Re: Sharp Axes

Originally posted by Vred
    Meanwhile, two separate posters on BigFooty reporting the following;

Bevo has been offered a Severence that would see him paid 50% P/A for the life of his contract or until he took a role equal or higher within the AFL industry, he turned it down.

B.Smith is getting interest but not from Geelong.

Treloar is getting interest from the Suns as they look to win finals, Hardwick wants to make and win finals as soon as next year so they will be aggressive this trade period.

English is still a waiting game. He has been given a Large offer from a Vic club.

Lade has another year to go on his contract aswell, he has been offered a change of role but turned it down
    If Bevo honestly believes he’s the right man, why would he give back one dollar, when the club voluntarily signed him early?

Why would Lade change roles if he has a contract?

Smith, English & Treloar. Well. If the return is good enough, the club can sell hope with those picks. But no substantial changes to players or coaches is a footy death sentence. Is it too much to ask Peter Gordon to come back to get the shop back in shape? Happy to pass a Putin amendment to the constitution to give him the presidency for life if he comes back.

• Vred
      • Nov 2018

If Bevo honestly believes he’s the right man, why would he give back one dollar, when the club voluntarily signed him early?

Smith, English & Treloar. Well. If the return is good enough, the club can sell hope with those picks. But no substantial changes to players or coaches is a footy death sentence. Is it too much to ask Peter Gordon to come back to get the shop back in shape? Happy to pass a Putin amendment to the constitution to give him the presidency for life if he comes back.
      I'd like nothing more than seeing PG back at the club, sadly too busy at Gordon Legal these days
      [I][B]"Its always good to win the Ashes test match'' - Libba, AFL Grand Final, 2016[/B][/I]

• D Mitchell
        • Jan 2023

If Bevo honestly believes he?s the right man, why would he give back one dollar, when the club voluntarily signed him early?

Smorgo. Much and all that I respect Peter Gordon for his efforts in the Takeover saga, Smorgo's the better choice. He pulled the Club together, rebuilt it and handed the finished product to Gordon to enjoy the fruits. If there really is a crisis, I'm not yet convinced, perhaps a Channel 9 confecture, and if we go back to former Presidents, it's Smorgo.

• Boots
          • Nov 2020

Bevo has been offered a Severence that would see him paid 50% P/A for the life of his contract or until he took a role equal or higher within the AFL industry, he turned it down.

Treloar is getting interest from the Suns as they look to win finals, Hardwick wants to make and win finals as soon as next year so they will be aggressive this trade period.

English is still a waiting game. He has been given a Large offer from a Vic club.

Lade has another year to go on his contract aswell, he has been offered a change of role but turned it down
          That thread is a bit of a bin fire. Obviously I have no way to know if they're right or wrong but in the last day it's gone from "Bevo safe, Lade safe, Sam Power being headhunted for Tassie" to "Bevo severance package, half the squad being courted". They can't decide if the playerbase is fractured, or if it hates Bevo, Baines or KWW. Bont has gone to everyone's office and he's also Bevo's mate... total mess.

I would caution calm until we get something a bit firmer.

Vred, thanks for sharing with these BF rumours but we need to be a bit careful as a previous collection were clearly incorrect. Some of these look a bit too far fetched to be treated or taken too seriously at the moment.

I thought BF was banned from this forum .
              Isn’t it a load of over the top rumour mongers ?

Originally posted by ledge
                Absolutely not, we share many fine members and there will of course be a crossover of content.
                On this issue, some of the rumors being shared appear to be off the mark.
                Lets leave it at that.

Originally posted by ledge
                  No ledge it is not.

BF posters are welcome on woof with open arms.

• Axe Man

According to the HUN:

Beveridge has two more seasons left on his deal but as an ?assisted? club relying on AFL funding he would have a six-month payout figure if the Dogs moved him on.
                    If I understand that correctly we would only need to pay him out 6 months worth of his contract, rather than 12 months worth suggested in this BF rumour.

Originally posted by Axe Man
                      According to the HUN:

If I understand that correctly we would only need to pay him out 6 months worth of his contract, rather than 12 months worth suggested in this BF rumour.
                      Can’t see us sacking him if we only just put him on for two more years . I tend to believe Grants take on it.
                      I think this weeks game will give us an idea on whether there’s a huge problem . If we get smashed somethings up . Be interesting to see how the media react if we win and make finals.

I hope this is a Thompson / Hardwick scenario where there was media talk of them getting sacked then going on to win 3 flags by keeping them.

Originally posted by Axe Man
                          According to the HUN:

Shit. We are still club assisted!

I thought those days were long gone!

But, six months. Done.

Shit. We are still club assisted!

I thought those days were long gone!

But, six months. Done.
                            If it were to happen it would have been announced by now. We're going into 2024 with Bevo again, I'm so certain I'd put money on it. I don't think that is a good thing either.

Originally posted by G-Mo77
                              If it were to happen it would have been announced by now. We're going into 2024 with Bevo again, I'm so certain I'd put money on it. I don't think that is a good thing either.
                              I suspect you are right, but I hope you are wrong. It took a lot to come back to footy and this side and if next year is more of the same, I’m not sure I can stomach it. Watching this side is a god damn joyless chore and destroyer of weekends. But they’ll probably go back to slotting us in at 4.40 on Sunday’s so I’ll be otherwise doing other things so it’s all good. No way Ch7 wants us stinking up their prime time.

No way Bevo is not coaching next year. After next season we'll know more and it will be far more palatable to have to pay him out one year rather than two.

The simple fact is if we have to give away hard earned money now all the slight profits we've made over the past 3-4 years will be pissed up against a wall.

That money has to come from somewhere within the club and we've also shelled out considerable funds to facilitate the re-development. No way Bains says paying Bevo a two years severance package is in anyway a good idea. No way Bevo takes a compromise and nor should he have to.

Only way is Bevo walks.

We've made our bed.