• Murphy'sLore
    • Sep 2009

Re: Tips on dragging the young ones to the footy

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
    Reload--> Could be worse, my twin sons have been brainwashed by their mother to go for Hawthorn, I never even stood a chance.\

My Family had an interesting system. To prevent in-fighting and bias, all of the 5 kids had to go for the team that won the premiership the year they were born until they were old enough to choose for themselves. My parents were such hippies, so funny. Prevented my uncles from trying to convert us into Essendon supporters.
    Glad all families don't use this system or we'd have no supporters left under 60!

Back again...

This saturday is D day and we are feeling pretty confident... but I have more questions....

I have my interstate membership but I need tickets for the three girls, I dont need to pre-book do I? Where do I get the tickets from?

Is there a preferred entrance or stand that is kid friendly? Maybe on the Harbour town side?

Is the Woofer thing on again? Where is it? Is it only before the game?

Can you get pass outs?

Life was easier when I just had to make sure I got to the bar and back between quarters!

Can buy tickets online with Ticketmaster, however they will slug you a million$$ for the privilidge. Should be able to get tix on the day considering there will be next to no GC fans in attendance. Ticket booths outside all major gates.

Pretty much kid friendly all round the ground. I beleive their is a kid zone running every home match, someone may be able to confirm exactly where but I believe it at the "Footscray End" of the ground.

Pass out are available at each gate.

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
          Divorce her.
          Absolutely.

Originally posted by rooner17
          Great pic ReLoad nice bi-folds, I wouldnt marry my wife unless she fully commited her love to the Bulldogs, no joke, finally she did and we married in '04' she followed the Cats her whole life, and she missed the good years hehe.
          Señor mucho respeto!

Originally posted by aker39
          Just buy your tickets at the ground. The 2yo will not need a ticket.

If you are catching the train and coming off the Bourke St bridge, enter the ground at gate 3. There are ticket booths there. If coming from Docklands, enter at Gate 7. There is also a ticket booth there and that is the end where the Footscray End is.

PS - I was with my 2 (nearly 3) year old nephew on Sunday. I had put some wiggles songs on my phone and they kept him occupied for most of the last quarter.
          Tip: Go through Gate 1. There are always heaps of people trying to squeeze through Gate 3 yet Gate 1 is always a breeze.

Big thanks to you all once again, very much appreciated, you have all been a wonderful help, I will let you all know how we go.

Aker39... Elisha Jade (EJ), the two year old, has recently moved on from Wiggles and now has become enthralled with Dora so the portable DVD will be the go. Me and the missus have iphones with kids songs too.

• Murphy'sLore
              • Sep 2009

If you see a harassed-looking couple with four little girls (2 nine year olds and 2 six year olds) in tow on Level 3 at the Footscray end, come up and say hi and maybe our kids can entertain each other!

Originally posted by marcov
                Big thanks to you all once again, very much appreciated, you have all been a wonderful help, I will let you all know how we go.

Aker39... Elisha Jade (EJ), the two year old, has recently moved on from Wiggles and now has become enthralled with Dora so the portable DVD will be the go. Me and the missus have iphones with kids songs too.
                This works a treat, don't for get the headphones

Originally posted by Murphy'sLore
                  If you see a harassed-looking couple with four little girls (2 nine year olds and 2 six year olds) in tow on Level 3 at the Footscray end, come up and say hi and maybe our kids can entertain each other!
                  I will look out for you murph!

Cheers everyone, we had a really good day.

We went to the Aquarium in the morning, had lunch there and the penguins were a hit.
                    We got to the ground just in time to get the girls hair sprayed and face painted and saw the first bounce from just inside the entrance. Then we found some seats on the 3rd level near the footscray end.
                    We had m&m's for every dog goal early on, the magic pen colouring books came out at qtr time and were a hit. EJ watched Dora at half time and I took Lili to get some dim sims. EJ was asleep on her mum for all of the 3rd qtr and Lili played games and listened to tunes on the iphone. We watched the first 10 minutes of the last qtr then scooted off to miss the rain.
                    All in all pretty successful, except... we walked up to Footscray road to get the 220 back to Braybrook but it didnt come and we got saturated, I waved down a taxi driver who had his light off to finish his work day but was going our way and took us back... Thankyou Abdul!!
                    We should have either stayed in the city for dinner or caught the train to Footscray I reckon.

• snimmo

Great to hear it went well. I just found the website today so sorry for jumping in late in the thread (was looking for a cap of the GC game, but no idea where to download one and that is when my Google search found this forum).

This was the first game of my 2yo daughter as well, we thought it would be a good quiet game to introduce her as she is not a fan of lots of noise.

We sat in the Cheer Squad and she got a flag to wave with every goal and she was really getting into it. The only issue was the Brown's actions on Ward which meant the anger in the crowd was palpable and she got quite scared with that.

We moved up to level 3 to see her Uncle (and Grand-Uncle, and cousins, et.al) and I think the lack of intensity got a little boring for her so we went back down half way in Q4.

Other than that she loved sitting with Grandma and Dad, and she ignored the iPad that she is usually addicted to. She loved the facepaint and Woofer, but was afraid of Sid (which is weird since she is used to a pack of White Shepherds in her backyard).

The only issue was it was very hard to watch the game which her almost bashing everyone in the head with her flag.

I have included a picture of her with her Grandma that my brother took while I was out helping with the banner.

She has now demanded that her Mum has to come to the game (she does not care for AFL), so that sounds promising.
                      Attached Files
                      Last edited by Guest; 11-04-2011, 10:07 PM. Reason: attached wrong photo

Originally posted by snimmo
                        Hi Snimmo,

Welcome to WOOF. That pic is one for the ages! Classic.

Looking forward to hearing more from you.

Wow, how interesting this thread is. I also took my 2yo son to this game for his first game. While he loved the cheering, he didn't realise that he was also clapping when GC scored.

He got bored at half time, and all he wanted to do was walk up and down the isles and in between the chairs. He saw some adults step over the chairs, and then promptly tried to do it himself.

While I missed some good plays while watching him, I still had a good day first up. I asked him after the game if he enjoyed it, and he nodded yes. When asked if he wanted to go again, I got no answer.

• snimmo

Good to hear nawrocki, maybe Woofer needs to be involved for the next game he goes to. The facepainting, and the bouncy castle all helped my daughter enjoy it (but they are not to be done together).