Re: The Jarrod Grant Conundrum

Mcevoy is a ruckman and the jury is still out on Henderson. Let's all take a deep breath and just give Grant 12 months please!!!

Originally posted by Remi Moses
      Mcevoy is a ruckman and the jury is still out on Henderson. Let's all take a deep breath and just give Grant 12 months please!!!
      I would agree with this.

Some players are different performers in the VFL, compared to AFL. Grant may or may not be one of those players, but i would like to see him given a few more games at AFL level, before i make the call on whether or not he is good enough.

From what i have seen of Grant at AFL level, during that first game & NAB Cup. I think he will be a decent footballer, works hard to tackle, and the strong leading mark he took against Carlton was very nice. Still needs a lot of time put into him, to be a real consistent performer, but you can see there is something there.

• alwaysadog

Originally posted by JH40
        I would agree with this.

Some players are different performers in the VFL, compared to AFL. Grant may or may not be one of those players, but i would like to see him given a few more games at AFL level, before i make the call on whether or not he is good enough.

From what i have seen of Grant at AFL level, during that first game & NAB Cup. I think he will be a decent footballer, works hard to tackle, and the strong leading mark he took against Carlton was very nice. Still needs a lot of time put into him, to be a real consistent performer, but you can see there is something there.
        Well put JH40.

Some players make consistent and steady progress, others are more eratic and I suspect that Grant might be one of those. Ealry on this year he showed plenty but the grind of the season has got to him and I'm not sure if it's all physical or other things as well.

I'm interested in asking if anyone knows about his mental toughness. Just observing from the outside I wonder about his self belief.
        [I]I believe there's nothing on this earth that we own. All we do is look after it for our children - Terry Wheeler[/I]

Originally posted by alwaysadog
          I'm interested in asking if anyone knows about his mental toughness. Just observing from the outside I wonder about his self belief.
          From my observations at Willy he really puts alot of pressure on himself to perform. Cordy does it too - they're absolutely filthy on themselves if they let an opportunity slip.

• mighty_west
            • Feb 2008

I'm certaintly not losing any faith in Grant, given his body size & under development, he was always going to take alot longer than some of the players in the same draft, McEvoy has the bigger body, he could no doubt play most games now if Gardener or King go down.

One of the problems for him down at Willy, is that he is being played out of position [as already stated], but that is due to Willy having better options in Little & Galea who are ahead of Grant right now, and you can understand Wiliamstown wanting to play their best players in the best positions for wins on the board and to win Premierships than just developing players for the Bulldogs, i have no doubt he'll jump ahead of Galea, not as sure about Little [i'm a big fan of him], but he does have the height over Little.

Perhaps given his body type & pace, they could give some time in the midfield, really try & build up his tank, give him a few run with roles down at Willy, he seems to get lost at times, his tackling is very good.

• Prince Imperial

I have watched Grant a few times this year at VFL level and have been left completely underwhelmed. I think there are too many excuses being made for him. He's been playing in a strong Williamstown side with plenty of opportunities with the ball coming regularly forward and he has often avoided the best defender. He has had a pretty good year on the injury front too. He just does not demand the ball be kicked to him and I think that is as much to do with his footy smarts as his level of fitness. He does get visibly upset if he makes mistakes so I don't think its a lack of motivation

I very much hope I am wrong but he appears to be a massive waste of a number 5 pick.

However way you look at it, rightly or wrongly, I think Gotch has really hampered his development this year, in lieu of ensuring Williamstown wins at all costs.

Grant is a full forward, plain and simple. This year was crucial in him further developing not only the ability to lead to the right spot, but when to time his leads, which Eade himself has said he needs to work on.

By playing him as a lead up centre half forward when his body just wasn’t physically able to perform the role, meant he’s learnt nothing about the full forward position he will be asked to play for the Bulldogs and has smashed what ever confidence he had at the start of the season.

I love going to watch Williamstown and hope they’re successful, but a top 5 key position draft pick is a precious resource (particularly at the Bulldogs) and needs to be nurtured properly to ensure we get a return on investment – IMO Gotch has squandered that opportunity.

Don’t even get me started on Boumann playing a large chunk of games in the reserves

Please note that Grant himself shouldn’t get off scot free. He needs to bust his a*** over the summer to get himself fit and strong enough to compete at the highest level and give himself the best possible chance to become the player we all hope he can be.

• mighty_west
                  • Feb 2008

Originally posted by comrade
                  However way you look at it, rightly or wrongly, I think Gotch has really hampered his development this year, in lieu of ensuring Williamstown wins at all costs.

