Cross - 150 games

Congratulations to Daniel Cross, one of the most consistent Bulldogs players over many years. Week in week out Cross plays his heart out for the club and rarely has put in a bad game. One of the hardest toughest players who consistently puts his body on the line. His training standards are at an elite level and a great role model for all the players.

• Ozza

Re: Cross - 150 games

Its hard not to love Crossy. Fanatical about his fitness, absolutely gives his all, terrific and courageous overhead - and a true bulldog.
    Its was difficult to see how Cross would make it in his very very early days - we often joked that he is the midfielder that doesn't touch the footy (averaged 6.7 possies per game in his first 2 seasons/10 games) - and through hard work has turned hismelf into a ball magnet.

Deserves all the accolades that come his way. Good on you Crossy.

A great guy who has just quietly got on with it and willed himself, despite some limitations, into becoming an elite player. I loved the article a while back where his mate Boydy talked about how he puts footies into cupboards at home so when he opens one up he can test his reflexes.

He is all about heart and courage. Congrats Daniel.

Let's hope that Crossy's great efforts are not forgotten in all the fuss about You Know Who. Cross is just about the anti-akermanis in every aspect of the game.

• Ozza

Don't know if anyone else remembers this - but when Crossy was emerging as a good player - he was on a Foxtel show that Clinton Grybas hosted (the name of the show escapes me - possibly White Line Fever) and you used to be able to ring in live and speak to the hosts and guests during the broadcast.

Anyway - the discussion had been about how Crossy was a bit of a Scott West clone, mimicing the way West played etc and a caller rang up saying that he disagreed Cross was a clone of anyone - congratulated Cross on becoming a genuine A grade midfielder who had got to that point by himself through an enormous amount of work and more talent that he got credit for.

The caller was Scott West.

• Missing-Dog

Congratulations to Crossy. I'll stick my hand up and be the first to admit I gave him a hard time earlier in the year but his last 2 months have been great. Turned it around up at Manuka I reckon. Cheers

Originally posted by Ozza
            Don't know if anyone else remembers this - but when Crossy was emerging as a good player - he was on a Foxtel show that Clinton Grybas hosted (the name of the show escapes me - possibly White Line Fever) and you used to be able to ring in live and speak to the hosts and guests during the broadcast.

Anyway - the discussion had been about how Crossy was a bit of a Scott West clone, mimicing the way West played etc and a caller rang up saying that he disagreed Cross was a clone of anyone - congratulated Cross on becoming a genuine A grade midfielder who had got to that point by himself through an enormous amount of work and more talent that he got credit for.

Great story.

If there was ever a player to prove that Ticker > Talent, Daniel Cross is it.
              Forged an AFL career on pure guts. Deserves all the accolades he gets.

Originally posted by Mofra
                If there was ever a player to prove that Ticker > Talent, Daniel Cross is it.
                Forged an AFL career on pure guts. Deserves all the accolades he gets.
                What you said Congratulations to a great bulldog champion!

• KT31
                  • Jul 2008

All the best Crossy in his 150th.
                  Great guts and determination and always leading by example.

If it wasn't so grose when he retires the Doggie's Hall of Fame could put his ticker on display like Pharlaps is at the Museum.

Originally posted by Ozza
                    \Anyway - the discussion had been about how Crossy was a bit of a Scott West clone, mimicing the way West played etc and a caller rang up saying that he disagreed Cross was a clone of anyone - congratulated Cross on becoming a genuine A grade midfielder who had got to that point by himself through an enormous amount of work and more talent that he got credit for.

I remember that! Great moment.

Congrats to Crossy, he's been up there as one of my favourites since 2005, he's just so dedicated and dependable. You can just tell that giving up is not in his nature. Every time he goes for an overhead mark, often from an opposition kick, you can just tell he'll at least go close to marking it, he's terrific overhead. Hopefully we can get a win for him this weekend, but unfortunately this milestone has been somewhat overshadowed.

• BulldogBelle

One of the most courageous players ever. Able to read the play like no other. A very fair player. Always seems to know where his team-mates are for the lightening handpass. A worthy club champion.

He has improved his play even further this year with the suicide diving handpass that is his unique action. Also he has attacked more, having many fewer backward passes to safe positions.

A real hard worker and a thorough gentleman. I'd pick him first to be in the trenches with me.

Congratulations on your 150 and may there be many more.

• SonofScray
                        • Apr 2008

How good was that training montage during summer of Crossy set to Fort Minors song "Remember the Name" the guy is a machine.

Absolute gun, well done Crossy.

• Bumper Bulldogs
                            • Apr 2008

Congratulations Daniel,

I have framed on my wall his first playing jumper (No 38) that was handed to me from my Grandmother. I think he is a gun and pushes others to perform higher than what they believe they can.

After the week it been I'm glad we can end on a good news story and I hope the boys put the heart into this game as Cross has done over his career.
                            BB.

Looking forward - Naughton, Darcy and JUH. It will be the envy of everyone.

Champion bloke & well deserved, well done Crossy.