• Big Will

Re: Footy Stock Exchange

Originally posted by hujsh
    I'll set up a Woof one but i fell it should be a democratic process

DECISION ONE
    Choose Head-to-Head if you want teams to play against each other each week, just like the AFL. These leagues will culminate in a finals series.
    Choose Rotisserie if you want teams to be ranked based on their overall performance, the team on top of the ladder at round 22 is crowned premiers.

DECISION TWO
    Category based like last year. Where kicks, handballs, hitouts, frees for, goals ect have a category. Win one category for a point. Win the most categories you beat the team.
    Choose points based to have each stat weighted for a number of points eg handballs =2 kicks =3. Most points wins

Any feedback from anyone interested would be great. I like the head to head category based version like last year for a change from other DT comps.
    Do we have a league yet? I'm keen! ... if you haven't already made a league I vote for head to head, category based scoring.

LEAGUE: woof

PASSWORD: rocket

Date for draft is one week from now at 7pm. put in rankings if you can't be available

went for the category based, head to head way.

The league can be edited by me as well if there are any specific details you want to recommend (it is quite detailed)
      Last edited by hujsh; 03-03-2009, 06:28 PM.

• Big Will

I'm in as Big Will. If anyone else is interested please sign up now www.ultimatefooty.com

• soupman

Judging by the lack of league participants I wonder if anybody other than us three even look at this thread. Maybe there should be a seperate thread created.

Done one.

Our own soupaman is doing good in this game. Dogs were the 2nd richest supporters before the GC randomly became an option.

I'm doing ok (mainly cause i bought so much of Higgins stock) but can find it difficult understanding how the prices are calculated. Picken lost value after his game against North (indicating stats/DT points are all people look at) and Skipper is more expensive than Hudson and Minson.

• soupman

Our own soupaman is doing good in this game. Dogs were the 2nd richest supporters before the GC randomly became an option.

I'm doing ok (mainly cause i bought so much of Higgins stock) but can find it difficult understanding how the prices are calculated. Picken lost value after his game against North (indicating stats/DT points are all people look at) and Skipper is more expensive than Hudson and Minson.
                Firstly, thanks for noticing. I currently sit in 70th, but had a bad night last night courtesy of Carlton and David Myers not doing as well as hoped (Myers lost me 630 fake dollars).

The prices go up or down not just based on popularity, but performance. As its based on dream team points, anything above a certain amount would increase the value, and anything below a certain amount would decrease it. Thats why Picken's value, despite being very low, went even lower. He scored well below the break even point, so therefore lost alot of value.

I'm not entirely sure how this works though, and whether its easier for those with lower values to increase. I would assume so though.

Thats why basically, to make as much money as you can, load up on stocks for the Friday night game, then once that game is over sell all those stocks and buy for the Saturday arvo games. Then sell and buy for Sat night, and sunday arvo (and even sunday evening if you can make it). Don't feel any attachment to any player because you won't make more than $20 by hanging onto them throughout the week, but stand to make up to $200 off the same funds if you re invest them wisely for the next match. Likewise don't let the sellers fee put you off selling, just cut your losses and move onto the next player. If you do this you'll find yourself rocketing up the charts.

New leader as far as i can tell is HAB-54 with Soupaman behind me ATM (though my Griffin/Dogs stocks may fall if the game doesn't turn soon)

Maybe a WOOF comp could be set up if enough CBF joining

• soupman

I've gone completely to shit this week. Pretty much every stock I bought lost, so I've lost $4,000 since Friday, and haven't checked how the Bulldogs loss affected me yet, so I could be right back to the bottom.

I made a few gains and only lost $1,000 from the Doggies/Griff so I'm about $500 less overall which is pretty reasonable.

• Rocket Science

Struth...hadn't checked the site for a couple of weeks when I was ranked around 600 or so from memory...logged in this eve to discover the portfolio's since exploded past the $17k mark and I'm currently sitting 98th, while the Dogs are top of the ladder in average portfolio value.

Originally posted by soupaman
                          Firstly, thanks for noticing. I currently sit in 70th, but had a bad night last night courtesy of Carlton and David Myers not doing as well as hoped (Myers lost me 630 fake dollars).

The prices go up or down not just based on popularity, but performance. As its based on dream team points, anything above a certain amount would increase the value, and anything below a certain amount would decrease it. Thats why Picken's value, despite being very low, went even lower. He scored well below the break even point, so therefore lost alot of value.

I'm not entirely sure how this works though, and whether its easier for those with lower values to increase. I would assume so though.

Thats why basically, to make as much money as you can, load up on stocks for the Friday night game, then once that game is over sell all those stocks and buy for the Saturday arvo games. Then sell and buy for Sat night, and sunday arvo (and even sunday evening if you can make it). Don't feel any attachment to any player because you won't make more than $20 by hanging onto them throughout the week, but stand to make up to $200 off the same funds if you re invest them wisely for the next match. Likewise don't let the sellers fee put you off selling, just cut your losses and move onto the next player. If you do this you'll find yourself rocketing up the charts.
                          I find that wise investments early in the week (or even on a Thursday night) can net a decent profit before the matches begin.

I bought a ton of J.Grant stocks and have a 68$ profit which should ensure i don't loose money if he plays bad. He would have to play a god awful match to loose value at his price though

• soupman

I find that wise investments early in the week (or even on a Thursday night) can net a decent profit before the matches begin.

I bought a ton of J.Grant stocks and have a 68$ profit which should ensure i don't loose money if he plays bad. He would have to play a god awful match to loose value at his price though
                            You can probably disregard all my advise now after I've disgraced myself these last two weeks. I peaked at $19,000 two weeks ago, but since then lost about $6,000. I'm slowly recovering. And as for my Bigfooty one, I hit $7,000 and am slowly going back up now.

• soupman

For those that are interested I have created a competition for Woof members (I know its a bit late, but why not). Should make it easier to track eachother's progress and is based on money gain from now I believe, so nobody gets much of a headstart apart from the money they can invest.

Its called: Woof (Whitten Oval Online Forum)

The invite code is 912151

If the Dogs could win a game I may start making profits again