• Dry Rot

You and the Filth - memories of Pies games and supporters

Living up in Sydney, I've never quite grasped the universal hatred of Pies fans and their team.

I did get an insight from a mate of mine who once lived very close to Victoria Park and told me some odd stories. Another mate had some interesting memories of the state of the toilets there.

What are your memories of their games and their supporters? Are they really worse than Saints fans?

Re: You and the Filth - memories of Pies games and supporters

Eddie. McGuire.

I haven't found them to be too bad, just too many of them. Although I hated the game in 2006, where Murphy did his knee and they were cheering - but we fixed them up in the finals anyway.

I find Carlton and Essendon supporters to be worse actually. I don't cop much shit off Collingwood supporters, except for one of my mates who last year said "Dogs will be out second week of finals, you just wait. You guys are crap!" Dogs won, Collingwood lost that second week, HEH! (or maybe it was even the first week? I can't remember).

I am loving that pic of Didak.

• Prince Imperial

I've never had any real deep dislike of Collingwood or their supporters and actually much prefer them to any of the other big supported Vic clubs (i.e. Ess, Rich and Carl). They've generally had the wood on us (if you pardon the pun) but they've also made attempts to help us like taking part in a Legends fundraising game during the 1989 fightback or the pleas by McGuire to secure us a major sponsor in 2003.

I always remember one at Vic Park in 1991 yelling out how glad he was he he had donated to the Fightback so he could continue to watch them thump us but even I then I didn't take that much offence.

The three best moments against them I have seen are definitely:
          - '06 Final thumping
          - '84 Beasley goal on the siren after the Allen kick to win the game
          - '90 Kolyniuk's late goal and our 2 point MCG victory.

I've got no hatred of Collingwood. I find their fans to be a bit delusional but they arent that offensive-if they start carrying on then saying "one flag in fifty years doesnt make you a powerhouse" usually shuts them up.

Essendon supporters are far bigger scum.

• Cyberdoggie

I've got no hatred of Collingwood. I find their fans to be a bit delusional but they arent that offensive-if they start carrying on then saying "one flag in fifty years doesnt make you a powerhouse" usually shuts them up.

i totally agree.

I have no real problems with the pies fans as they are a little rough around the edges but relatively harmless.
              Essendon and Carlton in particular are my pet hates.

Blues fans i find particularly arrogant and rude. Bombers fans mostly just annoying, they have a lot of new supporters who shout out wonderful comments like "GOOD CATCH NUMBER 18" and "KICK IT KICK IT KICK IT!".

My hatred of the Carlton filth probably extends to our co-tenant era at Princes Park.
              Standing in the outer for the derby games you got to witness to full extent of their behaviour. One particular game from memory 3 Carlton supporters spent the entire game shouting out disgraceful abuse about Paul Hudson, and i'm talking continuously here.
              It was like that add on tv with guy that bags "Wilson" all the time except there were 3 of them and the abuse was far more personal. I remember 3 years in a row for Carlton vs the WB game there the same 3 supporters were there near my spot.

• Sockeye Salmon

In about 2004-05 or so, I was standing at the Dome and there was a Bulldogs supporting kid (? say about 17-18) very near me who was obviously intellectually disabled.

Buckley was on his way to about 40 touches and the kid was relentless in his attack on Nafan. It was all fairly harmless stuff, 'why don't you get a kick, Buckley', that kind of thing (of course Nafan had had about 30 of the bloody things by then, but whatever).

As soon as the siren goes about 4-5 of the filth decide they're going to lay into him so it's on.

In footy parlance, when it's your turn to go ...

Right then an off-duty cop who was about 6' 5" and 120kgs picked exactly the right time to walk past and pick a couple up by the collar.

If he hadn't, they would have given the disabled kid a hiding (and probably me too).

They have so many supporters you're going to get more idiots than normal.Never had many hairy moments at Vic Park only comments made in jest to one another

• Cyberdoggie

While doing the walk of shame across the bourke st bridge at our previous encounter this year, i was jammed in the pedestrian traffic and down below a bunch of Collingwood supporters realised while they were urinating in public they had an audience of about 10000 people so one decided to run around like a loon with his trouser snake out and was jumping off cars. I believe he also made a mess on himself.

In my 20 odd years of regularly going to the footy, Filth supporters have consistently been the least bearable mob by quite some distance. Carlton has their fair share of ignorant Preston and Reservoir Marios who know very little outside of 'Kouta', Essendon feels like you're stuck in some blue light disco hell, Richmond are an angry bunch (fair enough too considering their wretched run since 1982), but for sheer vulgar, ignorant, moronic, insular, crass, unfunny, classless, witless supporterdom, Collingwood is the gold medal winner and multiple world record holder.

The 2006 Elimination Final is as close to football viewing nirvana as I've seen so far, closely followed by the 2003 Grand Final (sad but true).

Agree Twodogs - I think Collingwood supporters have had to learn some humility since their 1990 flag win because they haven't tasted much success since then (albeit they have played in a couple of grannies against BrisVegas). I find they are starting to become a little more arrogant this year, the better they are playing. I also think my most fabulous recent memory was the final in 2006 - oh, they were pretty quiet after half time that day! IMO Essendon, Carlton, Hawthorn and now perhaps St. Kilda supporters are far worse these days!

Only went to Victoria Park a few times, didn't really have any problems there. I think Geelong suporters at Kardinia Park were the worst, followed by St Kilda at Moorabin. More recently I've been more annoyed by Hawthorn supporters than any other team, a shame seeing as my husband barracks for them.

• Dry Rot

Originally posted by Suz 32
                            Only went to Victoria Park a few times, didn't really have any problems there. I think Geelong suporters at Kardinia Park were the worst, followed by St Kilda at Moorabin. More recently I've been more annoyed by Hawthorn supporters than any other team, a shame seeing as my husband barracks for them.
                            What was The Cage?

Most of the Saints fans I see up here look like hardened criminals.

• Axe Man

The 2006 Elimination Final is as close to football viewing nirvana as I've seen so far
                              I particularly enjoyed 3 quarter time in that match when half of the all Collingwood bay an aisle over got up and left and our all Bulldogs bay waved them farewell.