• The Underdog

Re: Freo?

I'm way out in the south eastern suburbs and there's bugger all decent places to watch footy that I've found.
    I went to the local pub to watch the Docker's game last year and it was on a tiny TV with the sound off. I left at half time, it was better on the radio.

• Sockeye Salmon

Originally posted by The Underdog
      I'm way out in the south eastern suburbs and there's bugger all decent places to watch footy that I've found.
      I went to the local pub to watch the Docker's game last year and it was on a tiny TV with the sound off. I left at half time, it was better on the radio.
      I go to the Matthew Flinders in Warrigul Rd if I've got my little bloke with me because of the playground. No sound but that's not always a bad thing.

• Ozza

Originally posted by Rocket Science
        Will confess this to be long-standing passion of mine and like-minded mates...A good 'footy-friendly' pub is both a rare and indispensible thing these days.

The Rose Hotel, Napier St Fitzroy is a time-honoured standout...honest food, multiple teevs and a demonstrated commitment to the footy. Can get a shade crowded for Fri/Sat night games but when three quarters of the joint is there for the game it's akin to being in the outer.

Another tucked away gem is the Grandview in Pearson St, West Brunswick...more low key than The Rose if you prefer to simply sit and watch your team get flogged in relative peace.

The Royal Oak, cnr Nicholson and Freeman in Fitzroy Nth is another solid option...big screen, standard pub grub and no nonsense...the joint actually smells like a pub used to.

Percy's (ex-Blue Percy Jones' joint), cnr Lygon and Elgin goes alright if you can land some real estate near the telly...you may have to (politely) ask Perc' to move over though.

The Moreland, cnr Sydney & Moreland Rd Coburg is nothing flash but a goer...also inhabited by some amusingly shonky punters if you're into people watching.

If you can stand the pissed moron element there's also The Quarry up the Brunswick end of Lygon Street...strictly in the 'avoid unless desperate' category.

Over the other side of town The Royal in Barkly St, Footscray can also get the job done in a pinch.
        Thanks for the tip on the Grandview - I'll be living about 50 metres from there in about 18 months time - so good to know there's a good footy pub nearby.

I don't think I could watch the footy at the Moreland ever again though! For a pot or two and a punt its fine - but couldn't watch the footy there again!

• Rocket Science

No probs at all...Grandview's also been known to indulge in the odd 'lock-in' if you're suitably behaved and partial to a drink after official closing hours. Run by a very accommodating bunch.

UNDERDOG, re: South-Eastern suburbs... What's the name of the place on the corner of Dandenong Rd and Glenferrie Rd? May be a TAB.. It's a pretty good one -- quiet and tired, but it's usually quite empty and they turn up the volume of anything you ask them to because there's no one to hassle.

Watched last year's Freo game there actually, so pretty timely...

Never been to it, but there's also the Zegame's they always advertise on SEN on Dandenong Rd.

I'm usually at the Richmond pubs. They all show footy. But I'm in West Footscray for the next couple of months, so local Doggy pubs for me!

ps. Is there anywhere at the Whitten Oval showing it? The Social Club is closed/gone right?

• Sockeye Salmon

Originally posted by Lantern
              UNDERDOG, re: South-Eastern suburbs... What's the name of the place on the corner of Dandenong Rd and Glenferrie Rd? May be a TAB.. It's a pretty good one -- quiet and tired, but it's usually quite empty and they turn up the volume of anything you ask them to because there's no one to hassle.

Watched last year's Freo game there actually, so pretty timely...

Never been to it, but there's also the Zegame's they always advertise on SEN on Dandenong Rd.

I'm usually at the Richmond pubs. They all show footy. But I'm in West Footscray for the next couple of months, so local Doggy pubs for me!

ps. Is there anywhere at the Whitten Oval showing it? The Social Club is closed/gone right?
              Zagames advertise their Kids club but the playground is around the corner from the TV. You can either watch the kids or the game but not both at once.

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
                Zagames advertise their Kids club but the playground is around the corner from the TV. You can either watch the kids or the game but not both at once.
                Isn't that what those big ball pits are for?

For those around St albans, Keilor Downs etc, i go to the sports bar at the Watergardens pub, watched a couple of games at the Old Keilor pub too.
                  The old Keilor has a kids area.
                  Taylors Lakes pub isnt too bad either.

• always right

Originally posted by The Underdog
                    Try the Mulgrave Country Club on the corner of Wellington Rd and Jells Rd. There's a good size private room with a decent size screen. Normally a few doggie supporters there to keep you company.
                    I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken.

• The Underdog

I go to the Matthew Flinders in Warrigul Rd if I've got my little bloke with me because of the playground. No sound but that's not always a bad thing.
                      I'll keep it in mind. My young'uns still borderline age for play equipment, especially late in the day and it's still a good 30 minute drive but there's sfa around me.

Isn't that what the missus is for.

Kidding!

• Sockeye Salmon

Originally posted by Lantern
                          Isn't that what the missus is for.

Kidding!
                          Missus is a nurse who works some very inconvenient shofts!

Edit: I just wrote 'shofts' instead of 'shifts' and my missus is a Kiwi. That's funny.

Missus is a nurse who works some very inconvenient shofts!

Edit: I just wrote 'shofts' instead of 'shifts' and my missus is a Kiwi. That's funny.
                            Haha. I'm hanging out with a Kiwi bloke today, so it's pretty topical.

Hospitals are usually pretty good places for free cable isn't it? Your missus doesn't have Foxtel where she is? I grew up in a hospital (both parents were docs) and spent a lot of time around hospital staff rooms.

I remember when I had my knee reco (done by the same bloke who did Luke Darcy's knee, a week after Luke had his first one done...) just watching ESPN and Foxsports from my hospital bed all day.

East West Club is having a get together at the Mulgrave Country Club to watch the match

Originally posted by Rocket Science
                                Will confess this to be long-standing passion of mine and like-minded mates...A good 'footy-friendly' pub is both a rare and indispensible thing these days.

The Rose Hotel, Napier St Fitzroy is a time-honoured standout...honest food, multiple teevs and a demonstrated commitment to the footy. Can get a shade crowded for Fri/Sat night games but when three quarters of the joint is there for the game it's akin to being in the outer.

Another tucked away gem is the Grandview in Pearson St, West Brunswick...more low key than The Rose if you prefer to simply sit and watch your team get flogged in relative peace.

The Royal Oak, cnr Nicholson and Freeman in Fitzroy Nth is another solid option...big screen, standard pub grub and no nonsense...the joint actually smells like a pub used to.

Percy's (ex-Blue Percy Jones' joint), cnr Lygon and Elgin goes alright if you can land some real estate near the telly...you may have to (politely) ask Perc' to move over though.

The Moreland, cnr Sydney & Moreland Rd Coburg is nothing flash but a goer...also inhabited by some amusingly shonky punters if you're into people watching.

If you can stand the pissed moron element there's also The Quarry up the Brunswick end of Lygon Street...strictly in the 'avoid unless desperate' category.

Over the other side of town The Royal in Barkly St, Footscray can also get the job done in a pinch.
                                Big-ups for the suggestions mate.

Considering a boozer in Willy or Yarraville at this stage. I know that the Vic Inn on Dougie Parade is a Doggies pub so it's a fairly safe bet. A shame there's nothing in the Flemington area really. I would much rather prefer stumbling home after necking pints watching my beloved Scraggers. Forget the name of the joint in Yarraville, it's a dive - but really I'm only there to catch a game for a couple hours. Either one of those two methinks.