...
          He was our best in the first half, really works hard both ways. Quite a good tackle for a bloke his size

Originally posted by Mofra
            The most obvious aspect of the game today (apart from Telstra Dome being colder than Santa's outdoor dunny) was how terrible we look when we play defensively.
            First half, we played a spare man in defence. Second half, we play accountable football (except for the occasional running forward of the ball at contests) and match a team who has more to play for than us.

At least we have unequivocable proof that man behind the play, zones etc. are not how we will win games as a club.
            Agree wholeheartedly.

When you play with a small forwardline like we do you can't afford to have these forwards out-numbered.

Originally posted by Mantis
              When you play with a small forwardline like we do you can't afford to have these forwards out-numbered.
              Particularly against North Melbourne.

Firrito and Petrie especially must love playing against us; they cut off our 'passes' every single time we play them, and the same result follows.

Pretty woeful game that we just never looked like winning.

Few positives though. Ward was good, Harbrow was good, Johnno is starting to run back into some form, Cooney was alright, Minson took a few grabs and was pretty good around the ground.

When we were coming forward there looked to be much more thought in the delivery (although sometimes still a bit too telegraphed) but at least we were looking to put the ball in space in front of a leading target. (Not every time).

Our inability to take the first option when the heat was on was pretty poor, so often we'd get past one North player, not take an option to move the ball and get tackled by a second North player. Just not enough awareness/talk and first option for mine.

Certainly don't want to play North in the finals. They are simply to strong and even for us.

Dissapointing first half, respectable 2nd...except when we managed to get a couple in a row they just shut that momentum down..

Good things out of the game is Johnson showing how its done, great game by him...and little Harbrow going back with confidence to kick those goals..Umpires gave us nothing aswell..so many unpaid opportunities..14-24 free kicks in their favor, ridiculous

So frustrating how they seem to have the wood over us the last few times..we manage to get their stupid milestone games or coming back from an interstate game...or even both these past 2 times..

Not really much to say. I'm pretty disappointed the fight back was nice but it was a case of to little to late. Some nice play from a few of our younger brigade and Johnno looks to playing some good football but other than that not much to write about.

What I find really worrying is our tackling. Early in the season they were ferocious. Now it seem that Miss Daisy would be able to break a tackle anywhere around the ground. The intensity is not there and regardless of what these final games mean I find that a real concern.

• Scraggers
                      Premiership Moderator

First time we have won a second half in a number of rounds now ... trick is, to take this sort of form to BrisVegas

• Dogs 24/7

I gather criticism of Eade isn't something that to many will support but he was very slow to react today and Im not sure that he has had a great month in the coaches box himself.

We lacked a bit all around the ground today whilst the Roo boys hit the ground running. We need to find another lever or two soon.

Was the defensive football maybe an experiment for Hawthorn if Buddy is on fire of something?

• Bulldog Revolution

The first quarter, and our complete lack of fire in that quarter cost us dearly - we did not by any stretch of the imagination come to play. We talked about getting a fast start but the team was asleep.

We started to get going in the second, and had some really good patches in the second half, but we just gave up too much of a lead before we started playing.

Our centre square are allowing too many clean takeaways

It's a bit of a reality check of where we are at

Very poor first half but we did end up matching North, a hardened stoppage team, in the clearances and hard ball gets. The difference was ultimately 3 gift goals, 2 to Harvey that 99 times out of 100 would have been rushed behinds and one courtesy of a Tiller clanger in the 2nd qtr. Early on we failed miserably to cope with North's clustered midfield game plan (very similar to Hawthorn's) but we started to slice it open as the match wore on.

I'm not about to slash my wrists over that performance.

Brent Harvey is the Warne to our Cullinan. He must wish he played us every week. Petrie as well.

Pretty uninspiring proformance. However Ward, Harbrow and Johnno put in all day. I actually liked seeing Eade put Ward in the centre shows the "older" guys that if your not going to put your boody on the line and have a crack well I'll put someone there that will.

Streeter sorry mate good @ VFL but can't step up when it counts. Murph did some good things when the supply was there. The main difference I have found in the last month is that we don't have as many guys willing to get their hands dirty and play hard contested footy thats what we did well in the first half of the season and for some reason it has dropped off. Hopefull the week off has helped Huddo because we need him. He and Will have proven to be a good combo.

Upsides?? Well Callan came back to add a bit of grit I would rate it OK - Solid. We have a few big ins still to come. Huddo, Higgins, Williams and West. Williams is obviously the big one the back line just looks so much more structured with him in it for a bloke that has played less that 20 games he is quickly turning into one of our most important players on our list.

Huddo in for street
                                West (when fit) in for Eagleton
                                Williams (when fit) in for Tiller
                                Higgins in for Ray (hard call but who else would you leave out??)