• Scraggers
    Premiership Moderator

Re: Who was your VFA team?

Originally posted by Fossie 32
    I lived in Sunshine but only started following the footy about the time Sunshine FC folded. I recall the buzz when they won the flag and when Alan Stoneham went to Footscray.
    Have never been to a VFA match but liked watching them on the teev, mainly Willy when Danny DelRe and other Dogs players were there. It was good watching Bob Johnson of Oakleigh - basically just stood in the goal square and shoved opponents out and took heaps of marks and kicked a bag each week.
    'Big Bob' was the reason I started following East Fremantle when I first came over to Perth ... He was captain/coach of Old East for a number of years and topped the goal kicking a few times as well.

He was a beast of a man ... I met him through a mate a number of years ago at a past players function ... he had to be two metres tall ... He was huge !!

I remember he coached Greensborough for a couple of years too in the early 80s.
      One other bloke who i saw down a jug at the cricketers arms and you couldnt see the jug when he grabbed it was the great Whale Roberts.
      Another monster of a man!

• always right

Originally posted by ledge
        I remember he coached Greensborough for a couple of years too in the early 80s.
        One other bloke who i saw down a jug at the cricketers arms and you couldnt see the jug when he grabbed it was the great Whale Roberts.
        Another monster of a man!
        When the whale had the pub in South Melbourne many years back, I wandered in to find him sitting at the bar having a standard glass of beer. It looked like a thimble in his hand. When asked about it, he declared that his doctor had told him to cut back on his drinking so he decided that using a smaller glass would do the trick. All it meant is he finshed his beer in two mouthfuls.
        I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken.

Bucky was a star-no doubt about it. He could have been better than Doug Hawkins.
          Played cricket against Michael fairly talented cricketer. Looked like he didn't give a s*** though!Didn't Lenny Balcam play at Totty?

• Missing Dog

Originally posted by Remi Moses
            Played cricket against Michael fairly talented cricketer. Looked like he didn't give a s*** though!Didn't Lenny Balcam play at Totty?
            Yes Sheppa did look like he could not be bothered but I can tell you he was very competetive at everthing he did.I can't recall Lenny Balcam. Maybe Coon Dog,Ledge or Western Monkey can tell you

Originally posted by strebla
              Yes Sheppa did look like he could not be bothered but I can tell you he was very competetive at everthing he did.I can't recall Lenny Balcam. Maybe Coon Dog,Ledge or Western Monkey can tell you
              Yeah Lenny did play at Totty, was after my time there though. I did see him bowl and he at times turned it on...only after being smacked or sledged did he go to his full run...even well into his thirties he was bloody quick. I had never seen a wicketkeeper so far back in local cricket before. Glad I had moved on, would of been crapping myself just to bat at training!! I faced him at indoor once years ago...didn't see it at all.

Originally posted by western monkey
                Yeah Lenny did play at Totty, was after my time there though. I did see him bowl and he at times turned it on...only after being smacked or sledged did he go to his full run...even well into his thirties he was bloody quick. I had never seen a wicketkeeper so far back in local cricket before. Glad I had moved on, would of been crapping myself just to bat at training!! I faced him at indoor once years ago...didn't see it at all.
                I played on the next ground [now merv hughes oval]. Had the occassional glance at Lenny and the Totty boys,iwas also looking to the sky thanking the good lord i wasn't facing himThey went broke if i recall

Does that make you a Barkly Street guy? Makes my skin crawl just thinking of it!!

Originally posted by western monkey
                    Does that make you a Barkly Street guy? Makes my skin crawl just thinking of it!!
                    Yes guilty as charged.

• The Coon Dog

Yes guilty as charged.
                      That's much worse than supporting Manyoo!
                      [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

Who let him on this website??????

• Craig Spicer

My favorite team was YARRAVILLE. Lived opposite the Yarraville Oval all my life. Father was in the committee, mother in the ladies committee. Older brother was property steward for a few years.

I could never kick a football and only played one year in the under 12's (about 1969 era), that was my retirement year. Played under 12's with likes of Len Balcom who went on to play cricket with Footscray and Qld State side. Graham Jarry who is still with Yarraville Cricket Club, Colin Laffey (Dec), Greg Ward (father of Callum) and a few other locals.

