Re: 2010 Fixture - Snippets (Herald Sun)

Originally posted by BulldogBelle
    An article in The Herald Sun has mentioned the following...

* Dogs to play Geelong and St Kilda only once during the season - St Kilda early in the season and Geelong in Round 20
    * Round 1 Dogs home game against Collingwood on a Sunday afternoon at Etihad ( Johnson's 350th game)
    * Dogs to play Sydney twice once in Canberra and once in Sydney.
    * For the first time the AFL will have a flexible fixture for Round 22, meaning the times and dates of games will not be set in stone

Click HERE to read the remainder of the article...
    What does this mean? Is Andrew playing Big Brother again? Seems a little odd that potential the most important round of the month is subject to alteration. Would the AFL look at pitting finals teams against each other for greater revenue? Seems like a weird system to me. Anybody got some information about it?

Originally posted by 1eyedog
      What does this mean? Is Andrew playing Big Brother again? Seems a little odd that potential the most important round of the month is subject to alteration. Would the AFL look at pitting finals teams against each other for greater revenue? Seems like a weird system to me. Anybody got some information about it?
      They're not changing the actual matches just possible the times and dates.

• The Coon Dog

Originally posted by 1eyedog
        All they're doing is listing the 8 games, with dates/times to be determined. After the problems this season with Collingwood, St.Kilda & ourselves all playing on Sunday in R22, I think its a sensible move.

Those teams unlikely to feature in September are likely to play the Sunday games in R22.
        [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

Thank you people. I wasn't sure if the AFL was reserving the right to select who plays who in Round 22 which would be very odd.

Dogs to play Sydney twice once in Canberra and once in Sydney.

Barry Hall factor?

Probably, but we did play them twice last year as well.

• Sockeye Salmon

Barry Hall factor?
                One of the clowns who do the schedule came out and said they had to make late changes to take advantage of the Hall and Fevola trades.

• alwaysadog

Originally posted by mighty_west

What are the chances that the AFL have handed this game on a platter to Edihad for their new deal with the clubs, knowing that it will most likely be a sell out or close to?
                  Given that the AFL has said it will do everything it can to optimise attendances the location of this round game one is puzzling even by their own lofty standards in confusion.

As with most things to which either AFL wisdom or AFL consistency is applied the result makes no sense.
                  [I]I believe there's nothing on this earth that we own. All we do is look after it for our children - Terry Wheeler[/I]

• Ozza

I must say - personally - I'm very happy we have heaps of Sunday and Night games. Saturday arvo is the only time I can't watch footy - and I suspect there a few more on this site in the same boat.

• Axe Man

Originally posted by Ozza
                      I must say - personally - I'm very happy we have heaps of Sunday and Night games. Saturday arvo is the only time I can't watch footy - and I suspect there a few more on this site in the same boat.
                      Same here, playing footy on a Saturday arvo means I can't watch the doggies. Living in the country means I'm not a massive fan of the Sunday twilight games though.

Originally posted by Ozza
                        Yep, I'm in the same boat. The only games I missed were the games played Interstate and Saturday arvo games. Fridays are tough due to work but that is what sickies are for.

• BulldogBelle

It doesn't worry me when we play - I plan accordingly and make sure I am there. I quite enjoy the Sunday games, leaves the Saturday free to do other things.

Same here, now that I don't work doesn't bother me, but hated Sunday games when I worked. I understand the like of Sunday games for those who play sport on Saturday. As I said I will be there whatever day, time, rain, hail or shine. It is a bit sad how I wait for the fixture to come out so I can plan the rest of my life around it. I never plan a holiday even a week after the grand final (might be a draw). When I think all those years I left free IN CASE we were in the finals, now it's more like WHEN we are in the finals.

Each year when the fixture comes out, I pull out the family diary and stick in the games, then the missus knows not to arrange anything for those days

My life revolves around the AFL fixture & also the NRL fixture, although that's more painful. Although we know which team we're playing, and if it's home or away, we don't know until 4 - 6 weeks before the game which day & time it's actually being played. Good old Channel 9 (sarcasm in case you didn't pick up on it) determine that. Wish it was like the AFL fixture so I could plan my year in advance!!