• lemmon

Re: Dogs, Power name NAB Cup semi-final squads

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
    * Gilbee doesn't look the same player he used to. Not sure if he's still being effected by his father's death last year, but he's out of touch much like he was for a chunk of 2009. Hopefully he finds some form to build on for Round 1. Very important player that we need up and going.
    I think at times he tries to do too much with the ball, just due to how damaging he is with the footy. At one point he kicked a 50 meter pass to a 2 on 1(ports advantage) in the middle which was immediately turned over. Few other players would have attempted it and the safer option would have been to go long down the line. I think he just really needs to get back to basics which have got him to where he is currently.

• giaco

Bit of a mixed bag tonight.

A few senior players were pretty fumbly - Coon and Lake especially.

I was really happy with the efforts of Williams and Everitt, apart from one bad clanger each. Both did well in one-on-one contests, particularly Williams for his first game.

Moles is impressive and might have gone past Ward who has been slightly disappointing in the NAB.

There will be some handy players at Willy in Rd 1. Hill, Everitt, Moles (assuming he's promoted) will be lucky to get games. Great depth at the moment.

All of the underperformers prior to tonight - Hill, Ward, Picken and Everitt - significantly ramped up the intensity levels on previous weeks. Whilst they all still made some errors, it was good to see them lift their intensity, knowing that the likes of Moles and Wood are hot on their heels for a place in the starting 22 come Round 1.

The perfect pre-season hitout. Port were very good at closing the space (very impressed with Robbie Gray's clearance work and Paul Stewart's mopping up off half back in particular) and the game had more of a H&A intensity to it that most prectice matches do. We laid another 89 tackles tonight, so the defensive pressure was strong once again (and it had to be because we turned it over more than usual).

Originally posted by comrade
          Andrejs made some mistakes but he wasn't alone. I thought his defensive work was actually pretty good - he was able to hold his own in marking contests that he probably would have been outpointed in previously.

If he can hold down a third tall type role in the backline, and then move higher up the ground within the same game he'll prove a pretty difficult match up. Shame he hit the post with that running shot on goal - he hit it pretty well.
          I think his defensive work has improved too but when in possession he struggles to make quick and accurate decisions. (IE. That handball back to Cross which resulted in a goal to Port)

His reaction time is probably one thing that really needs to improve. Tackling too. His intensity has certainly lifted and his disposal is very good.

I really like Andrejs' potential, I just think he looks on edge having to play a defensive role. Against Brisbane in the wet he was impressive up forward and we haven't seen that since.

• divvydan
            • Oct 2009

Was quite fumbly tonight, most of that was due to the pressure put on by Port Adelaide, however, both coaches (Dean and Williams) made mention of the humidity in their post match conferences so that also probably had a bit to do with it.

Great game to win since we'd be playing nearly our full side next week win or lose, may as well have another pressure filled hitout to get the players used to what's going to happen during the season.

• Sockeye Salmon

Originally posted by The Bulldogs Bite
              I think his defensive work has improved too but when in possession he struggles to make quick and accurate decisions. (IE. That handball back to Cross which resulted in a goal to Port)

His reaction time is probably one thing that really needs to improve. Tackling too. His intensity has certainly lifted and his disposal is very good.

I really like Andrejs' potential, I just think he looks on edge having to play a defensive role. Against Brisbane in the wet he was impressive up forward and we haven't seen that since.
              I think Everitt was decent tonight. That one bad clanger at a pretty shocking time was the only significant error he made.

For the most part, his ball use was very good.

• Rocco Jones

Just on our best 22 and tonight
                - I think Hill suits being in the same side as Hall. As long as he is doing the right things on the track, he would be a lock in my 22.
                - Picken hasn't looked during the NAB Cup but pre-season games aren't really made for taggers. He spent a fair bit of time on Sewell last time (correct me if I am wrong) and curbed him and I thought he did well on Pearce tonight. Considering the valuable role he plays and his attitude, I would have him as another lock.
                - Ward, Everitt, Eagleton, Hahn and Moles would be battling for the final couple of spots in my best 22. I would only consider Eagle if he gets back to resembling full fitness. His strongest attribute is his elite running. I would have Ward and Moles in atm. Maybe playing for Willy in round 1 would be a good lesson for Ward.

• The Coon Dog

Originally posted by divvydan
                  Was quite fumbly tonight, most of that was due to the pressure put on by Port Adelaide, however, both coaches (Dean and Williams) made mention of the humidity in their post match conferences so that also probably had a bit to do with it.
                  It was hot in there tonight!
                  [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

• dog town

Would like to think that we just were not on our game. We made simple errors all night, tackled horribly, fumbled and didnt appear to be working that hard. The NAB cup means squat to me so I can live with that I am just hoping it was us being well off and not us being bashed around by Port because they loooked the hungrier side.

I think we stalled a bit in the first half because we simply were not winning the ball back in contested situations. We have been given a heap of hype about our foot skills over the years but we very rarely go coast to coast these days and can sometimes struggle to kick our way up field especially in a go slow sitation where the other team has time to get numbers back. It wasn't until we started a) pressuring Port a little bit more when they had the footy to turn the ball over and b) winning the ball at clearances and from contested situations that we started creating some run. We are mainly a stoppage/contested footy team these days and winning these situations creates the majority of our run. It means we have the opposition out of position and can use our pace and clean ball handling (last night was not so clean) to take the ball away quickly. We are still a skillful side but not to the level that we were in say 2005/2006. We have a lot more grunt now and when we dont come to play we can be made to look pretty pedestrian. Griffen and Cooney worked harder as the game went on.

