Re: Tough

Libba copped a brute of a shiner that closed his eye shut against the Cats in a top of the table clash at Princes Park in 2007 (was around Round 8 or so). He was BOG of course, and he was instrumental in getting us over the line in that game. Was also the game where Brad Wira played very close, ahem, attention to Buddha Hocking.

As a collective group, I thought our win in Adelaide last year, with half the team stricken by the flu and unable to breath properly, was a very courageous win. Likewise our effort to come from 5 goals down and win a cut-throat final wasn't given due kudos (what with it being Roosy and Kirky's last game and all)

1997 Sedat!

IIRC it was the game that Libba dropped the F-bomb in the aftergame interview as well. He said "That was ****ing top effort by all the boys" on the old footy station that Optusvision or whatever it used to be called had.

I had some moronic Geelong supporters (are their any different type of Geelong supporters?) stamnding behind me shouting "You're a squib Brad Johnson-You'll never cut it as a footballer". They all had buck teeth and red hair that seems to be mandatory for Geelong supporters.

• Desipura

Originally posted by aker39
      Don't worry, I made up for Granty's silence.

Ian Collins walked through the EJ Whitten Bar at Etihad after a game and I gave him the biggest spray possible. The arrogant prick just kept walking.
      Did you show him your umpries licence at the time? If you did, he may have taken that away from you as well

• The Coon Dog

Libba copped a brute of a shiner that closed his eye shut against the Cats in a top of the table clash at Princes Park in 1997 (was around Round 8 or so).
        What was funny about that (accidental kick to the head by Bluey McGrath) was Libba received a free kick & it was late in the game. We were kicking with a howling gale & Libba would have needed 2 kicks to make the journey.

James Cook raced up & was given the pill & calmly slotted it through half post high from 60 out to gives us the lead, which we never surrendered.
        [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

• Sockeye Salmon

Carlton's Bob Chitty worked in a sawmill.

He lost a finger in an accident there on a Saturday morning, bandaged it up and played that afternoon before going to hospital.

1997 Sedat!
            Fixed

The greater municipality of Geelong has an absolute mortgage on ugly red heads. They all bow to the alter of Scratcher Neal.

Dale Morris played the last half of 2009 with a cracked bone in his leg IIRC

• Bulldog Joe
                Premiership Moderator
                • Jul 2009

Fixed

The greater municipality of Geelong has an absolute mortgage on ugly red heads. They all bow to the alter of Scratcher Neal.
                Don't blame the genetic deficiencies on a good Tassie boy like Robert Neal.
                Incidentally most of his family caried the Scratcher title in local footy.

• Ghost Dog
                  • May 2010

Originally posted by ReLoad
                  Firmly tongue in cheek.

When I was old enough I was allowed to stand in the outer behind the goals at the scoreboard end with my uncles, and used to stand on a milk crate to see the game.

Once, uncle Ken, bit into a donut from the Jiffy donut van in the opposite pocket to the scoreboard, the jam was so hot it burnt the inside of his mouth out, sure he taught me a few swear words that day but then he drank another few tinnies and kept on yelling and screaming, thats dedication and commitment. :P
                  So funny. King of posts

Originally posted by Sockeye Salmon
                    Carlton's Bob Chitty worked in a sawmill.

He lost a finger in an accident there on a Saturday morning, bandaged it up and played that afternoon before going to hospital.

One of my mates is Peter Chitty's (one game for St Kilda, brother of Bob and winner of the Changi brownlow) grandson. The family story is that at half time he decided that the badage was doing more harm than good so he ripped it off and played the second half without it. Now that's tough!

BTW I've converted said mate from a Carlton supporter to bone fide bulldog!

• BulldogBelle

A couple of Chris Grant's come to mind.

1. Playing on after recovering when he got knocked out through a punch in the back of the head from Johnathan Brown.

2. After getting hit in the head from a different incident and having a delayed reaction head jolt response Bruce the goose suggested that Grant was putting it on. Two minutes later the biggest egg that you would have seen in your life developed on Grant's head. Do you still think that he was putting it on?

• Bulldog4life

A little known fact about the courageous and great E.J. Whitten was that he played a lot of his career with a broken scaphoid bone. That is the reason why he invariably wore a white bandage on one wrist.

Originally posted by James Cuming

2. After getting hit in the head from a different incident and having a delayed reaction head jolt response Bruce the goose suggested that Grant was putting it on. Two minutes later the biggest egg that you would have seen in your life developed on Grant's head. Do you still think that he was putting it on?

Barry Hall at the SCG? Back in the bad old Rohde days.

• SonofScray
                            • Apr 2008

Sav Rocca broke Libba's nose in his farewell game didn't he? Some sort of milestone anyway. He stuck it out in true Libba fashion. The toughest of them all. He gets bagged out for a few perceived indiscretions but took much more than he ever gave.

Outside of Libba Steve Wallis and Chris Grant immediately sprang to mind for toughness over the span of a career. Monty's effort in the final though was epic, real 'cometh the hour, cometh the man' type stuff. Do that in a GF and you become immortal.

But I dont recall anything more impressive than Monty.
                              Hard to disagree with Monty for mine (although anything pre-early 90's I have no idea given my age.

Monty's stands up very well for mine given the context, finals footy, and his performance after copping the knock was first class. One of my favourite Bulldogs games that one, knocking off the Pies and giving Smith and West the chance to play their 300's together. I'm sure Monty's actions lifted the team on that day and showed a lot of the guys who are still around and were quite a bit younger then, the sort of hardness, willing and determination required to be successful in finals footy.

• AndrewP6

Not sure how they compare to the other acts here, but a few recent Bulldog efforts were tough. Griff playing hurt through the 2010 finals (and playing B&F footy too!), Morris with his back injury, Crossy playing with two bad ankles, Lake playing with a catalogue of injuries...