Does anyone care about footy tipping anymore?

• angelopetraglia

Does anyone care about footy tipping anymore?

With the rise and rise of both Dream Team and Super Coach, footy tipping has really fallen behind. The conversation around the water cooler on a Monday morning is more and more about the fantasy comps rather than the Footy Tipping.

Does anyone care about footy tipping anymore? Are you still entering into Footy Tipping comps?

This little video had me reminiscing about the golden days of Footy Tipping;

• Danny the snakeman

Re: Does anyone care about footy tipping anymore?

I have run a footy tipping comp with my mates for 16 years but im hanging up the clipboard this year,we're all into sc & dt these days so i cant be bothered tho i will still do supertipping on the comp with the family.
    PS.This year every one in our dt/sc has to put in $20 with the winner of each league getting the money.
    Last edited by Danny the snakeman; 09-02-2011, 10:10 PM.

Fantasy football has taken over

Im in two $20 comps with a group of mates and one at work..tipping lives on in this footy addict!

• soupman

I enjoy but find very quickly there'll be people who forget about it or stop caring and thus half the people involved just bomb.

• angelopetraglia

Yes. So important with the footy tipping to get a good start. Go badly in the first few weeks and you end up chasing your tail for the entire season, taking unnecessary risks too early in the season trying to catch up getting even further behind.

• Sockeye Salmon

Footy tips died when they put the odds on Optus Footytips.

Now anyone without a clue ticks the favorites. We have 100 odd in our office footy tips and a dozen pick the same every week.

Footy tipping was still the go at our office last year. I was asking around to gauge interest in fantasy football last week and didn't find anyone who was interested. So I expect footy tipping will still be king.

• boydogs
                  • Apr 2009

DT/SC killed the radio star
                  Last edited by boydogs; 09-02-2011, 11:08 PM.

• AndrewP6

I won our tipping at work in 2009, and came second by two points last year. So, yes, I care. I played SC those years too, for the first time. Didn't do too bad in my first year at it, stunk like a dead body last year. For me, the sheer fact that I couldn't give a stuff about 16 other teams in the comp (and most of their players), means I'm not knowledgeable on enough players to be any good at SC. When the season's in full swing, I read reports on the Dogs, watch vision of the Dogs, but you have to keep up with all the teams in SC. Still haven't entered SC at school (or WOOF!), not that excited about it, to be honest.

• Chicago1

I just know there will be less interest in 774ABC Melbourne's Lindy Burns' Drive show footy tipping this year. Watch the ratings plummet!
                      47 year Doggie member

I'm home...

• cinder

I care since I won the WOOF one last year

Originally posted by Chicago1
                          I just know there will be less interest in 774ABC Melbourne's Lindy Burns' Drive show footy tipping this year. Watch the ratings plummet!
                          Does this mean you will be missing from the Friday arvo line-up of tips?

Don't care about footy tipping, and I never have been in one! Can't see the point really - just like throwing my money away I reckon! (Coz most of the time, I could care who else wins other than my team )

• Murphy'sLore
                              • Sep 2009

I did well in tipping one year (I think it was 2007) simply because I picked the Doggies every week and no one else rated them.