Re: Game Day - R14 Western Bulldogs vs Hawthorn

Originally posted by Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
    It's not the effort that's the problem. In fact that's the thing that makes it so frustrating tonight, for 3 and a bit quarters, I thought their effort was the most consistent it's been this year against a good opposition.
    It's the skills that let us down at key points.
    And that's it in a nutshell. There is a lot of work to do with a few of the boys in improving their skills. The Hawks always make it a hard contest that will test the skill execution of their opponents but the truth is that we knew that coming into the game and a few players couldn't lift to the occasion.

Originally posted by Dry Rot

Yep, we're done. Play the kids now, and look forward to the next few years.

****, I hate losing games like that this. I'd rather be hammered, like the first Lions game.

Even the ****ing Tigers are looking better than us, now.
      Your posting in this thread and highlighted by these statements show that you have NFI.

Stick to rugby DR.

• lemmon

Probably the best intensity I've seen from our lads for the year, some of the entries into the forward 50 though were nothing short of appalling. I cant see us getting top 4 now, Freo have a relatively good run, can we win it from 5th, who knows but its doubtful.

• Missing-Dog

Tough loss, needed that one.
          Looks to me sadly Johnno and Hahn dont offer enough anymore.
          Need Williams back. Aker for Johnno? Everitt for Hahn

• Ghost Dog
            • May 2010

Originally posted by Getalong liddle doggy
            We cant beat teams above us...........We cant beat teams around us. We are done!!
            What's with all these negative VIBES man!!!!

Oddball, Kelly's Heroes.

• Missing Dog

Was Hahn playing? I didn't see him much all game.

Originally posted by bulldogsman
                Was Hahn playing? I didn't see him much all game.
                Yep, just the 9 touches. Struggled big time.

• Ghost Dog
                  • May 2010

Originally posted by mighty_west
                  Mate, we all are, we are all shattered, there is no more frustrating loss than one like tonight, as Doggies supporters,we are all used to it, which makes it all some damn frustrating.

But sometimes knee jerk reactions on here are as frustrating as results like tonight, especially when there is still hope.
                  I thought we showed a lot of courage and effort. Some poor skills let us down. Dunno, but I'm a new member and have only supported the club for 10 years. but I really dislike this 'we are just like always' stuff. Our players can hold their heads high I reckon. 3 points is 3 points - a fighting team's margin.

• angelopetraglia

Gutted. Thought we had them all night.

Just could not get that 2nd goal when we were 6,7,8 points up in that last quarter. We wasted so many chances going forward across half back looking for Hall and being intercepted. We did not take our chance and in the last quarter they took all there half chances (Mitchell snap, Franklin long goal, Rioli read off the pack at full tilt).

So disappointing. Our last 4 losses have all been 10 points or under. Every time we play not even a good side, but a half-decent team we lose. Not good signs.

YOU CAN'T WIN THE FLAG FROM 8-6!

After two narrow prelim losses, all that matters is a chance at the big dance. We just blew our chance.

Gutted. Bad start to another weekend with a narrow Friday night footy loss.

• Missing Dog

Gosh I thought our defense was great though especially with some of our poor turnovers. Lake and Murphy are stars!

• anfo27

Feel for Ried tonight, injured both shoulders and had a nightmare game.

Still don't think we work hard enough. The team who wanted it most won the game tonight and if we wanted it more than how can we have 20 less tackles than the hawks?

For the posters at the game tonight, did the hawks play a loose man in defence? because it certainly looked like it at times. It was either that or their defenders kept dropping off their opponent and marking our entries far too many times.

I was worried when they dropped Eagle and no runners came in and I think we needed that extra runner.

Not happy and I think the boys just expect it to turn it around on its own.

Cross was very good i thought, always gives it everything.

• Missing-Dog

Hahn did a few blocking jobs early on up forward. Had little impact, like a number guys. It was a tough game and they matched up on us well. They did their homework. A number of players were shut down or simply didnt do enough. Few 4 quarter players. We needed to take our opportunities...we didnt

• angelopetraglia

Originally posted by Rance Fan
                            We needed to take our opportunities...we didnt
                            And the big problem was that they took all their half chances. Story of the clubs history.

• anfo27

For such an important game why did we take 3 players in that hadn't played any senior football for quite a while?
                              Reid- no impact/liabilty
                              Higgins- no impact
                              Ward- little to no impact

Originally posted by angelopetraglia
                                Gutted. Thought we had them all night.

Just could not get that 2nd goal when we were 6,7,8 points up in that last quarter. We wasted so many chances going forward across half back looking for Hall and being intercepted. We did not take our chance and in the last quarter they took all there half chances (Mitchell snap, Franklin long goal, Rioli read off the pack at full tilt).

So disappointing. Our last 4 losses have all been 10 points or under. Every time we play not even a good side, but a half-decent team we lose. Not good signs.

YOU CAN'T WIN THE FLAG FROM 8-6!

After two narrow prelim losses, all that matters is a chance at the big dance. We just blew our chance.

Gutted. Bad start to another weekend with a narrow Friday night footy loss.
                                Just about my thoughts in a nutshell. The delivery into the forward fifty was of under 10's standard,time is up for johnno and Mitch Hahn. Mitch for all his hardness just doesn't get to enough contests nowdays. It's sad and not befitting a club great like Johnson to struggle through the season.