Re: Team v Adelaide Rnd 19

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
    I reckon that's a silly thing to say Arkie. We're 4th by % only heading into a finals series. Do you really believe Eade would be doing something like that at this time of the year, honestly?
    Perhaps Arkie forgot to add an emoticon.

Maybe this isn't the place for this, perhaps I should post this speculation on Big Footy or make a call to SEN, but maybe Harbrow has come back to the club with his answer about GC next year and that's why he isn't playing. The view is nice from the grassy knoll, by the way.

• Curly5
      • Jul 2008

Originally posted by turtle
      Rapt to see Jones get another crack. If they are thinking about him for finals (why else would they select him at this stage of the season) it will be great experience playing infornt of a hostile crowd.

I also hope Roughie has spent a bit of time goal kicking this week. Two bad misses in the last two weeks have hurt. If he can add some confident & competent goal kicking to his kit he will be a very very damaging player that teams will need to pay respect to in the forward line making harder for guys to double team BBBH come finals.
      Another one who has to get his set shots right is Jarrad Grant. I have no confidence when he's lining up, yet the quick snaps are brilliant. Must be all between the ears or he gets put off by the man on the mark. Hope our goal kicking coach (who?) is working on it with him.

• Desipura

Have we been lead up the wrong road with the injury?
        I've never really understood why we would say a player is only likely to miss one week if we really know it's more likely to be two or more.
        I don't think it gives us an advantage.
        He was booked in to see a Specialist yesterday, early this week I knew he would not be playing this week.
        Whether he aggrevated his injury some time between the weekend and early in the week, I am not sure.
        I am trying to find out what the outcome from the Specialist was.
        On the bolded bit, I have to agree with you.
        I would also like to find out what the story is with Harbrow. Perhaps one of our woofers who speaks with the coach might know?

Originally posted by Mount Mistake

Maybe this isn't the place for this, perhaps I should post this speculation on Big Footy or make a call to SEN, but maybe Harbrow has come back to the club with his answer about GC next year and that's why he isn't playing. The view is nice from the grassy knoll, by the way.
          Pretty sure a decision will not be made until after the season has finished.

Not sure why he isn't in this week, as of Wednesday he was a likely inclusion.

• Desipura

Originally posted by Mount Mistake
            Perhaps Arkie forgot to add an emoticon.

This was the first thing that crossed my mind. Then I thought, even if that was the case, why would he not play?
            We need him in the team.
            Surely the players want him to play if it means we are a better side with him in it.
            Surely he wants to play.
            Last week we were told by Rocket that he had a virus.

Until the club come forward as to the reason why he is not playing, there will be all sorts of speculation.

The more games we get into Jones, the better. He is the sort of guy we will build our spine around in 2-3 years' time. A little worried about the Brow though - "virus" generally means anything except a virus, considering he was at the game last week in his suit.

Originally posted by Mantis
                I am reasonably sure that they are erring on the side of caution especially considering after the interstate trip to Adelaide we have a 6 day break before facing Geelong.
                A fair call as long as we dont compromise the team that plays the cows(should be ok seeing as its possibly the same team that won by 70 last game), Harbrow and Ward will be a handy injection into the team next week.

Originally posted by Curly5
                  Another one who has to get his set shots right is Jarrad Grant. I have no confidence when he's lining up, yet the quick snaps are brilliant. Must be all between the ears or he gets put off by the man on the mark. Hope our goal kicking coach (who?) is working on it with him.
                  I was going to ssay thye same thing, its more important for Grant to get his set shots right than Roughy because its his main role considering he can really take a grab.

Maybe we can get some tips from the cows goalkicking coach?

Anybody else wondering if Roughie has surpassed Wilbur in our best 22?

Eade has said all year that he wouldn't stop playing someone if they were leaving to go to GCS.
                    I believe we are doing a Geelong and resting players up before September.

• mjp

Originally posted by nawrocki
                      I believe we are doing a Geelong and resting players up before September.
                      Not sure Harbrow is so tired he needs TWO weeks off. Something else is up.

• divvydan
                        • Oct 2009

Harbrow's shoulder was definitely strapped at training (left not right) but unless it hurt afterwards, it is surprising that he's not being played. Certainly not a virus this week

• The Pie Man

Originally posted by Mofra
                          The more games we get into Jones, the better. He is the sort of guy we will build our spine around in 2-3 years' time. A little worried about the Brow though - "virus" generally means anything except a virus, considering he was at the game last week in his suit.
                          I was standing near where the suited players were sitting, and JH looked anything but comfortable in the whistle & flute - his collar was sticking out (which was kinda funny) and he looked absolutely miserable to be honest. Guys around me were half yelling/saying loudly 'stay with us Harbrow' and he couldn't even muster a smile up (I'm not judging him, I'm painiting a picture of a man with a lot on his mind....or with a bad virus..)

Contrast that to Callan Ward who as TCD mentioned said he was right go (he said the same thing to a bloke standing next to me) He was all smiles and happy to pose for photos with heaps of kids.

Then Peter Larkins on MMM questioned the Harbrow virus call after the game, saying 'you don't normally mix with the players after the game if you have a virus'

Still a good squad to send to Adelaide - I just hope Norf does us a favour tomorrow to take the edge off the pending result of this one - Sunday twilight's a long time to wait

• divvydan
                            • Oct 2009

From the WB Facebook page:

Western Bulldogs To quash any rumours Jarrod Harbrow picked up a cork in a contact training session this week and has been left out due to this

Can anyone confirm/deny this?

• Throughandthrough

Sellar not selected for the Crows, will go with Maric and Griffin.

• Ozza

Originally posted by divvydan
                                From the WB Facebook page:

Can anyone confirm/deny this?
                                Can't confirm or deny - but forgive me for being skeptical...I don't believe this. No big deal that we aren't taking JH to Adelaide - but I query whether this is true - and not the club being cautious with a shoulder injury.