• LostDog

Another Prelim Loss

Oh god I dont know how much more of this I can take.

We really could of and should of won tonight
    Because you cant beat the boys of the BULLDOG breed!!!!!
  • LostDog

Re: Another Prelim Loss

though I am not as devestated as i thought i would be though

• Dry Rot

On an hour delay in Sydney, but I reckon we've done well for a side without a forward line nor a system of delivering to it.

• osakabulldog

agree totally. really had alot of chances, couldnt take them. but the positives are there

Eagle -- Willy, Willy.

Three sure goals, and two 'invisible' goals handed to the Cats by the umps in the final quarter which would have otherwise been goalless.

That was the only difference.

Minnow will be a better forward next year.

• LostDog

All we needed was a bloody goal to get the belief there.

• LostDog

Harbrow and Higgins lets hope they improve.

• LostDog

If we had of played laike that against Hawthorn.

Geelong vs Dogs GRAND FINAL

Originally posted by LostDog
                    All we needed was a bloody goal to get the belief there.
                    Two goals on the run from Harbrow, and Eagle gets a shot from 45 metres, right in front, to put the Dogs within two goals, and he doesn't even make the distance.

Love the Eagle, but that's all he's in the team for. If he can't even kick 45 metres anymore he has NO FUTURE in the team.

• Rocket Science

Originally posted by Lantern
                      Love the Eagle, but that's all he's in the team for. If he can't even kick 45 metres anymore he has NO FUTURE in the team.
                      Dead set gone as a productive footballer...and has been so for 2 years.

Doesn't want the footy...can't use it when he gets it...is occupying a spot better utilised by a kid...any kid.

He cost us tonight. Enough all-bloody-ready and show him the door.

• osakabulldog

i hope hawthorn kill geelong next week, scarlett is a bogan!

Does anyone else think it's horribly ironic that our final score was 54?

Originally posted by Lantern
                            Minnow will be a better forward next year.
                            One thing this year has done is made Minson a better ruckman. If he's ineffective in the ruck or his partner is playing better we can throw him forward.

Tonight he was somewhat ineffective in the ruck and looked dangerous forward.

• Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Originally posted by LostDog
                              Oh god I dont know how much more of this I can take.

We really could of and should of won tonight
                              There are losses and there are losses, and whilst they are all hard to take in their own way, I think we should put things in some perspective.

It's not about accepting close enough is good enough, but I am proud of the way we fought tonight, and indeed came back from a devastating first final loss. They gave it everything and ultimately Geelong are the best team in the competition, which is something we are still aspiring to be.

I think tonights performance is something to build on, framed by the fact that we played a deadset champion team and fell short, on merit, as opposed to a heartbreaking loss where we were the better team that couldn't handle the big stage.
                              Yes we missed some easy shots on goal, but the thing is Geelong didn't, that's why they are the best and why we have some way to go.

Make to mistake this will hurt, but it is a hurt you can build on. A hurt that can galvanise a group and push them to learn from Geelong and aspire to go even better next year.

On the flipside This is not a hurt that will crush a team and make them shrink in stature, and lose belief, such as the losses we suffered in 97 & 98.

I sometimes think that given how desperate we supporters are for ultimate success, we see every chance to win a final as THE chance, as opposed to it being one step towards the ultimate prize, and hence we become too crestfallen when THE chance doesn't turn out to be.

I'm disappointed, not devastated. We've come along way, and have overcome to a large extent a number of significant hurdles...We've risen from the floor of a shocking second half of 2007 where we lost alot of respect in the eyes of the opposition- and finished with a deserved top 4 spot in 2008 on the back of a hardened effort at the football, better contested footy, and flair.

Even in the past 8 weeks we've seen this group confronted with old ghosts, that seemingly were about to wash over the group like a tidal wave following our 1st final disaster against the Hawks, and come through the other side with a great win against a finals hardened Sydney. A group that looked bereft of confidence, refound their mojo.

And then everyone expected us to get steamrolled against Geelong, yet we stood tall, and refused to allow them to impose their will for 4 quarters.

Yes we fell short, and there are coulda's woulda's and shoulda's with our missed chances, but I think overall we've taken a step forward in the bigger picture, and I expect us as a group to regroup and go closer to the ultimate prize next year.