Being born in 1957, I can remember the early days of Yarraville when they were a powerhouse in Division One. Some of the payers from those days were.
                          Martin Taurens (number 29)
                          Nino Quarantotto (number 37)
                          John Charles (25)
                          Bob Barr (9)
                          Alan (Bongo) Bongetti (1) (amazing high marking ability and great goalkicker)
                          Ron Warwick (Dec) (32)
                          Evan Rowe (12) (another great goalkicker). (Wore his number as a mascot for Yarraville)
                          Norm Madigan (7) (great rover)
                          Lou Dowling (still see him at Werribee games)
                          Jim Kemp (amazing goalkicker)
                          John Heriot (Captain Coach ex Sth Melb)
                          John Henderson (Captain/Coach ex Collingwood)
                          Bill Gunn (Coach and my next door neighbour) (Too young to remember his football days at Sth Melb. Some say he was one of the greatest) (grandfather of Callum Ward)
                          Towards the early 70's to the 80's recall players like
                          Micky Martin (very talented rover)
                          Wayne Squires
                          John Sharpe (great all round sportsman) (loved his supporters. Hated his rivals)
                          Colin Sampson
                          John Mutton
                          Fred Cook (won Listen then migrated to Port)
                          Len Cummins
                          Richard Radsminski (could play football)
                          Shane (Skitsa) Keogh (another one who had good talent)
                          Leigh Perrusich (Amazing mark and great talent but cut short due to injury)
                          Greg Ward (played many years with loyalty for the club)
                          Roland Rocatowich
                          Along came the major sponsors later in 70's being Masseys Holden. Many good players were lured to the club.
                          Mark Fotheringham (is there any better to put on boots at VFA level. this guy could kick a 70 metre topedo straight through the goals. Amazing footballer)
                          Kevin Sait (short guy but amazing rover)
                          Steve McGhie (Should have won the Browlow equivalent. Best full back I have ever seen)
                          Pat Wellington (Dec). Could kick a ball from the backline direct to Fothers)
                          David Thorpe (Another who could kick a ball)
                          George Bisset (gutzy rover from Footscray)
                          Stuart McGee
                          Lacka Laxton (always won the ruck)
                          Frog (cant remember his mane but had hands the size of a football)
                          Jim Ryan (Best reserves player ever seen)
                          Terry Breheney
                          Denis Pagen (he still will probably deny playing for the club but he was Captain/Coach)
                          Grant Simmons
                          Larry Ryan (great guy and is still probably leaning on his shovel whilst working with the Council)
                          Frank Lanciana
                          Les Twentymen (coach)
                          John Mcfetridge

Committee Clubman I remember are:
                          Old Stan D'Altera.
                          Lammie Dennis
                          Stan Curwood
                          John McTaggert
                          Lindsay Hargreaves
                          Nugget Curwood
                          Jocka Firth

Call me a name dropper but my list can go on and on. My weekend consisted of going to the then Footscray Oval, sitting in the EJ Whitten stand watching Footscray and Sundays at every Yarraville home game. Dad used to take me to many away games as well including, Brunswick, Geelong West, Oakeligh, Williamstown, Sandringham, Preston, Coburg, Werribee, Dandenong, Prahran, Mordialloc, Waverley, Port Melbourne and many other grounds.
                          My football highlights were watching Yarrivalle in their prime from 1997 to early 2000's when they should have won the 2nd Division Flag (bloody Mordialloc). It was rumoured that Sam Newman attended the Grand Final breakfast in 1977 at Yarraaville and stated that he would play for them but only if they won as he would not play in 2nd Division. They lost so we will probably never know of the truth in that rumour. Nothing beat staning on the outer watching Fothers kick many a goal in those days. What a great tem they were then. My highlights at Footscray was being present during Ted Whittens 321 game. It was a cold wintery day. Footscray played Hawthorn. The Hawthorn cheer squad made a run through banner for Ted but it ripped with the wind. Nice gesture but shocking weather on the day.

Lowlights were. In my life both Footscray or Yarraville have not won a premiership and the demise of Yarraville.

Yarraville Football Club were a large part of my life and I met so many wonderful people some I still see today.

I invte comments and replies form anyone who was affiliated with Yarraville Football Club in any way and apologise if I have missed any names. I am sure, if I put my mind to it that this list would be three times the size.

Go Dogs for 2009.

Great read Craig

• Desipura

Originally posted by Craig Spicer
                              My favorite team was YARRAVILLE. Lived opposite the Yarraville Oval all my life. Father was in the committee, mother in the ladies committee. Older brother was property steward for a few years.

I could never kick a football and only played one year in the under 12's (about 1969 era), that was my retirement year. Played under 12's with likes of Len Balcom who went on to play cricket with Footscray and Qld State side. Graham Jarry who is still with Yarraville Cricket Club, Colin Laffey (Dec), Greg Ward (father of Callum) and a few other locals.

