• Mitcha
    • Mar 2009

Favourite jumper numbers from years gone by

Started this on the "other site" and movement has been a bit slow so let's see if we can't whip thru some legends from days gone by, self explanatery as per below,

Ok guys it's the off season and I am bored beyond belief.
    In the style of the three word story, I propose that we list a player in the number they wore at the club during previous seasons.
    They must have played senior footy and you must give a reason why you named them and a nickname if known.
    Once a player has been named they cannot be named again and when we get to the end we go back to number one and start over again.
    This thread could get us through a week of the off season or die a slow and painful death
    I will kick it off with number,
    1. Simon Minton-Connell because he looked the most unlikely looking AFL footballer and could not mark overhead but had a surprisingly good record at AFL level in terms of goals per game average. Known to team mates as "Loaf".
    Who's up for number 2?

Re: Favourite jumper numbers from years gone by

2. Steve Kolyniuk

A small stocky type forward pocket half forward who from memory didnt mind a bit of the rough and tumble. One of his more famous moments would've been when he kicked a goal near the end of the game to defeat Collingwood. Did he run around Graham Wright in the early 90's?

Nickname was Billy the Kid - Just guessing but could've been because he made his debut at a young age?

3. Mark Kellett

I remember him because when I started going to the footy I inherited an old Footscray guernsey from my cousin. it had no. 31 on the back. Kelvin Templeton had left, so I had to choose between no. 1 & no. 3. I chose no. 1, but I won't say who it was - he can be named in another round!!!!

Can't recall a nickname for Mark Kellett though.

• The Coon Dog

Originally posted by Suz 32
        Can't recall a nickname for Mark Kellett though.
        His nickname was Captain.

#4 - Peter Welsh

Has his number on my very first Footscray jumper.

165 Games - 92 goals.

Recruited from Yarraville Socials.

Nickname was 'Spider'.

Spoke with enormous passion at the Fightback Rally in 1989. Got more involved with the club from there & was on the Board. Had the awful job of ringing Terry Wheeler on New Years Day 1990 & informing him that Ron James had passed away.
        [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

Always had 7 and then 3. I miss Douggie and I really miss Granty!

#5 is Bruce Reid

Bruce Reid proves that the we were ripped us off badly when the AFL changed the F/S rule. Reid now has two sons on AFL lists. He played 50+ games for us and until a few years ago his sons were eligible and we could have had both of them for third round picks, Ben went to Collingwood with pick 8 and Sam went to the Swans with pick 37 this year.

I spit on every person who complained about Geelong getting GAJ and Hawkins cheaply. The ones who endlessly whinged until the AFL changed the number of games and then bought in the ridiculous and corrupt nomination system that we have now deserve to have their cars firebombed and their dunny doors kicked down by packs of rampaging emus.

• Missing Dog

#6 : GEORGE BISSET:

Georgie, was a dynamo little rover..until he went to bloody Collingwood!! He SHOULD have won the brownlow the year Kevin Murray won it, I remember the last game of season against Carlton at Princes Park, a fight broke out and little Georgie ran from 1 wing to the other to throw a punch, was reported, got off, but because umps had reported him he didn't get any votes that game and he was BEST on ground by a country mile, cost him the medal.

• The Coon Dog

Originally posted by PWebb
                #6 : GEORGE BISSET:
                Trish, when I saw you were up next with #6, I thought for sure you'd talk about Jack Sands!
                [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

• Missing Dog

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
                  Trish, when I saw you were up next with #6, I thought for sure you'd talk about Jack Sands!
                  SMART AR@E, not quite that old...who the heck is Jack Sands anyways???

who the heck is Jack Sands anyways???

I'm guessing it was someone that TCD went to school with.

• The Coon Dog

SMART AR@E, not quite that old...who the heck is Jack Sands anyways???
                      He wore #6 when we first entered the VFL in 1925; you may have been at boarding school then!

• The Coon Dog

I'm guessing it was someone that TCD went to school with.
                        No, the guys I wet to school with wore 36 (Darren Brown), 48 & 19 (Zeno Tzatzaris) & 31 (Phil O'Keefe).

I reckon that Braybrook has provided twice as many VFL/AFL footballers than any other junior club in Australia.

Anyway #7 Ray Huppatz. Wore the great number just before the Hawk and worked at Footscray council with my dad.

• The Coon Dog

#7 Ray Huppatz. Wore the great number just before the Hawk and worked at Footscray council with my dad.
                            Huppatz once had a crack at Aboriginal umpire Glenn James when he found a bone on the ground. He gave it to James & said that "you might as well have this, you've been going like a dog all day". James famously retorted, "be careful, I might point it at you"!

Plenty of good number 8's for someone to work with.

• Missing Dog

He wore #6 when we first entered the VFL in 1925; you may have been at boarding school then!

You just keep having you're laughs at my expence Barry, I'm not built like an elephant for nothing...I NEVER FORGET!!!!