• KT31
    • Jul 2008

Re: Mike Sheahan's Top 50

For years Sheehan never rated West and then at the end of his career apologised for underating him.
    Me thinks he will end up doing the same to Cross.

• KT31
      • Jul 2008

Ablett can have top spot if Cooney can have the Brownlows.

Sheehan said Cross was his hardest to miss out but did explain because he cant kick, a good answer i think . You cant get in the top 50 if you cant make the distance from 30 metres out.
        He said everything else he does is great though.

Originally posted by KT31
          Agree on Brown, but Pavlich ,although has heaps of ability, only performs when his team is in front.
          And for this reason should be lower or not on the listya at all.
          Cross,Lake and Gilbee stiff on missing a spot.
          Kidding about Pav dropping off the list altogether.

Can tear a game apart off his own boot, despite playing for most of his career in front of one of the most hopeless midfield combinations in recent memory -- if he were playing for a big club like Collingwood or Carlton, or for any half decent team he would be considered the best, most complete player in town, ahead of Judd, ahead of Abblett, ahead of Franklin.

If Pav played for the Dogs, with Aker and Johnno and Murph and Gia crumbing off him while he kicked 5 or so goals and picked up 25 possessions every game, we would be sitting on three or four premierships by now.

Did I see Cyril Rioli named in the top 50 in the paper?

Originally posted by lemmon
              Daniel Cross, Scott Thompson and David Hille are the big ommisions for me. 2 BnF winners and a very good midfielder.
              Thompson easily in front of Gibbs. Even on potential I'd back Thompson's output to be better than Gibbs this year, even ignoring the fact Thompson will get tagged at some stage, whilst Gibbs would be 3rd tagged behind Judd & Murphy, with Scotland getting a run-with player as well if he plays as their quarterback.

Did I see Cyril Rioli named in the top 50 in the paper?
                50 Bryce Gibbs
                49 Grant Birchall
                48 Kane Cornes
                47 Cyril Rioli
                46 Drew Petrie
                45 Chance Bateman
                44 Brendon Goddard
                43 Travis Cloke
                42 Ryan Griffen
                41 Brett Deledio
                40 Simon Goodwin

Stole this from a thread on BF, assume the orginal poster copied it correctly.

I didn't know today was April 1?

• mighty_west
                  • Feb 2008

In fairness to Mike, this is just a prediction for '09 top 50 isn't it? if we got all Woof posters to submit their own 50, i bet they would all be different, and most would have players in or out that others would disagree with.

Saying that, no Cross? He was stiff not to get All Australian honours, also thought Hille & Thompson were stiff, J Selwood could easily be top 5 by the end of the season, and if Higgins has the break through season we are all hoping for, he could also sneak a birth in the 50.

I thought it was the comps top 50 players mighty west

Originally posted by hujsh
                      I thought it was the comps top 50 players mighty west
                      I think Mighty West is right, the pre season is his prediction for the upcoming season and the end of season is his top 50 from the season just gone.

• The Underdog

Originally posted by KT31
                        Agree on Brown, but Pavlich ,although has heaps of ability, only performs when his team is in front.
                        And for this reason should be lower or not on the listya at all.
                        Cross,Lake and Gilbee stiff on missing a spot.
                        He performs far more often than his team is in front and if it gets there it's often because of him. I think you're confusing him with Des Headland. If Pavlich isn't a top 20 player in this comp then I'll sew my mouth shut and cut off my fingers. If Freo are a basket case with him then they'd be certifiable without.

Oh and if it's Mike's prediction for 09 then apparently he thinks Scott Thompson will do a knee or get leukemia or gout or something. Or maybe he just forgot about him cos he spent like 3 minutes writing it out between his shopping and listing optometrists.
                        (I stand by what I said earlier, this is pointless posturing to try and create interest in a newspaper equal to the "NT News" in quality.)

• Bumper Bulldogs
                          • Apr 2008

Originally posted by Dantè Hicks
                          10. Scarlett

Way too high.
                          Spot on he is used as per J.Bowden at Richmond was. Easy to get cheap kicks knowing the others have your man covered.
                          BB.

Looking forward - Naughton, Darcy and JUH. It will be the envy of everyone.

• bold-dogg

If it's speculation for the season ahead, I'd have Cooney higher and Griffen around 21.
                            Our footy journo's are just hacks. At the start of every season their ladder predictions are always identical to how teams finished the year before, with a slight change around the bottom of the 8. For guys that spend their whole lives around footy clubs they seem to lack any insight at all.
                            Bulldog Belle and some of our other senior Woofers seem to watch the game closer, and are better writers too.

• Bumper Bulldogs
                              • Apr 2008

[QUOTE=BulldogBelle;73512] Well the top 5 are OK
                              1. Gary Ablett Jr
                              2. Chris Judd
                              3. Lance Franklin
                              4. Dean Cox
                              5. Luke Hodge

The next 5 incorrect
                              6. Brendan Fevola
                              7. Jonathon Brown
                              8. Nick Reiwoldt
                              9. Matthew Pavlich
                              10. Matthew Scarlett

Should be like this
                              6. Adam Cooney
                              7. B Harvey
                              8. S Mitchell
                              9. Jonathan Brown
                              10. N Reiwoldt
                              BB.

Looking forward - Naughton, Darcy and JUH. It will be the envy of everyone.

• lemmon

Originally posted by Bumper Bulldogs
                                Spot on he is used as per J.Bowden at Richmond was. Easy to get cheap kicks knowing the others have your man covered.
                                Dissagree mate, completely differant types of players. Scarletts main weapon is his run and dash from the backline, his possesions hurt the opposition where Bowden is an accumulator. Anyway Im not sure i can remember the last time Geelong chipped the ball around the backline, completely against there style of play which relies on rapid ball movement.