Re: Sharp Axes

She wouldn't even know where the Westgate Bridge is, let alone what is happening at the kennel.
    The only thing remotely working class/ west side are her ciggie wrinkles.

• JanLorMill
      • Feb 2023

Originally posted by josie
      I want Bain’s or KWW to come out publicly straight asap or at latest after our season is over and say we commit to a thorough on & off field review no matter what.
      KWW and Bains are part of the problem. Why would they do that?

Originally posted by angelopetraglia
        The whole piece doesn't really tell us anything. Speculation. Maybe a little inside gossip.

Kane's view that Bevo has been a poor ambassador I don't cop. He has had a few moments he would like to take back and a few things that Bulldog fans have enjoyed that Kane hasn't (like when Bevo targeted him directly after Kane went after Treloar after the Brisbane final and then he bounced back the next week against Port and Bevo had a pot shot at Kane after the game.)

It is really personal with Kane and his double standard with Hinkley who has coached longer than Bevo without ever getting Port to a GF and has had less finals appearances is hypocrisy at scale.

(I know, I know, I need to remember he is just playing the heel as always).
        I believe Kane is going after him because of the way he has handled the media. Like him or not it's been extremely poor. I hate the media as much as the next guy but it's a necessary evil and we need to get better working with them. I'm surprised they haven't come out harder at him after yesterday.

Originally posted by G-Mo77
          I believe Kane is going after him because Kane's a **** who is in it for the money. Like him or not it's been extremely poor. I hate the media as much as the next guy but it's a necessary evil and we need to get better working with them. I'm surprised they haven't come out harder at him after yesterday.
          He's been nothing but respectful with the media this year.

Anyway, I've fixed your first sentence.

He's been nothing but respectful with the media this year.

Anyway, I've fixed your first sentence.
            First sentence fix I'm fine with mate. He's been better but we still need to work on it.

Originally posted by G-Mo77
              First sentence fix I'm fine with mate. He's been better but we still need to work on it.
              I agree - it's a work in progress.

We can have our differences of opinions about Kane and still get along, I'm sure.

I agree - it's a work in progress.

We can have our differences of opinions about Kane and still get along, I'm sure.
                Don?t be so sure. Kane still don?t get along or moved on with Will Minson.

Minson was right, why was Cornes playing footy when as Minno pointed out ?Shouldn?t you be home with your dying son?? (Who survived despite his dad prioritising footy over possible last memories)

Or are sledges only for Cornes to dish out?

Don?t be so sure. Kane still don?t get along or moved on with Will Minson.

Minson was right, why was Cornes playing footy when as Minno pointed out ?Shouldn?t you be home with your dying son??

Or are sledges only for Cornes to dish out?
                  I get the feeling that with his hard and traditional views, Kane would think children are for the women to look after while the men toil in the fields.

Minno copped it. But I think it’s a fair sledge. But Cornes is still actually banging on about it. Likes to take easy shots for the headlines, just is surprisingly think skinned himself. Maybe the truth hurts most.

• anfo27

Originally posted by angelopetraglia
                      Caro

"I hear there is disaffected players this year, we know what happened with Dunkley last year, we are not sure what Bailey Smiths future is, we don' know how Adam Treloar is feeling, will Tim English accept a big offer to go and play for the West Coast and a general dissatisfaction with the lack of cohesion and consistency in form and selection. Thank heavens Bevo has Marcus Bontempelli who has been his great leader and supporter throughout all of this."
                      Is this really hard to guess? The evidence has been there all year for all to see. Hard for players to play well if they are not happy going to work. I'm not in the club so have no idea what is going on but I can see what they produce on the field & I don't see a happy playing group.

• SonofScray
                        • Apr 2008

Media pundits, who cares what their perception is?

Those two are a case of a broken clock being right twice a day re: Bevo, and even then, their critique is askew.

We are immersed in this club, we see it.

• Vred
                          • Nov 2018

Playing group wants Ameet and Grant to go, they want Bevo to stay, mostly sparked by the treating of Rohan Smith, no one wants him to leave but the board/CEO.

This is coming directly from a player.
                          [I][B]"Its always good to win the Ashes test match'' - Libba, AFL Grand Final, 2016[/B][/I]

Originally posted by Vred
                            Playing group wants Ameet and Grant to go, they want Bevo to stay, mostly sparked by the treating of Rohan Smith, no one wants him to leave but the board/CEO.

Well, we always knew they were a sensitive bunch who specialise in deflecting blame.

More impetus to blow this playing list up.

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
                              Well, we always knew they were a sensitive bunch who specialise in deflecting blame.

More impetus to blow this playing list up.
                              Player empowerment has a dark side.

Players have issues with pragmatism and an inability to understand their lanes versus those they want to run in. It's actually not a bad thing most of the time, because it means they're passionate and loyal. Invested.

But the unhelpfulness normally shines through in the end.

Originally posted by Vred

I'd suggest the players have little to do with Bains and Grant has been Bevo's biggest supporter. Granty would read the room alright I reckon and know if the players are committed to Bevo.

Who would have sacked Bubba? Grant? If so, big move firing your mate it shows spine and a club first mentality. Was it the right move? Remains to be seen but Bubba has been here a long, long time. The players need to understand that they are culpable and that their actions on the field can have serious consequences off it.

Also, you can't f*%$en Ides of March Granty. I wont stand for that. The only way Grant leaves is if a thourough independent review recommends it. If you thought it was hard emotionally to shaft Bubba you ain't seen nothing yet re. firing Grant. The players forcing Grant out is club implosion type stuff.

Grant's removal needs to come from outside the club or he simply walks. It needs to be done properly and with respect. If it's required I hope it's part of the recommendations.

Bains I couldn't give two shites about.