• The Doctor

Re: Peter Jackson helping Dogs with review

Originally posted by mjp
    "What is the end-game here"....
    Integration

That is the key word in our President's recent corporate speak.

There is clearly disconnection (or disintegration) in the footy dept. From the outside we can only speculate where within it is. Could it be a couple of powerful people with the best of intentions but with differing views on how to get there? There would also be negative spin offs from that affecting other people or procedures. Who knows? Do the players have too much say and so the tail wags the dog? Weve been hearing speculation about high profile players only wanting to play certain positions and lots of talk about cultural issues. It could be any number of things.

I think the appointment of Jackson is a big warning signal for some at the club. It will be interesting to see what recommendations become public and if there is any fall out. Whatever happens, the president wants "integration" and she is investing heavily to get it. I think we all want that.
    Listening to Brahm's 3rd Racket

• josie
      • Oct 2012

Originally posted by ledge
      Well this is the problem the article is confusing, one minute it?s a good thing then it?s a bad thing, just hedging his bets on whatever the outcome is.
      I have no problem with criticism but is it or isn?t it ? Fence sitting, thus a nothing article that we all have no idea what?s going on exactly.
      Filling in his space in the paper .
      It?s Robbo-he writes kinda like he talks, rambling with occasionally some interesting thoughts. I thought it was an ok article. Some folks confused about what is in review scope which I thought Robbo clarified a bit better.
      Josie :)

Our day will come
      And we'll have everything.
      We'll share the joy
      Just like '54 again.

Reading Robinson I'm sure my IQ diminishes slightly every time.

What's his position if he's writing an opinion piece?

I have no idea what his position is? Considering it's an opinion piece I think he completely missed the mark and really didn't convey anything of use.

It was a statement of facts with a few jabs and the implication it will end in tears.

He uses comparative stories of coaches getting sacked, then says it's no chance of happening.... Um so how is the comparison relevant.

I didn't learn anything I didn't already know.

Originally posted by angelopetraglia
          This line from my experiences is mostly always incorrect.

"Because make no mistake, reviews always start with best intentions and mostly always end with somebody's tears."

The tears part is correct. Best intentions is mostly wrong. Most people know what they want when they call for a review. It is just a means to an end. Only a foolish CEO/Chair would call for a review without a good idea of the outcome
          In Yes Minister sir Humphrey says that you should never call an enquiry without knowing what the outcome will be.

Originally posted by Grantysghost
            Reading Robinson I'm sure my IQ diminishes slightly every time.

What's his position if he's writing an opinion piece?

I have no idea what his position is? Considering it's an opinion piece I think he completely missed the mark and really didn't convey anything of use.

It was a statement of facts with a few jabs and the implication it will end in tears.

He uses comparative stories of coaches getting sacked, then says it's no chance of happening.... Um so how is the comparison relevant.

I didn't learn anything I didn't already know.
            He also conveniently left out the most famous of reviews where a club was galvanised by its findings and won three of the next four Premierships after it landed.

The article is fine in terms of stuff being laid out, but what I don't get is the lack of acceptance of or confusion around something that doesn't fit the norm of what usually happens at a footy club.

If stuff isn't exactly how you want it to be there's always room to do something about it. I see it all the time with my clients, holding off from doing something or thinking things need to be done perfectly or not done at all. Don't let perfection get in the way of improvement.

I guess what I'm saying is the review conducted to date might not have been perfect, or exactly what we wanted it to be. That happens all the time, in fact more often than not, so it makes sense to do something about it now rather than not. Business operations are dynamic, people change etc. so just get into it when you can and improve as you can.

Two clubs had reviews kept their coach and went on to win multiple flags.
              Geelong and Richmond.
              It doesn’t always end in tears.

• angelopetraglia

Originally posted by ledge
                Two clubs had reviews kept their coach and went on to win multiple flags.
                Geelong and Richmond.
                It doesn?t always end in tears.
                To be fair. He said it ends in somebody's tears. Which it normally does.

In the 2006 Geelong Football review. Several key personnel lost their jobs with assistant coach Andy Lovell making way for Brenton Sanderson and Paul Haines and Dean Robinson taking over the Cats' high-performance department. Garry Davidson also lost his job as football operations boss (Even though Cook, who called for the review wanted to retain him in the job), with Neil Balme taking over the top football job.

In the 2016 Richmond Football review. A broom went through the coaching panel. Assistant coaches Ross Smith and Greg Mellor, along with senior development coach Mark Williams, were not offered new contracts for 2017. It paved the way for the return of former assistants Justin Leppitsch as forwards coach and Craig McRae as VFL and development coach. Neil Balme was lured back to the club as general manager (football), releasing Richardson to become the general manager of football talent. Balme?s return was a huge plus.

AP you're right, but the article read/ implied one of the big dogs in Bevo, Grant or Bains would get it in the neck if it ended in tears.

jee, I'm worried you are picking up what slobbo is putting down.

Originally posted by azabob
                      jee, I'm worried you are picking up what slobbo is putting down.
                      I didn't work all week so I'm picking apart a few different things I guess.

That would also explain how you are across the whole love triangle of SEN, The Age and CH9. Which I find mildly amusing as you dislike all of them with a passion.

I hope the time off was leave and not you being crook!

Originally posted by azabob
                          That would also explain how you are across the whole love triangle of SEN, The Age and CH9. Which I find mildly amusing as you dislike all of them with a passion.

I hope the time off was leave and not you being crook!
                          Redundancy! Walked in Monday morning, walked out about thirty minutes later.........

As for the syndicated football media, as I despise most of it I have to keep a bit of an eye out for developments, so I can avoid using my eyes on it.

Keeping an eye on it so I know what not to look at.

Redundancy! Walked in Monday morning, walked out about thirty minutes later.........

As for the syndicated football media, as I despise most of it I have to keep a bit of an eye out for developments, so I can avoid using my eyes on it.

Sad to hear you lost your job . I’ve been made redundant 3 times in my life it can be scary. I’m actually hoping to get made redundant now as it will bring my retirement forward.
                            Good Luck in finding another job and may it be one you love doing.

Damn. That sucks big time. Stay positive mate. Let me know if I can somehow help!

• Topdog

Ah the good old redundancy bus, whenever I want it they keep me on, whenever I dont.... Good luck with it all jeemak