So many reasons to love last night...
Re: So many reasons to love last night...
All are different in many ways, but gee they have some talent. I can't wait for the day that these 3 are at the peak of their powers.Comment
Still not well Ozza, thanks for asking. Back off to the doc's today so hopefully I'll know more later on today.[COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]Comment
Can't pick any midfielder on the Hawks list who comes close to Higgo for class.Western Bulldogs: 2016 PremiersComment
All the best mate. Actually Dad and I both nearly didn't make it - he was crook also and I did my knee at footy on Saturday - so we were walking wounded but glad we decided to get there.Comment
[COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]Comment
Did say last year that talented, undisciplined teams may have their moment in the sun, but they never maintain their level for very long. Hawthorn, and Franklin in particular, was never going to make the most of their talent or be able to stay at their peak for very long with their off-field lifestyles and crappy attitudes.. I did say that they had better win last year when they were 'up' because that would be their only opportunity for a long time, credit to them for stealing the GF, but I think they'll just be dangerous floaters for the next decade.Comment
One small thing I noticed last game.
3rd Quarter, Johnson has the ball, Hawks have one opponent who can effect the contest. Griffen runs hard for a handball receive in the F50.
Johnson loops the ball over, Griffen takes his eyes off the ball, scans the F50, then looks at the ball again when it gets to him.
He takes it cleanly, and because he scanned the F50, knows exactly how much time he has to stady & kick the ball. Of coruse, he times it perfectly & kicks the goal.
Situational Awarness is a term stressed to military aviators, it seems Griffen had that innate understanding of how important it was to timing & positioning. It probably sounds like such a small thing to notice but I was very impressed. A lesser player would have watched the flight of the ball, panicked when he got it, rushed the shot and possibly fluffed it.Comment
One that I just remembered after watching the replay (something I'm still not sick of doing).
Johnno's rugby union 'chip 'n' chase' late in the last quarter with no teammates in front of him. Almost came off too, the kick was that well weighted. Matt Giteau would have been proud.Comment
One that I just remembered after watching the replay (something I'm still not sick of doing).
Johnno's rugby union 'chip 'n' chase' late in the last quarter with no teammates in front of him. Almost came off too, the kick was that well weighted. Matt Giteau would have been proud.Our 1954 premiership players are our heroes, and it has to be said that Charlie was their hero.Comment
Johnno's rugby union 'chip 'n' chase' late in the last quarter with no teammates in front of him. Almost came off too, the kick was that well weighted. Matt Giteau would have been proud.
Yeah I remember that. It's just a shame that it was Franklin he had to have the foot race against, a couple of years ago Johnno would have burnt anyone in the AFL in that race for the ball but he's lost a yard or two the last couple of seasons.They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
I haven't noticed Johnno lose any of his pace. In fact, when he burnt off two Richmond players a few weeks ago to run in and kcik one from the goal line it reminded me how quick he still is.Comment
Yeah but they were only Richmond players...
He's still pretty quick but he doesnt have that uberpace past the first 5 or 10 metres that he used to have. A couple of times this year he's tried to pull off his signature play-the one where he will edge his opponent under the ball in the marking contest and then turn, gather and speed away at pace toward goal-and it hasnt come off.They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment