Re: The "I was wrong" thread

I thought Skipper could make it as a KPP, but in the end too slow and too short to ruck as well.

Originally posted by stefoid
      Sorry, cant think of anything
      Ditto, probably won't need to post much in this thread

I thought Travis Baird was going to make it.

Originally posted by Dry Rot
        I thought Rawlings would be our tall forward saviour.
        So did I especially after his 6 or 7 goals in his first game at the club.

I also thought the same about Jackovich.

• dadsgirl16

I won a case of champagne because someone else was wrong about Jackovich!

• Sockeye Salmon

Originally posted by turtle
            I thought Lynch was let go because of chronic injury issues
            Not really

I was wrong about John Georgiades, as a young boy I got number 9 on my jumper after his third game, my dad told me to give it a few more games but I was sure!

I doubted Jarrad Grant had the intensity or work ethic to make it, still early but I may end up wrong there too.

I thought Skipper could make it as a KPP, but in the end too slow and too short to ruck as well.
                Hmm.. he's been given a second chance (at least as a ruck), I'll hold off on that assessment for a season or two yet...

I was wrong about:

> Hawthorn not being able to win a Premiership because of their horrendous in-house culture, over-reliance on undependable/lazy stars and lack of goal-kicking midfielders. I turned out to be right about their slide to oblivion and unsustainability, but they eked one out just in time, mostly thanks to Stewie Dew miraculously becoming Brent Harvey for the day.

> St. Kilda being crap and struggling to make the eight without Riewoldt. Oh wait.

• Scorlibo

I was wrong about Stephen Hill, I didn't think him worth pick 30, let alone pick 3. I was turned off by his gangly run and thought he was not good in the contested situation. Two years on and he is already ahead of just about every one of his fellow 2008 draftees. Now we will see in the coming years whether he is going to be a tantalisingly-close-to-elite Daniel Wells or an elite Andrew McLeod. Either way he is well worthy of pick 3.
                    'And the Western suburbs erupt!'

• Cyberdoggie

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
                      Not really
                      He's played or been available for every game at Port Melbourne this year.

Done ok without setting the world on fire.

• Cyberdoggie

I always thought Fev was rubbish, made 1 cameo in the millenium game and couldn't kick straight to save himself.

I'll admit he's improved since then. Still rubbish on occasions though.

• Sockeye Salmon

Originally posted by Cyberdoggie
                          He's played or been available for every game at Port Melbourne this year.

Done ok without setting the world on fire.
                          What he's done at Port this year doesn't have anything to do with why he got delisted by us.

After watching Farren Ray in a NAB cup game in his first year I said " he will be a better player then Cooney"

I was wrong

-by thinking that we stuffed up majorly by taking Griffen instead of Buddy in that draft. Now I'm very happy to have Griffen and not Buddy.
                              -by thinking that Harbrow would never make it as he looked like a chook with it's head cut off whenever he got the ball(how effective this has become for him in the back line) and he is now one of my favourite players. I am going to be shattered at the end of this year(hopefully this is another thing I'm wrong about).

Originally posted by Running Dog
                                Mate, you call that 'wrong'? That's nothing. A real mistake would be to express the same sentiments, as I did, about Andrew McDougall.
                                To be fair to McDougall, he cost us nothing and was worth the punt. Rawlings cost us a lot more.

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
                                Not really
                                I love this answer. It's as full as apathy for the question as Lynch was for footy!

For me, Barry Hall. I wasn't anti getting him, but I didn't really want him. But he's been very good for us so far, and has managed to stay out of trouble while still having a physical presence. I've been particularly pleased with his ability to control his frustration when he has been playing poorly/shut out of a game by multiple defenders.