Re: Mitch Wallis = ??

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
    Libba tested a touch under 3 sec for 20m, Wallis a touch over.

Good results without being outstanding. Better than either of their fathers would have done.
    Libba testing under 3 secs for 20m was a really pleasant surprise for me, anything under 3 secs puts you in the top 20% of invitees. Given his kicking efficiency is very high, his pace is good, and his strength is actually his in and under work, he sounds like he has a lot to work with.

• BulldogBelle

Wallis looks and plays very much like his father Steve. Steve was a club captain and excellent player and our most successful coach with one win from one coaching job.
      Young Wallis is faster than his father and looks taller.
      So, compare him to his father, but faster, a bit more agile and I think a bit taller.

• The Coon Dog

Originally posted by James Cuming
        Steve was a club captain and excellent player and our most successful coach with one win from one coaching job.
        Can you shed some light on this, I have no recollection whatsoever of Wally coaching us, even just for 1 game.
        [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

• Raw Toast

I'll ask my recruiting source for more, but one impressive thing about Mitch was that his best games were also in his most important games of the season - at the National Champs and obviously also the TAC final as well.

BTW, my source had both Wallis and Liberatore as first round picks.
          [SIZE="1"][B][CENTER][I]Although it broke our hearts it did not break our will[/I][/CENTER][/B][/SIZE]

• Nuggety Back Pocket
            • Oct 2009

Wallis looks and plays very much like his father Steve. Steve was a club captain and excellent player and our most successful coach with one win from one coaching job.
            So, compare him to his father, but faster, a bit more agile and I think a bit taller.
            Let's not jump to conclusions too early. Steve Wallis proved himself a good player with 260 games behind him. All the comparisons do not weigh up until young Mitch Wallis is proven
            at senior level.

• KT31
              • Jul 2008

Pretty sure the only coaching Steve has done has been juniors.
              Taller only bring's Mitch up to a height of todays equivalent players.
              Let's not put to much pressure on the young blokes and just wish them every success.

• Topdog

The playing style thrown up in here sound like Swan.

• alwaysadog

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
                  Can you shed some light on this, I have no recollection whatsoever of Wally coaching us, even just for 1 game.
                  I don't know that it was a full coaching gig, but Terry Wallace and Brian Royal wished Wally hadn't gone out on such a disappointing note, ie at the end of '96 our worst season since '89.

At some stage in either '97 or '98 when we were flying he was invited up into the box and invited to call the shots.

That's the only coaching event I can think of that would qualify.
                  [I]I believe there's nothing on this earth that we own. All we do is look after it for our children - Terry Wheeler[/I]

• Scorlibo

Highlights of Mitch:

And Libba:

'And the Western suburbs erupt!'

• Missing Dog

They both look VERY GOOD. Can't wait to get down to Whitten Oval when pre-season starts so I can see them close up !!!

Originally posted by KT31
                        Let's not put to much pressure on the young blokes and just wish them every success.
                        I must admit that I was thinking the same thing as I was reading all the posts - don't get me wrong, I am just as excited as everyone else to see how young Mitch (and Tom) play their footy, but let's not forget they are both young men with a long, and hopefully bright future in front of them - I wish them all the success in the world!

Originally posted by Greystache
                          Libba testing under 3 secs for 20m was a really pleasant surprise for me, anything under 3 secs puts you in the top 20% of invitees. Given his kicking efficiency is very high, his pace is good, and his strength is actually his in and under work, he sounds like he has a lot to work with.
                          Agree they're good numbers for potential draftees. But guys that run around at the 3sec for 20 mark in the AFL are now a dime a dozen.

It's now a given good mids coming through need to hit that mark at least, like you I'm stoked they're not going to be behind in that respect already. I hope they don't lose any pace when they build their bodies for senior football. We can't afford to have more one paced or slow midielders coming into the team.

• Raw Toast

My recruiting mate likened Mitch to Leigh Montagna in playing style - very effective as an outside runner despite not being the fastest of movers. Obviously capable of winning his own ball as well, and he backed his kicking to continue to improve - said his work-rate is super-impressive and that this will help him make the necessary adjustments.

Now of course we've got to see him play, and I know the glowing reports do heap the pressure on, but he's a first round pick with a famous Dogs father, so there's always going to be a lot of pressure. Unlike most draftees, Mitch got to choose his destination, so I reckon he's pretty lucky and will gladly take the pressure that comes with his situation (same for Tom L as well).
                            [SIZE="1"][B][CENTER][I]Although it broke our hearts it did not break our will[/I][/CENTER][/B][/SIZE]

• dogman
                              • Jan 2008

In today's Herald Sun, they had a Phantom Draft and they named Mundy from Freo as the most similar player to Wallis. I hope they are talking about look alikes and not playing style, as I don't rate him as a player. He only plays well when, the team is playing well and disapears far to often.

• The Coon Dog

Originally posted by dogman
                                In today's Herald Sun, they had a Phantom Draft and they named Mundy from Freo as the most similar player to Wallis. I hope they are talking about look alikes and not playing style, as I don't rate him as a player. He only plays well when, the team is playing well and disapears far to often.
                                He only won the B&F at Freo this year!
                                [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]