Being born in 1957, I can remember the early days of Yarraville when they were a powerhouse in Division One. Some of the payers from those days were.
                              Martin Taurens (number 29)
                              Nino Quarantotto (number 37)
                              John Charles (25)
                              Bob Barr (9)
                              Alan (Bongo) Bongetti (1) (amazing high marking ability and great goalkicker)
                              Ron Warwick (Dec) (32)
                              Evan Rowe (12) (another great goalkicker). (Wore his number as a mascot for Yarraville)
                              Norm Madigan (7) (great rover)
                              Lou Dowling (still see him at Werribee games)
                              Jim Kemp (amazing goalkicker)
                              John Heriot (Captain Coach ex Sth Melb)
                              John Henderson (Captain/Coach ex Collingwood)
                              Bill Gunn (Coach and my next door neighbour) (Too young to remember his football days at Sth Melb. Some say he was one of the greatest) (grandfather of Callum Ward)
                              Towards the early 70's to the 80's recall players like
                              Micky Martin (very talented rover)
                              Wayne Squires
                              John Sharpe (great all round sportsman) (loved his supporters. Hated his rivals)
                              Colin Sampson
                              John Mutton
                              Fred Cook (won Listen then migrated to Port)
                              Len Cummins
                              Richard Radsminski (could play football)
                              Shane (Skitsa) Keogh (another one who had good talent)
                              Leigh Perrusich (Amazing mark and great talent but cut short due to injury)
                              Greg Ward (played many years with loyalty for the club)
                              Roland Rocatowich
                              Along came the major sponsors later in 70's being Masseys Holden. Many good players were lured to the club.
                              Mark Fotheringham (is there any better to put on boots at VFA level. this guy could kick a 70 metre topedo straight through the goals. Amazing footballer)
                              Kevin Sait (short guy but amazing rover)
                              Steve McGhie (Should have won the Browlow equivalent. Best full back I have ever seen)
                              Pat Wellington (Dec). Could kick a ball from the backline direct to Fothers)
                              David Thorpe (Another who could kick a ball)
                              George Bisset (gutzy rover from Footscray)
                              Stuart McGee
                              Lacka Laxton (always won the ruck)
                              Frog (cant remember his mane but had hands the size of a football)
                              Jim Ryan (Best reserves player ever seen)
                              Terry Breheney
                              Denis Pagen (he still will probably deny playing for the club but he was Captain/Coach)
                              Grant Simmons
                              Larry Ryan (great guy and is still probably leaning on his shovel whilst working with the Council)
                              Frank Lanciana
                              Les Twentymen (coach)
                              John Mcfetridge

Committee Clubman I remember are:
                              Old Stan D'Altera.
                              Lammie Dennis
                              Stan Curwood
                              John McTaggert
                              Lindsay Hargreaves
                              Nugget Curwood
                              Jocka Firth

Call me a name dropper but my list can go on and on. My weekend consisted of going to the then Footscray Oval, sitting in the EJ Whitten stand watching Footscray and Sundays at every Yarraville home game. Dad used to take me to many away games as well including, Brunswick, Geelong West, Oakeligh, Williamstown, Sandringham, Preston, Coburg, Werribee, Dandenong, Prahran, Mordialloc, Waverley, Port Melbourne and many other grounds.
                              My football highlights were watching Yarrivalle in their prime from 1997 to early 2000's when they should have won the 2nd Division Flag (bloody Mordialloc). It was rumoured that Sam Newman attended the Grand Final breakfast in 1977 at Yarraaville and stated that he would play for them but only if they won as he would not play in 2nd Division. They lost so we will probably never know of the truth in that rumour. Nothing beat staning on the outer watching Fothers kick many a goal in those days. What a great tem they were then. My highlights at Footscray was being present during Ted Whittens 321 game. It was a cold wintery day. Footscray played Hawthorn. The Hawthorn cheer squad made a run through banner for Ted but it ripped with the wind. Nice gesture but shocking weather on the day.

Lowlights were. In my life both Footscray or Yarraville have not won a premiership and the demise of Yarraville.

Yarraville Football Club were a large part of my life and I met so many wonderful people some I still see today.

I invte comments and replies form anyone who was affiliated with Yarraville Football Club in any way and apologise if I have missed any names. I am sure, if I put my mind to it that this list would be three times the size.

Go Dogs for 2009.
                              Craig, I used to work with Pots (Graham Jarry) and I am in a fantasy footy type comp against him, good bloke

• easybeat

Williamstown.
                                My cousins grew up there, playing at willy. My cousin was good mates with Ian Fairley.