Doing some Bulldogs history work with some VU students and they are researching our VFL/AFL Reserves Premierships of 1988 and 1998. Anyone have any details of these, in particular the score in the matches and the team who played in the 1998 Reserves Premiership?
History Questions - 1988 and 1998 Reserves GF Teams
Re: History Questions - 1988 and 1998 Reservces GF Teams
Originally posted by aker391999 was the last reserves grand final.
St.Kilda played EssendonLast edited by KT31; 30-11-2010, 10:44 AM.It's better to die on our feet than live on our knees.Comment
Here is the 1988 team, which I guess you may already have.
Premierships: AFL 1954, 2016 VFA - 1898,99,1900, 1908, 1913, 1919-20, 1923-24, VFL: 2014, 2016 . Champions of Victoria 1924. AFLW - 2018.Comment
[QUOTE=bornadog;192338]Here is the 1988 team, which I guess you may already have.
Did have this BD, but ta it's an alternative source, so ta muchly for that. We're doing some fun stuff which I'll post more of later.
Oh and apologies for the stuff up in the spelling of the title of the thread. Could a mod please fix that[SIZE="1"][B][CENTER][I]Although it broke our hearts it did not break our will[/I][/CENTER][/B][/SIZE]Comment
Great find Bornadog
Two future Bulldog browlow medallists and plenty of fine players for both teamsComment
How good are some of those players?
The '98 team was coached by Brian Royal and same of the players I'm sure that played in the GF were Joel (?) Reynolds-Dick Reynold's grandson and Christian Macrie. I reackon TCD could probably name the team, the scores and the exact crowd numbr t the moment the siren blew in the ressies GF that year off the top of his head though.They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
Was Ron James 15 in that year? It was '86 when Terry Wheeler bought him in as a 14 YO for the VFA GF I reckon.
What a tragic waste of life and talent. Stupid water skying.They say Burt Lancaster has one, but I don't believe them.Comment
Bring back the biffComment
How good are some of those players?
The '98 team was coached by Brian Royal and same of the players I'm sure that played in the GF were Joel (?) Reynolds-Dick Reynold's grandson and Christian Macrie. I reackon TCD could probably name the team, the scores and the exact crowd numbr t the moment the siren blew in the ressies GF that year off the top of his head though.
THat '88 team is an absolute ripper.Comment
#47 (Gary Irvine) is a mate of mine here in Adelaide, I have his work email address if anyone wants a pmComment
Re: History Questions - 1988 and 1998 Reserves GF Teams
I was at the 1988 Grand Final. Was in the cheer squad back then & got to hold up the banned, on the MCG, on Grand Final day!! Great win by our reserves and got to stay on and watch Hawthorn smash Melbourne in the seniors. Awesome day.Comment