Defending our club in the office/classroom

Ok, so recently in alot of my Year 12 classes ive had classmates making fun of the fact that i go for the Dogs. They not so much make fun of, but debate about it. Whenever I speak up about our beloved Doggies, they refer to our unsuccessful past history to which i have no comeback.
    Now i know im not the only one, but are there any tips for a non witty person like myself to use in a debate in the near future
    Feel free to use your own personal experiences too to make this thread a little more enjoyable!
  • wb_age

Re: Defending our club in the office/classroom

Rule one, never let a Collingwood flog rant on about their history and premierships.

Yes they won a heap in the early 1900's, but there most recent premiership in 1990 is their only one since 1958.

So there recent history suggests they have only won 2 premierships in 50 odd years compared to our 1.

I use the line its ok, you live in your past while we make the future.

Originally posted by wb_age
        Rule one, never let a Collingwood flog rant on about their history and premierships.
        So there recent history suggests they have only won 2 premierships in 50 odd years compared to our 1.
        ^^ Thats a great one I pull that out often

I also suggest asking how many brownlow medalists they have playing for them..it will stump most supporters espec. Collingwood ones

• Sockeye Salmon

Originally posted by B-RadBulldog
          Ok, so recently in alot of my Year 12 classes ive had classmates making fun of the fact that i go for the Dogs. They not so much make fun of, but debate about it. Whenever I speak up about our beloved Doggies, they refer to our unsuccessful past history to which i have no comeback.
          Now i know im not the only one, but are there any tips for a non witty person like myself to use in a debate in the near future
          Feel free to use your own personal experiences too to make this thread a little more enjoyable!
          You should have grown up in the 70's. You develop a thick skin.

• westdog54

Adelaide supporters: Your club is from SA. That in itself should be a crime.

Brisbane: You had to swallow up a club to become successful. If it weren't for Fitzroy you've be wallowing in the cesspool that was the old Gabba.

Carlton: If you're club isn't cheating, its taking drugs, offering bribes to players or taking photos of wemen without consent.

Collingwood: You've won 1 flag in 50 years and most of your success came when a criminal was bankrolling your club.

Essendon: You realise that now that Kevin Sheedy is gone you've got Buckley's of another flag for 20 years, right?

Fremantle: You've made the finals twice in 15 years. Any chance of doing something with your spot in the league.

Geelong: So who's going to be caught next dealing drugs?

Hawthorn: Isn't your best player one failed test away from 12 weeks off?

Melbourne: Sorry, I didn't recognise you without your Land Rover and Skis

North Melbourne: You should get back that bloke that carried you to two flags. Wayne... something?

Port Adelaide: You're going broke in a two-team town. How does that happen?

Richmond: Our lack of success? I don't even need to bother.

StKilda: See above

Sydney: Isn't it amazing what a quality midfield and attacking footy does for a big forward?

West Coast: How does it feel knowing the best player in the comp carried your club for 5 years.

• SPower

As the great Ian Sockeye Salmon said if you were born growing up in the 60's and 70's you grew a very tough and thick hide.

I suggest that for most of the flack you receive if you look at the recent history of the teams causing you grief - our recent history is probably superior so that is probably the best plan of attack.

What's past is history and we are building our present and future - Enjoy the ride.
              You are so lucky as when I turned up for school on mondays we nearly always lost and even went through seasons with less than a handfull of wins.

Cheers
              SP

Won pretty easily at school today with "Where's Essendon going to finish this year? 14th?" Don't remember what provoked it though.

• Dry Rot

Tell them that Barry Hall is your godfather, and he's happy to answer their jibes after school face to face.

Alternatively, be stoic, say nothing for now, and then laugh at them every Monday morning after we crush their side.

• jazzadogs
                    • Oct 2008

Just say "BARRRRRRRRRYYYYYYYYYYYY".

Haha I was doing that at work the other day and the loudest person who works there tells me to shut up. In reply I said even louder and longer "Baaaaaaaarrrrrrrrrryyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyyy"

• Hotdog60

Living through the late 60's, 70's, 80's, 90's to current you just wear it and smile. I think someone wrote "Cause the day is getting closer when the dogs rise up in the west"
                        When that day comes, they won't have anything to say, but you can give them heaps

• SonofScray
                          • Apr 2008

Throw punches. IMO, that's the Footscray way.

• mighty_west
                            • Feb 2008

If they are Carlton or St Kilda supporters, goto the Reject or $2 shop and buy yourself a cheap pack of wooden spoons, anytime one opens their mouth, just open your bag and hand them one."i believe this belongs to you?"....with a wink off course..

Whenever I speak up about our beloved Doggies, they refer to our unsuccessful past history to which i have no comeback.
                              I've never understood why people refer to flags won such a long time ago. Maybe it is because of our lack of success but I don't see any point bragging about something you were never alive to see. From my experience most people that use that "How many premierships have you won?" rubbish are Richmond and Collingwood supporters, mainly Tiges though. They seem to talk up their past glory so much because it is pretty much all they have which I find very sad.

I really don't brag or gloat when we are doing well. I'm a pretty humble supporter so I tend to get left alone in my social and working life. I find that the best way to be. Carry on like a dickhead and it will come back and bite you in the butt.