• The Adelaide Connection

Best Footy Shows

After watching the footy show tonight I couldn't help but feel a lot of the gimmicks and comedy was a little tired and, well, didn't work. I used to love TFS and really wanted to laugh but increasinigly I find myself trying to pretend I thought it was funny in that "uncomfortable, feel embarrassed for them" sorta way. They really are clutching at straws for material at times. Offering to marry people on the show? Lame.

I guess footy shows can be grouped into the serious analytical ones and the looser comedy versions. What do you think is the best of each?

I think Before the Game has taken the mantle for the comedy shows. The format is fresher, panelists are much funnier, and they never have any shortage of great material taken from the previous/current round. It is kinda like the English Top Gear" too, even non-footy fans will watch it just because it is so entertaining.

In terms of the more serious ones, I don't have fox and the only one I have caught recently is the new one on Channel One. I have only seen one episode, but found it was quite good.
  • Missing Dog

Re: Best Footy Shows

I must say I love footy confidential and on the couch have only watched ten hd show once but was not impressed.

Sorry its taken you so long to figure that Channel's 9 TFS is lame.

Marngrook on Channel 31 Melbourne is 100x better.

Well I am not usually home on Thursday nights and usually only see one or two episodes a season but have caught the last two.

• AndrewP6

My two cents worth.

I actually don't mind TFS... doesn't hit the bullseye every week, but IMO has its good moments. Yes, its infantile, it's tacky, it's crude...but it's run by footballers! Expect nothing more... can't wait for someone to give Sam a grilling...

Footy Classified - informative, interesting. I reckon Thommo is better than a lot give him credit for. And watching Caro makes me dislike her even more, I like it when one of them takes her to task. (Her hijacking of "Good Call, Bad Call" shits me - "Good call, sensible call"????

The Marngrook Footy Show I've only seen a few times. Might be a "serious" show, but I just find it really dull. The panel/presenters may know something about the game, but don't hold my interest.

I watch Footy Classified every week but my favorite footy shows are the sunday morning AFL shows, Seven starts at 10 am for an hour and then Nine kicks in for two more hours at 11. They are especially enjoyable when we've won on the saturday. Sometimes I sit on the couch all day and watch Hutchy's and Kevin Sheehan's TAC cup show at 1pm and then flick over to Seven to watch the old replay and then the sunday game!

I dont mind One Week At A Time as well and then when that finishes Jack Elliot's show starts on C31 straight after then after an hour or so (Spooks on the ABC!) it's time for Footy Classified. I hardly ever watch The Footy Show though-too many boofheads per capita for my liking. If Eddy came back as host I'd watch it again

• mighty_west
              • Feb 2008

The Footy Show - about as tired and boring as another Johnny Farnham comeback tour, used to be great, but has just gone downhill over the past few years. 5/10

Footy Classifieds - Probably the best going around imo, even though i can't stand any of the hosts..Caro is always annoying, Hutchy is a wanker - although i enjoy it when he gives it to Caro, Lyon lacks leadership as the host as well as his role on TFS and Grant Thomas, used to hate him, but can't help respecting his views and the way he says what he thinks, he even lost his SEN job over having a strong opinion - respect! 9/10

Marngrook - Not bad, gets a tick for having an ex Doggie on the panel, and don't mind Ronnies wicked sense of humour, but just lacks somewhat, i don't feel an urge to keep going back to watch it. 6/10

On The Couch - used to be my fave, but you only get 1 minute of Doggies talk every week, don't mind Sheahan on there, MUCH better than Caro, although i struggle with Healy as host, he's great on 3AW's sports tonight, but always seems to stumble on camera, quite like Hird. - 7/10

• BulldogBelle

On the Couch is one of my favourites also Before the game (Strauchnie segments make me laugh) but then again I watch just about all the footy shows during the week. If I am not home, I will usually IQ them then skim back through and watch the parts that interest me.

Footy Classified, for me, can be a little hit and miss. I've notices the faking of conflict has reduced somewhat, and with that my enjoyment is rising in it and have watched the last month.

Before the game - not bad for a giggle. The birthplace of Strauchnie.

Before the bounce - I loved Jason and Spud and love 'yesterdays heroes'. Has got to be some of the funniest stuff i've seen in a while.

On The Couch - Watch without fail after winners.

TFS - It's without a heartbeat, just call it dead already. As much as i hated Eddie on it towards the end, he was the glue that kept it together.

Sunday Footy Show - Not a fan. Tony Jones was screwed royally. His SFS was much better than the current lame attempt.

Thus ending my 2 cents.

I like the Sunday Footy show the most for detail of your game, most of the time I dont listen to what they say anyway, but they often at least have one of your players in, which is nice.

I used to love Before The Game, but I dont think it's funny at all anymore. Hughsey is such a tosser, and it disgusts me that three of the five panelists are Carlton supporters. Mick Molloy makes me cringe with his unfunnyness. Ugh, Three Carlton and a Richmond supporter. No thanks.

The footy content has reached saturation point.
                      On The Couch- gets a tad tedious and personally don't like the wooden host
                      The Footy Show - Expiry date 1995,endured bits last week and talk about tired content.
                      One Week At a Time - Only seen bits and pieces looks okay. Loses points having The Essendon diver on the show
                      Footy Classified- The best for mine although does seem a tad contrived. Has Thomas toned down the act a little?
                      Before The Bounce- Very light and rehash incidents we already know about [Tipping the Malthouse/Buckley coaching situation] will be first cab of the rank. Do enjoy the ''yesterday's heroes'' segment
                      Marngrook Footy Show- Watched it a few times enjoyed it also

Originally posted by Sophie
                        I like the Sunday Footy show the most for detail of your game, most of the time I dont listen to what they say anyway, but they often at least have one of your players in, which is nice.

I used to love Before The Game, but I dont think it's funny at all anymore. Hughsey is such a tosser, and it disgusts me that three of the five panelists are Carlton supporters. Mick Molloy makes me cringe with his unfunnyness. Ugh, Three Carlton and a Richmond supporter. No thanks.
                        I'm pretty sure Dave Hughes once followed The DogsSamantha Lane is bloody awful! She's the member for stating the bleeding obvious. personally I like Mick Molloy

Originally posted by Remi Moses
                          I'm pretty sure Dave Hughes once followed The Dogs
                          Really? Well, good riddance I say.

I like the Sunday footy show. Puts me in a lazy Sunday mood and reminds me of being a kid on a Sunday morning when dad would get up and make a big eggs and bacon breakfast!

Originally posted by Remi Moses
                              I'm pretty sure Dave Hughes once followed The DogsSamantha Lane is bloody awful! She's the member for stating the bleeding obvious. personally I like Mick Molloy
                              you might be thinking of Will Anderson. Will is a massive dogs fan.
                              Last edited by GVGjr; 24-07-2009, 07:38 PM. Reason: quote fixed