Elliot can't keep his trap shut

Three teams under threat, says Elliott
    Paul Millar | January 12, 2009

THE AFL's expansion plans for west Sydney look doomed to fail, while the long-term future of North Melbourne, the Western Bulldogs and Melbourne is under a cloud, according to former Carlton chairman John Elliott.

He said that subsidies to the three clubs could dry up in tough economic times and they would have to seriously consider their options.

"If we are right in speculating that the next lot of TV rights might go down a bit, then the money floating around for clubs to be subsidised will disappear," he said on 3AW.

Elliott, who was president of the Blues for 20 years, questioned the AFL's expansion policy but said it was clear that there were too many teams in Melbourne, especially in a struggling economy.

"I do think the Gold Coast will work, but I'm terribly worried about west Sydney. Nobody is interested in the game out there, they are just not interested in it," he said.

Elliott said it would cost the AFL millions to promote the game in rugby league's heartland in west Sydney, while the Tasmanian Government was prepared to underwrite moving a side there.

"Tasmania is keen to get a team in the AFL," he said.

He believed the AFL wanted a continued presence in Melbourne's west and that ruled out the Bulldogs moving to Tasmania.

"One of these three clubs will have to go down to Tassie. I do not think it would be the Bulldogs and I think it would be very difficult to rout Melbourne out of Melbourne, so it does appear to me that it will eventually be North Melbourne," he said.

Re: Elliot can't keep his trap shut

and the press are stupid enough to print it.

Hey for once he said we were safe, print it I say, its very rare if its ever happened before!

• Dry Rot

Elliott is a piece of walking excrement, but he might be right about this:

"If we are right in speculating that the next lot of TV rights might go down a bit, then the money floating around for clubs to be subsidised will disappear," he said on 3AW.
        Channel 9 is rooted, Channel 7 pretty sick and Channel 10 very unwell, all before the coming nasty recession will really hit their revenues.

It's difficult to see the next rights deal being anywhere near the amount of this current one.

Unless Foxtel take it all.

Originally posted by ledge
            WINNER!

There you go. The last piece of the puzzle for the AFL to go fully corporate. Good chance I reckon.

• Dry Rot

Originally posted by ledge
              Originally posted by 42-C-3
              WINNER!

There you go. The last piece of the puzzle for the AFL to go fully corporate. Good chance I reckon.
              Overlooking the anti-syphoning laws for a moment, why would Foxtel pay much for it?

The current and previous deals were the results of a serious bidding war, the next deal will not be.

Whilst I don't like Elliot, I did hear this segment on the radio, and thought that he was logical & constructive in his comments (first time ever).

He mentioned the reliance of monies from the AFL to keep the 3 nominated clubs afloat; however he eliminated the Bulldogs from being moved Interstate or folding - supporting the need for the club to represent the interests of the West. The first time I've ever heard him say something positive about the dogs.

He did suggest the Demons were the most prone to be moved to Tassie (with it's part time members and snow bunnies), but thought it wouldn't happen - moving a team named after the football capital.
                Which leaves North melbourne - strong at the moment with the Brayshaw momentum, but then ......

He doesn't like the idiots that almost sent Carlton broke (after he was moved on) - one being Smorgon of the Carlton breed - but was very complimentary towards the Smorgon of the Bulldog kind.

H

• MrMahatma

He’s not far off the mark I think – which just shows we need to get the stadium deal fixed sooner rather than later. Once that’s sorted we won’t need the subsidies.

• Missing-Dog

And the relevance of John Elliott is???????

"Mistah Elliott he W@nker" to borrow a line from TISM.

I agree - bring back Fox Footy..24/7 Footy = Happiness for me

Most of what he said is spot on about GC , WS18 and Tassie. Eventually VIctorian teams are going to fold. Like it or not.

Originally posted by jerry
                          Most of what he said is spot on about GC , WS18 and Tassie. Eventually VIctorian teams are going to fold. Like it or not.
                          Any suggestions which clubs will go first?

Originally posted by craigsahibee
                            And the relevance of John Elliott is???????

"Mistah Elliott he W@nker" to borrow a line from TISM.

They were talking about T.S. Elliot but the sentiment remains the same.

Originally posted by jerry

We've heard it all before Jerry. Theyve tried to do it before and failed.

It's a fallacy that only interstaters who dont truly understand the culture of football in Victoria and idiots with a barrow to push like Elliot that Melbourne cant support 9 teams.