School yard footy challenge - pick your side from Dogs current list.

Ok woofers.

You've travelled back in time. You're in the school yard with all of your besties : the current Dogs afl men's team.

Some bully from the posh private school next door reckons he can wipe the floor with us... So.

We need to pick 10 players and a sub to take them on...

The spine (ff, chf, ruck, chb, fb) is 5.
    A centre, a rover, forward flanker, back flanker and a winger another 5.
    Plus the super sub...

Who you picking and why.

Me first.
    Name Position Why?
    Bontempelli Centre Duh! He's God
    Naughton CHF Can split packs, bring it to ground, use the knee of Zaine
    Liberatore Rover Brawls and extraction
    Smith Wing Distraction and pace
    English Ruck Need a running big man to link
    Jamarra Full forward Just sit deep and control the air
    Richards HBF Rebound 50, and such a sweet kid
    O'Donnell CHB Athletic, good distributor, can play tall or small
    Jones FB Golden fist, closing speed, another knee of Zaine
    Dale HFF Need someone who can kick straight!
    Just leaves the super sub.....

Hmmm

Treloar. Release him for 33 percent game time late to run rampant over the top of the opposition.

Ok I've put my reputation on the line here Woofers..
    What would you do differently? I've left some talent in the shed.

Danjul you can't choose Schache
  • jazzadogs
    • Oct 2008

Re: School yard footy challenge - pick your side from Dogs current list.

Sedat first picked for my WOOF football match - Brayden Maynard style enforcer in the backline I think.

I'll have a think about my 10 man Bulldogs.

Originally posted by jazzadogs
      Sedat first picked for my WOOF football match - Brayden Maynard style enforcer in the backline I think.

I'll have a think about my 10 man Bulldogs.
      Game has to be played at Sedat Park, and prior to the game have Daniel Andrews hand over a novelty cheque to Chris Scott for phase 45 of the upgrades to get him fired up.

• mjp

I'll do this - just no time to think through it right now.

I'm eagerly waiting to see someone nominate Naughton as a key defender. And Sweet hasn't gone yet - get him in the ruck and Tim forward. C'mon.

Is there an umpire? Are there any specific schoolyard rules?

What about the ground, is it both sides kick to one end, across the ground or a full ground game? My povo school didn't really have two decent ends to play to.

Different sport, but this reminds me of the disparity between schools in the zone I grew up in. Playing cricket vs. Mount Scopus at their school in Burwood and I was opening the batting. We'd been playing on concrete state school wickets that didn't get any bounce with rock hard composite balls in ten over per innings matches.

Anyway, I decide I won't need a helmet, and for some unbelievably stupid reason our coach and old school cricket guy had no problems with it - I guess they let 11 year old's fail hard in the early 90s. But the problem was there was a synthetic deck at Mount Scopus, and Michael Klinger was opening the bowling and at that point he (as I found out almost the hard way) wasn't just a bat.

The first ball was a half tracker quicker than I'd faced by a lot of older kids I played against, and he was a year younger than I. It climbed and I pulled back, and I reckon it missed my head by less than half a foot. I called for the helmet, and carried my bat for a solid twelve not out to set up a tight win

Is there an umpire? Are there any specific schoolyard rules?

What about the ground, is it kick to one end, across the ground or a full ground game? My povo school didn't really have two decent ends to play to.
              It's kind of a 50 and a centre square, jumpers at the end of the non goal post side for goal and point posts.

Umpire... Maybe someone from woof

An all time Dogs team would be interesting.

Originally posted by Grantysghost
                  It's kind of a 50 and a centre square, jumpers at the end of the non goal post side for goal and point posts.

Umpire... Maybe someone from woof
                  BAD has to be the umpire. Very strict and no convolution of the rules.

The bit around the ground configuration really clears things up as well mate. Cheers.

BAD has to be the umpire. Very strict and no convolution of the rules.

The bit around the ground configuration really clears things up as well mate. Cheers.
                    Ha I lolzed with both parts of that.

Alex Keath has to be the teacher on yard duty, in triacetate pants. Two stripes because he can't afford three on a teachers salary - especially during a cost of living crisis.

• SquirrelGrip

This feels like picking an AFLX team!
                        "I'll give him a hug before the first bounce and then I'll run into my pack and give them orders to rip him apart."

Originally posted by SquirrelGrip
                          This feels like picking an AFLX team!
                          You mean AFLExcellent.

• Scorlibo

Name Position Why?
                            Treloar Centre You've got to pick your best players!
                            Naughton CHF Can fly at everything, up against two key defenders, no problem. Cause some chaos.
                            Liberatore Rover Made for roughing up private school boys
                            Bontempelli Wing Designated distributor out wide, taking turns on ball
                            English Ruck AA ruck in the schoolyard, thanks for coming
                            Weightman Full forward Cody with a license to fly and will convert better than anyone else
                            Dale HBF The artful dodger in his natural position
                            Richards CHB Opting for run over lumbering height. He can compete in the air just fine while providing drive
                            Jones FB LJ will terminate every high ball, leaving Dale and Richards to run away with it
                            Daniel HFF The schoolkids will think him one of their own. Will break the intercept records.
                            'And the Western suburbs erupt!'

• jazzadogs
                              • Oct 2008

Can't fault the two teams put up so far... Although I think rhylee west is built for the school yard. He would get some enjoyment from dragging his opponent across the asphalt, like A-train did to Night Hawk.