Re: Western Bulldogs Iconic moments

Originally posted by Mofra
    I always found it a bit of a misnomer that Morris' most iconic career moment actually occurred forward of the centre.
    Nothing sums up the beauty of sport and the AFL more than that moment and the players in it.

Think about it, a workmanlike guy with limited skill who only made it by sheer determination, playing with a broken back and at the limits of his physical capacity finds the reserves and the grit for one last effort.

He brings down the highest profile, most dangerous, probably highest paid player in the game just as he's about to turn onto his killer left boot before no doubt sprinting off to get ahead of the ball.

Then the ball spills to Boyd. A kid that had the weight of the world on his shoulders but for one game played like a free man. One moment in time where he had to put all his aspirations, all his fears, all his frustrations into one kick.

It was never going to miss.

The moment is gone in the blink of an eye, but the analysis lasts a lifetime. I still get shivers thinking about it.

In all the shittiness around footy and bureaucracy and boys clubs and gambling, that moment was just about sport and about beauty.

How can it not be the most iconic?

Another one.
      Matthew Boyd - still wearing 42 I believe - running more than half the length of Marvel kicking the ball along the ground to eventually kick a goal

There was one more iconic moment in that Essendon 2000 game. The footage of a bulldog supporter (his name was Con, he was a mate of mine and is sadly no longer with us) giving the players a rev up as they walked up the players' race at halftime. The footage isbat about 2.30 in the video I've linked above.

Trent Bartlett, questionable free kick, deep in time-on in the last qtr, Optus Oval. 2000. Ending Carlton's 13 game winning steak. Pure poetry.

Same season, Matthew Croft beating Wayne Carey in a crucial goal square one-on-one in the dying minutes to preserve our slender lead. We came back from 42 points down in the 3rd qtr of that match against the reigning premier. Wallace had his faults as a coach, but my God he could coach the lights out and change things up in-game better than just about anyone.

Trent Bartlett, questionable free kick, deep in time-on in the last qtr, Optus Oval. 2000. Ending Carlton's 13 game winning steak. Pure poetry.

Speaking of iconic moments. I have a picture of Bubba Smith and Trent Bartlett walking off the ground in that game. There are Carlton supporters hanging over the fence hurling abuse while Bubba shows them the Bulldog on his jumper and Bartlett has his arms raised in triumph. I love that photo. If the house caught fire it's the first thing I'd grab.

Originally posted by josie
              Also in that 2000 game the Libba tackle on a tall Bomber player - was it Alessio? Great rundown from behind by Libba. Crowd went nuts. And in same game Johnno falling to ground head down after I think a Wallis bump with a melee ensuing. I think Johnno was possibly playing possum if I recall correctly, as through binoculars I think I can recall seeing him turning his head sideways to see what was going on.
              Josie the memory is slipping. Libba ran down Scott Lucas, twice. Johnno got bumped by Barnes, and lying down turning his head, I am not sure as I was on the opposite wing.

I do recall when Gia bumped Kosi and they both fell, and Gia turned his head towards Kosi while lying on his stomach to see Kosi lying next to him knocked out. The was a ripper bump.

Originally posted by boydogs
                Matthew Boyd soccering the ball from the defensive half all the way through for a goal v Richmond circa 2005
                Originally posted by Mofra
                Matthew Boyd - still wearing 42 I believe - running more than half the length of Marvel kicking the ball along the ground to eventually kick a goal
                This was the same game.

I recall it was a close match and all 36 players were in one half of the ground when the ball came out and Boyd ran 3/4 of the length of the ground and they couldn't catch him. I think it was the quickest he ever ran.

• Scorlibo

Originally posted by jazzadogs
                  Two strong memories from games I was at:

Johnnos stumbling goal to get us over the line against North in Canberra, 2004. I was a young fella and got to hold up the banner, we were sitting right behind the goals so had a great view of the stumble and fumble, and then we got to watch them sing the song through a big glass viewing window. Plus Cam Faulkner played as close to Andrew McLeod as he could ever hope to get.

Second one is a bit random - against Melbourne at Etihad, McCartney years I think, we were well up at half time but then there was a big melee break out after the half time siren. The members wing went wild with huge roars and a big BULLDOGS chant. Great theatre and one of those rare moments where a Dogs home crowd gets REALLY loud.
                  Iconic moments for me too. I grew up in Canberra and was at that game as a teen, very special to have the Dogs play at Manuka, and what a win. Johnno looked as if he'd got a full body cramp the moment he tried to pick up the ball in the goal square.

Big Will getting his jumper ripped off in that Melbourne brawl was all we needed to really get loud in the crowd. At the time it felt like a line in the sand moment for the club.
                  'And the Western suburbs erupt!'

Stringer gets a free kick on the half back flank at the MCG. He looks down the line and Bont is there but he's covered by two Sydney players. He looks around and kicks it sideways to a grinning Tom Liberatore. Firstdog slaps me with his footy record and says "can you believe this? We are running down the clock in a *!*!*!*!ing GRAND. FINAL!!!!!! Then he whoops in joy.

October 1, 2016

• Bulldog4life

Thought hard about this. It was EJ's last game as captain/coach for me. We won by 3 points at what was called the Western Oval in those days. Beat Hawks. Crowd went nuts after the final siren went and stormed the ground. The 3 quarter time speech EJ gave was INSPIRING. Great memories.

The Wallace spew up speech.

Originally posted by chef
                          The Wallace spew up speech.
                          If I have 1 more of chef's magnificent macaroons I'll spew up!

Jakey Boy burying Kyle Hartigan on the half forward flank at Marvel as he sidestepped him straight to hell to kick his 5th goal in about 30 minutes. May he Rest In Peace.

There’s been “better” moments but don’t know if there’s been many sicker.

• soupman

What about the time Shaun Higgins had a set shot for North and as he was doing his breathing exercises in the centre square his 30 seconds ran out and Stringer came flying in and killed him.

That moment had it all, the characters, the anticipation, the excitement of seeing it unfold and then the payoff of it all going as hoped. It was beautiful.

• boydogs
                                • Apr 2009

This was the same game.

I recall it was a close match and all 36 players were in one half of the ground when the ball came out and Boyd ran 3/4 of the length of the ground and they couldn't catch him. I think it was the quickest he ever ran.
                                It was a great game. Matthew Richardson at his best on the lead marking low to the ground like he was Jason Dunstall to beat a fast closing Brian Lake. Ryan Griffen outshining Brett Deledio just after he lost the rising star to him. Farren Ray shepherding Matthew Boyd's 100m metre soccer goal