Match Preview - Western Bulldogs v Richmond - R3
Re: Match Preview - Western Bulldogs v Richmond - R3
I just think the Bulldogs have more good players than Richmond & will win. Obviously the Bulldogs have to stop Matthew Richardson. Do that & they’re half way there, whereas Richmond on the other hand have to stop more than just one player. Allow Griffen, Gilbee, Boyd, Cross, Higgins, Cooney & Giansiracusa to run through the middle unmolested & you’re asking for trouble, on the other hand, try matching them up & you run the risk of having no one to kick to if you do win possession.[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]Comment
Sure.
Richardson is one of the elite bigmen in the competion. He is a fantastic contested mark, a physical player and has got a massive engine. He runs all day and when he pushes forward we find him quite difficult to negate. He is a great pack mark and also good on a lead, he is a smart footballer and has destroyed us, time and time again.
Everitt is a kid who has basically played games based on his potential and hasn't really stepped up to the mark thus far. He has shown that he is not a very accountable player and doesn't really like the body contest. If he was caught out against Richo in a marking duel he would get eaten alive. Everitt's decision making has shown to be quite suspect and that's too much of a risk against one of the best forwards of our time.
A run with role against richo would a very defensive task and unfortunately Everitt just hasn't got a defensive side to his game. Sure, he looks great in space with the ball in his hands but he is not muture enough, strong enough or defensively minded enough to play on Richo.
I know what you are saying in terms of hurting him going the other way, but the first objective must be to stop him, remember, this is a player that is renound for saving his best game of the year until he meets us.
Hope that helps.Comment
Sure.
Richardson is one of the elite bigmen in the competion. He is a fantastic contested mark, a physical player and has got a massive engine. He runs all day and when he pushes forward we find him quite difficult to negate. He is a great pack mark and also good on a lead, he is a smart footballer and has destroyed us, time and time again.
Everitt is a kid who has basically played games based on his potential and hasn't really stepped up to the mark thus far. He has shown that he is not a very accountable player and doesn't really like the body contest. If he was caught out against Richo in a marking duel he would get eaten alive. Everitt's decision making has shown to be quite suspect and that's too much of a risk against one of the best forwards of our time.
A run with role against richo would a very defensive task and unfortunately Everitt just hasn't got a defensive side to his game. Sure, he looks great in space with the ball in his hands but he is not muture enough, strong enough or defensively minded enough to play on Richo.
I know what you are saying in terms of hurting him going the other way, but the first objective must be to stop him, remember, this is a player that is renound for saving his best game of the year until he meets us.
Hope that helps."Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"Comment
Agree 100% TAMA. I reckon the best players equipped to blunt Richo's effectiveness are the smaller players who have the capability to go with him, both from a speed and endurance perspective. The bigger slower players generally speaking don't have the engine nor the speed off the mark to go with Richo and generally get carved up as a result.
I'd reckon we'd give Tommy the first crack at him. He's reasonably athletic, and has the body to boot.- I'm a visionary - Only here to confirm my biases -Comment
What do you want me to explain?
He'd be a good choice primarily because of his athleticism and pace off the mark - his height is an added bonus."Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"Comment
Sorry, read that back and it sounded a little vicious.
I was referring to the game last week, where Bartel and Richo went head to head, with Bartel getting smashed and shrugged off at the contests with the utmost of ease.- I'm a visionary - Only here to confirm my biases -Comment
No dramas, I didn't watch the Geelong Richmond game last week so I had no idea that they went head-to-head. Bartel doesn't exactly cover the ground all that quickly so I'm actually very surprised he went to Richo, who would have Bartel well covered in pace off the mark."Look at me mate. Look at me. I'm flyin'"Comment
As far as match ups go this is what I would like to see.
Picken vs Foley
Eade has backed Liam in for a second game and Foley is a simmilar hard, short, hard running player, also Richmond don't actually know how to block for each other, so Picken should get a clear run at a tagging role. I would love to see if he can back up and do it again.
Cross/Boyd vs Deledio
Cross and Boyd could roatate on Deledio who is a tough matchup due to his height, speed, spring strength. If they rest him forward then Addison or Morris might go to him.
Williams/Lake/The forward line vs Richo Man
Much as Eade suggesting this has made me think it won't actually happen (Ducks and Drakes perhaps??) I would like to see Williams start on Richo and try to run with him beyond the 50. If they rest Richo forward then Lake may take Richo and Williams could go to Lake's opponent (Shultz??).
The swap will only work if the defense can swap at a stoppage if we try to transition defence with the ball in play there is to much to go wrong unless we play a spare man back.
I would also like to see Brian/Tommygun try to counter-attack off the back line if Richarson tries to rest there, as Lake did on Barry Hall in last year's finals series. This may stop them feeling comfortable resting Richo in the forward line and he may need more bench time.
Also if we keep honoring the lead to our small fast forwards, Richo will not be effective playing the sweeper in defence, as he did a bit last year.
Thus we can have a whole ground anti-Richo approach designed to ruin his day (mostly unneccesary as Richmond ruin his day pretty well on their own).Comment
Sure.
Hope that helps.
IMO Everitts foot skills would put Richo to the sword more then Williams but in saying that I would still give Tommy first crack.Comment
I would have thought Harvey has more gut running and love for the footy than Brownie and as far as being too clever, Harvey would rate as good as Brownie in that department too i would have thought.Bring back the biffComment
Dogs by 24 points. Hard fought tussle,we have to make the most of their turnovers.Geelong didn't do that last week,they should have won that game Geelong were running in cement.Comment