Re: Years of membership

I joined up the family in 2003, what a great year that was The doggies only won a couple of games and I wasn't at any of those wins, but saw a lot of losses. The loss to Richmond was the worst

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
      Its amazing just how long some posters on WOOF have been members, even more amazing that they can drive a computer!
      That is enough of that, is that directed to Trish & I.
      I can use a computer AND still do things in my head as well, how's that for versatile !

• angelopetraglia

1984, but it feels like yesterday.

• gohardorgohome

I was always a member as a kid from 1975 to 1986, then I dropped off when I played local paddock footy on Saturday afternoons from 1987. By the time It got to about 1994 there were less Saturday arvo games so I became a member again and have done so ever since.

• Kingsley

1989, when I turned 7 and couldn't get in for free anymore Dads been a member for over forty years

Was first a junior member in '78. Been a member on and off ever since. Lived interstate a fair bit which made it hard to justify. Been a continuous member since '07 when I bought 2 general memberships (1 with 17 games, 1 with 11 home games) my first year of Christmas tips from the Big Issue. Upgraded to Silver last year and have added Social Club this year. My ex-girlfriend's dog is a Pet Member for the second consecutive season. I wonder how she will react when the dog-blanket arrives?

I'm not exactly sure, but I was a member for a couple of years when we were still at Optus Oval, so my guess is at least 1998. Mum didn't want to take me until I could properly appreciate it, so I was about 7 I think.

• Missing-Dog

First membership year was '75 when I started going every week with my Dad after he retired from playing footy. Was a member every year up to about '88 I reckon, when I was playing senior footy myself on a Saturday and couldn't make it to Doggie games. Bought a membership when I went to the 2nd game of '92, a home game against the Saints after we knocked off the Crows at Footy Park in Round 1, and have been a consecutive member since then.

Been a Social club member since 2006. Never looked back!

• Lachy

Been a member since either 1975 or 1976 cant remember whether I was 8 or 9 when I got my first membership

• BulldogBelle

I've been a member since 2003... Yep, was financial enough to buy a membership for the first time. I was also excited about Peter Rhode's first outing as a coach in rd22 of the previous year thinking the future was looking up for the '03 season... Boy were the next couple of years tough going!!

Can't exactly remember as I was too young to remember and my Mum has passed away so can't exactly ask her can I? I think it was 1975 but was going since I was a baby in 1970. My husband since 1979 and my kids were signed up before they were born in 1997 and 2001.

Signed up in 06 with my first pay check. Just out of school, dad never bought me a membership. tight ass. He just doesn't understand.

• donnan

Originally posted by PWebb
                              After reading through the YEARBOOK, I was wondering just how many years everyone has been a member? I joined WAYYYYYY back in 1961 (won't tell how old I was) so this year (2010) brings me up to 49 consecutive years.
                              That's dedication for you!!! I am impressed!!

I am but a relative newbie with about 6 years as a member...but will be one for the rest of my life!!!!

My mother in law was at the 54 grannie...so...its a family tradition..and I will be at the next Grand Final!

Great thread!

D.

Originally posted by Ageo
                                Signed up in 06 with my first pay check. Just out of school, dad never bought me a membership. tight ass. He just doesn't understand.
                                Reckon it should be an offence under the Child Protection Act. Should also be an offence if a parent signs up their child to collingwood. And, no, that is not a grammatical error on collingwood.
                                Last edited by LostDoggy; 14-01-2010, 09:38 PM. Reason: grammatical