Grant is a full forward, plain and simple. This year was crucial in him further developing not only the ability to lead to the right spot, but when to time his leads, which Eade himself has said he needs to work on.

By playing him as a lead up centre half forward when his body just wasn’t physically able to perform the role, meant he’s learnt nothing about the full forward position he will be asked to play for the Bulldogs and has smashed what ever confidence he had at the start of the season.

I love going to watch Williamstown and hope they’re successful, but a top 5 key position draft pick is a precious resource (particularly at the Bulldogs) and needs to be nurtured properly to ensure we get a return on investment – IMO Gotch has squandered that opportunity.

Don’t even get me started on Boumann playing a large chunk of games in the reserves
                  There are always going to be the same issues year after year unfortunatly as long as we are alligned with a VFL side.

Serious question, would we as supporters be happy to play say an extra 2 home games away from Melbourne to ensure we have our own stand alone VFL side?

• Hot_Doggies
                    • May 2009

[QUOTE=comrade;111912]However way you look at it, rightly or wrongly, I think Gotch has really hampered his development this year, in lieu of ensuring Williamstown wins at all costs.

[QUOTE]

Maybe Gotch thinks Grant is a natural FF already and teaching him a lead up CHF role will help him.

He will find his confidence quickly after a big pre season and he will come out firing next yr.

• Ozza

If it means anything at all, yesterday I had lunch with someone who has played on Grant - and he thought Jarrod could play a bit and thought he could definitely make it once he fills out a bit.

• Missing Dog

Just a little story. The same thing happened to my mate who’s in his first year of AFL football. He was also played out of position to further his development, then towards the middle to end of season found himself in the VFL ressies. The coach was always into him and would point out the littlest of mistakes. After about 3 weeks in the reserves he was still playing like crap, so he had to tell the coach his confidence was shot. Then all of a sudden the coach changed his approach. He really started helping and encouraging him.

At the end of the season my mate said his performance was okay nothing special, but the club was really really happy and he got nothing but positive feedback. Now I don’t think his confidence has ever been so high and now he’s very excited about the pre season and wants to start in the next week or two (before he just wanted a holiday). Overall, I think it’s worked as an advantage as he’s a lot stronger mentally and he really wants to get the best out of himself.

I just hope the same happens with Grant and he too wants to get the best out of himself.

• mighty_west
                          • Feb 2008

Originally posted by bulldogsman
                          Just a little story. The same thing happened to my mate who’s in his first year of AFL football. He was also played out of position to further his development, then towards the middle to end of season found himself in the VFL ressies. The coach was always into him and would point out the littlest of mistakes. After about 3 weeks in the reserves he was still playing like crap, so he had to tell the coach his confidence was shot. Then all of a sudden the coach changed his approach. He really started helping and encouraging him.

At the end of the season my mate said his performance was okay nothing special, but the club was really really happy and he got nothing but positive feedback. Now I don’t think his confidence has ever been so high and now he’s very excited about the pre season and wants to start in the next week or two (before he just wanted a holiday). Overall, I think it’s worked as an advantage as he’s a lot stronger mentally and he really wants to get the best out of himself.

I just hope the same happens with Grant and he too wants to get the best out of himself.
                          You just wonder how much imput the senior coach has with the young recruits & rookies, you hear stories about when Brisbane were so strong, and Matthews couldn't care less pretty much with the younger players, and you hear about other players saying that the senior coach has bascially not communicated with them what so ever etc etc.

Originally posted by Ozza
                            If it means anything at all, yesterday I had lunch with someone who has played on Grant - and he thought Jarrod could play a bit and thought he could definitely make it once he fills out a bit.
                            Watt did you say?

• Ozza

^^^
                              Haha - you heard Watt I said.

• The Doctor

Comrade, let me offer a counter to your arguement.

Grant played some of the early games at full forward and did ok. Little seems to have taken over that role so Grant has been tried in other forward positions. I don't think that is a bad thing. I think playing upfield will help build his tank up which is apparantly not very big. If Grant can play multiple forward line positions it will increase his value to the team by giving us more options. In fact I would even try him across the half back line next season.

Again I would offer this alternate view. I think Boumann has been handled sensationally well.

He has been made to earn his position in the Willi seniors. Nothing handed to him on a platter. He had to prove week in and week out in the ressies that he was worthy of the opportunity. He was promoted, did so so, then sent back. He was given a taste at senior level then went back worked hard again and got back into the senior side and has stayed there dislodging Wight in the process. I think that is how it should be. He now looks like he belongs. Well done to player, coach and development staff.

I reckon the Bulldogs senior side should make a couple of their senior players go through this but thats another debate.
                                Listening to Brahm's 3rd Racket