Re: Game Day Finals Addition - Bulldogs vs Hawks

Originally posted by Griffen#16
    I think we will want it more, be more ferocious in the contest and desperate than the Hawks.
    I can definitely see this happening. We had a nice hard slog against Adelaide out in the elements last week. By contrast Hawthorn had glorified circle work under the roof against a team that had clocked off for the season. The Hawthorn cluster game plan is unproven in finals - they barely squeaked over the line against Adelaide last year only through the supreme individual efforts from Hodge and Franklin, and they were ruthlessly exposed against North the following week. The massive question everyone is asking of us at the moment might just be directed at Waverly Park tomorrow.

• Topdog

I have never been more excited 7 hours away from a game. BRING IT ON!!

Got a feeling we will really come out firing and be up by 2-3 goals at qtr time.

Dogs by 10, Franklin to kick 6.5, Aker B.O.G.

and that spelling mistake is just pissing me off so I am changing it.

Originally posted by aker39
        They have been my thoughts for the last 5 weeks, but after seeing the game in Adelaide, I actually thought we had some of our real committment to the ball back. In the wet conditions, we put our bodies over the ball and found some form.

Like you, I am more hoping we can win than actually thinking we can, but after last week, there is just that little more hope.
        I'm not so worried to our ability to win the hard ball as I am that we will use the ball well. Our decision making and skill level haven't been great over the last 6 or 7 weeks.

• Rocket Science

Re: Game Day Finals Edition - Bulldogs vs Hawks

Can't guess with any confidence how tonight might unfold...so many variables.

Can only hope the boys' play reflects the stakes and we grasp the opportunity to forge respect and success...We're quite capable of handling the Hawks, which is partly why it'll sting if we don't.

Expecting a torrid encounter with plenty of niggle. We need to focus.

Dogs by 12 points...Johnno bags our first major...Murph BOG.

• Missing Dog

This was posted on another website and I thought it worthy of being repeated here.

On Tuesday night the team went to the Precinct (Darcy’s pub in Richmond) for a team dinner. When they got there they were met by Luke Darcy, Rohan Smith and Chris Grant who all gave the rev about finals and stuff.

When dinner was over they all thought they were going home but the club put them all on a bus and took them over to the ‘G. They went down into some room where they were shown their highlights of 2008 together with messages from ‘famous people’.

They were then taken down the race in darkness with one light shining on Charlie Sutton standing on the edge of the G holding the 1954 cup. He proceeded to tell them they were the 1954 team reincarnated and the they were going to win this year. Passed the cup around. Half the players were crying.

I'm getting excited. I don't think there's going to be much work done today.

This was posted on another website and I thought it worthy of being repeated here.

On Tuesday night the team went to the Precinct (Darcy’s pub in Richmond) for a team dinner. When they got there they were met by Luke Darcy, Rohan Smith and Chris Grant who all gave the rev about finals and stuff.

When dinner was over they all thought they were going home but the club put them all on a bus and took them over to the ‘G. They went down into some room where they were shown their highlights of 2008 together with messages from ‘famous people’.

They were then taken down the race in darkness with one light shining on Charlie Sutton standing on the edge of the G holding the 1954 cup. He proceeded to tell them they were the 1954 team reincarnated and the they were going to win this year. Passed the cup around. Half the players were crying.

This is why I love elite sport.

Anticipation..
                Excitement..
                Tiredness..

These emotions will get me through the day before i head down to 'The Peoples Ground' later on.

Doggies by 16pts
                Johnno for the first major
                Akermanis (you superstar) for B.O.G

And if thats what the players did what Aker39 mentioned, if thats not inspiration i dont know what is

I've been waiting weeks for this game!

Dogs by 26 points. First goal to Johnno.

Noticed on the various footy shows last night no-one is tipping the Dogs. Even the betting has Hawks clear out favourites. Stuff 'em all!

Other than beating Geelong, this is the game I really want to win. I am sick and tired of Hawks supporters whinging and carrying on about the Tassie game, plus of course we go straight to the prelim.

First goal - Johnno - I think he will be inspirational tonight

BOG - Got to be COOOOOOOOOOOOONNEEY

Prediction - Dogs by 21 points.

• lion in the midst

Dogs by 22, extremely close first half, dogs pull away in the second half.

Welsh for first major.

BOG Aker

Alright, **** it I've changed my mind. After reading that we will win, just because we have to.

God I love Septmeber

• Ozza

Have been nervous since last week and absolutely sh1tting myself today!!
                            Can't wait to get there....it would be so satisfying to knock these bunch of pr1cks off...half of my office are Hawthorn supporters and the cockiness is out of control!!

Dogs by 14 points.
                            Welsh the first goal.
                            Johnson BOG.

• Ozza

UNBELIEVABLE!!! Read that and had to call the old man straight away to recite....reckon that might have been just what we needed...

Originally posted by Griffen#16
                                This is why I love elite sport.
                                This passion can also be stirred in grass roots football. This is why I love sport in general.