Game Day - Bulldogs vs Dockers
Re: Game Day - Bulldogs vs Dockers
Latern I am interest to know what roll you think addison plays and who he is competing with because everyone I see him competing with you have shut down.Doing my best to use emojis more frequently :oComment
However, as may often be the case that against more flexible teams without a specialist small forward, Tiller and Everitt will be needed and Callan will not have an obvious direct opponent and find it hard to get in the 22.
(This all assumes a fully fit team. Defence group is generally made up of Lake, Hargrave, Morris, Williams, Gilbee, Tiller, Everitt and Callan to fill 6 + 1 spots [6 start, 1 on bench] depending on opposition, all with ear-marked roles, with scope for flexibility. Dylan has been training with both defence and midfield groups over pre-season, with eye towards much more midfield time, but with the flexibility to swing back when required.)Comment
Tiller got caught out of position a couple of times in the first quarter,but battled back for the rest of the game and showed he can hold down the position, he works hard.
Tim Callan probably won't be fit for the next round. The word out is that Murphy will be given more time, it could be up to round 4 before we see him playing.Comment
Is seen as a vital cog in the structure because he has the flexibility to come off the bench to essentially play a couple of roles:
1. Shore up the hardness of the midfield as cover for Boydy and Cross via the interchange, as the in-and-under ball-winning ability of the midfield falls away after those two guys.
2. Able to go back at a pinch to help out the defence with any 'swingmen' the opposition might throw forward.
DFA starts on the bench, and is crucial to maintaining the intensity of the contest in the middle when some of the starting midfielders come off. No one else on the list really does this, while having the flexibility to help out in defence. Rocket has been documented to lament Dylan's loss last year as particularly devastating to the Dogs' finals hopes.Comment
Those with more direct access to Rocket please correct me if I'm wrong, but my understanding is that he provides the grunt in the hole, moving forward into midfield or swinging back as required.
Is seen as a vital cog in the structure because he has the flexibility to come off the bench to essentially play a couple of roles:
1. Shore up the hardness of the midfield as cover for Boydy and Cross via the interchange, as the in-and-under ball-winning ability of the midfield falls away after those two guys.
2. Able to go back at a pinch to help out the defence with any 'swingmen' the opposition might throw forward.
DFA starts on the bench, and is crucial to maintaining the intensity of the contest in the middle when some of the starting midfielders come off. No one else on the list really does this, while having the flexibility to help out in defence. Rocket has been documented to lament Dylan's loss last year as particularly devastating to the Dogs' finals hopes.
His disopsal is improving, but still isn't great, but his tackling and courage make him a stable member of our best 22.Comment
IF Murph is right to play next week, I imagine Everitt might be under the most pressure to make way. He was okay tonight but nothing great. Ward's last quarter was a beauty and should be enough to keep his spot after a fairly quiet first three quarters. Hill is an important player....provides so many options for Eade whether he be up forward, on the wing or floating around the ground. Reckon his spot is safe as he has the X factor that you need in our team, and because we don't have a true key forward we need a bloke who can take a grab like Hill can.Comment
his disposal efficiency last night was 53%(by far the worst in the side and second worst of any player on the ground) he had 3 clangers from his 15 stats including one he kick out on the full under no pressure over 20 metres, I am sorry but he just has to hit that target every time. Their is no way he can be called a "stable member" until his disposal improves a lot.Doing my best to use emojis more frequently :oComment
his disposal efficiency last night was 53%(by far the worst in the side and second worst of any player on the ground) he had 3 clangers from his 15 stats including one he kick out on the full under no pressure over 20 metres, I am sorry but he just has to hit that target every time. Their is no way he can be called a "stable member" until his disposal improves a lot.I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken.Comment
Rocket Science: the epitaph for the Beveridge era - whenever it ends - reading 'Here lies a team that could beat anyone on its day, but seldom did when it mattered most'. 15/7/2023Comment
his disposal efficiency last night was 53%(by far the worst in the side and second worst of any player on the ground) he had 3 clangers from his 15 stats including one he kick out on the full under no pressure over 20 metres, I am sorry but he just has to hit that target every time. Their is no way he can be called a "stable member" until his disposal improves a lot.I should leave it alone but you're not rightComment
Apart from being a great team effort the player to impress me most last night was Mathew Boyd.
He just gets better and better each season and last night his reflexes in cutting off passes that were going to the opposition was sensational.
Also his ability to effect constructive handleballs with either hand is top shelf and his kicking is improving too. He is such an important midfielder to us now and I just love his work ethic.Comment
Callan is a different type of player to the other 3 mentioned here. Callan plays on the dangerous crumbing smalls; the Davey's, Rioli's, Farmer's and Davis'. None of the other players mentioned have the pace, positioning ability or turning circle to match it with any of these guys. Shanggy is the only other viable option but he is more suited to the Brad Johnson type of players (the Medhurst's). Fremantle didn't have any real dangerous small forwards that Callan would normally take, but North have heaps (Thomas, Campbell and even Harvey). Thats why Callan if fit should be brought into the side.
Agree with every thing you said, my point was callan should be in the side but he his unlikely to replace everitt or tiller because of the different role they play, but addison plays a similar role so he may replace him.
Addison is in the side for his hardness and attack at the footy, and his love of a physical contest. He's the sort of player we have lacked in the last few years, someone who genuinely will hurt the opposition. He's the type of player every side wants for the finals. Yes, his disposal can be shoddy but generally its acceptable, and the benefits to the side he offers (which are almost solely brought by him) outweigh any negatives.Doing my best to use emojis more frequently :oComment
Apart from being a great team effort the player to impress me most last night was Mathew Boyd.
He just gets better and better each season and last night his reflexes in cutting off passes that were going to the opposition was sensational.
Also his ability to effect constructive handleballs with either hand is top shelf and his kicking is improving too. He is such an important midfielder to us now and I just love his work ethic.
I ccouldn't agree more some of his handballs last night were voss likeDoing my best to use emojis more frequently :oComment