We probably looked for Hall a bit much early on especially when he wasn't on. It is going to be the story of our season I think. How do we stop our side becoming to Hall conscious? He is an enormous man and has huge presence. I am not convinced we can keep our even spread of goal kickers with him on the ground. I am not even sure if it matters that most but I am very interested to see how it all plays out. On a positive note I dont think we have changed to much in terms of ball movement/ game style so it shouldn't matter to much when he is not out on the park.

• stefoid

Originally posted by Petergm
                      I reckon he would be a better option than Eagleton. He lloks very good.
                      On 2010 form so far, definitely. Id have no problem with Moles playing and Eagleton having to work his way back into the side.

• stefoid

Originally posted by lemmon
                        I'm not sure if it has been mentioned yet but I was impressed with Eagletons desire to attack the ball and the man aggressively, his tackles stuck and he hit hard, probably a facet of his game that he knows has let him down in the past. Seems he knows it's his last shot at a premiership and is giving it everything, will be a hard man to displace from the 22 this year IMO.
                        hmmm, I still cringe whenever he is involved in a 50/50.

• stefoid

Whats the mystery? Port has obviously been applying heaps of defensive pressure to their opponents this year, and they were the first team we have played since the prelim that applied that pressure to us, and we were affected by it. no biggie, its a practice match.

• KT31
                            • Jul 2008

Originally posted by hujsh
                            Don't remember which commentator called it but we threw out two premiership players on in the last two minutes and Aka was the one who got the free and gave it to Higgins and we all know what Hall did. Hopefully that experience comes in as useful in the real finals as well.
                            Pretty sure it was Matthews.
                            And didn't he change his tune in the second half when big Bazza started performing.
                            Went from can't understand why we need Bazza when we were a high scoring multiple attack last season to Bazza will straighten us up and give more freedom to our other forwards.

Pretty good hit out last night, and good to walk away with the win. Was interesting to see all our experienced players come on towards the end when Port regained the lead. We certainly wanted to win.

Cross - defensively very good. Just a super hard working player - 12 tackles, 7 clearances. At times a little sloppy with his disposal.

Harbrow - I actually didn't think he was that bad. His attempt at the speccy looked like he could have hurt his ankle or even knee (which appeared to lock a bit) but he seemed to run out the game fine. One of our legitimate run and carry players who can break it open. Got to take the good with the bad, but always dangerous.

Cooney and Griffen - gotta love them. Both played some very good patches. Cooney looks sharp, and Griffen on the run to Hall twice in a row - very nice. Would like to see Griff have the confidence to have a shot from outside 50 though, but that will come. Still chose very good options, so nothing wrong there.

Akermanis is just amazing. Some of his deft little knock ons, he just has the best game sense of about any player I've ever seen. Going to be a real shame when he retires, because he is just so smart.

Moles - was good, but not outstanding imo. Got to say I'm not a huge fan on him in the centre square, just didn't seem as sharp as some of our other players. I'd really like to see him on a wing, but imagine he could easily play F or B too. Kicked a good goal though. Disposal at times average under decent pressure.

Murph - had a few passages of play where he looked very good. In particular the piece of play where he worked through a bit of traffic and got off a good kick to Higgo for a goal IIRC.

Higgins - thought he played well in patches. Seems much more at home sitting off the contest at the moment for mine, but that's not necessarily a bad thing. We know he can go when he has too. Classy ball use the majority of the time.

Williams - thought he was OK on a pretty underdone Tredrea. Hopefully he can spend some time on either Roo or Pavlich next week and we can have a real close look.

Morris - star.

Out of the kids and fringe players:

Thought Addison was very good. A few very good tackles, he did a very clever knock on, made one howler off the boot where it looked like he changed his mind at the last second, kicking from the wing towards half forward. Besides that, impressive. I'd have him very close for Rd 1 based on that performance.

Hill - one who has booked his spot. His kicking was a little off, but he's just such a smooth mover and dangerous player. His defensive work was good and he won a lot of contested ball which was pleasing.

Everitt - did some very good things, and some ordinary things. At times looks to be lacking intensity. Wasn't really running in and trying to get involved off the wing (for the centre bounces), and seemed to dance around the edges of the contest and lose his man a bit. At the same time, did a few good things. Just needs to show that determination constantly, otherwise he's easily beaten. How good was his little tap down to Cooney when he went into the ruck towards the end of the game? I think it's certainly a role he can play against weaker ruck combinations.

Ward - struggled a bit for mine last night, and just seemed a step behind the action most of the time. Didn't get the bounce of the ball, but still showed a few good signs.

Roughead - not quite ready for consistent senior action. Needs to be a bit stronger in the air, and a bit quicker disposing of the ball and evaluating his options under pressure. Still though, another solid hit out and can certainly provide some decent coverage during the year.

Wood - showed some good signs, but was clearly under done. I didn't think he looked very quick out there, a few players were able to burn him off when I thought he would be able to chase them down. Like how he flies for marks, and tries to take the game on. Needs to work on his disposal though. I think he has a bit of work to do to before he's a serious contender for a spot in the 22. Promising though.

Mulligan - did a few OK things, but a bit hard to give an accurate evaluation based on his performance. At best he'll provide some coverage if worst case scenarios eventuate, but I think it's fair to say he's still a little while off senior footy. Hopefully a big year at FB for the B's.

And Barry Hall - wow. What a star! He is moving incredibly well, does all the right things, and looks like gobbling up everything that is sent in his direction. His pack mark was huge. As others have mentioned, we looked for him frequently, but he was often one on one and once he's in front, he's hard to stop. His sharing of the ball was a highlight, but hopefully he won't just handball to an unsuspecting player with 1 minute left on the clock, right in front, 3 points down again!
                              Last edited by Go_Dogs; 06-03-2010, 09:56 AM. Reason: clarification

OK whats the deal with next week. Friday or Saturday game?