Re: Big job for Bulldog debutant

Originally posted by Shnookie
    Last year I asked why Lucas wasn't getting a game. Too Slow, Skills not good enough, poor decision making.
    Mmmmmmmmm
    Not sure about the skills bit even by reputation, his kicking at VFL level has generally been very good, especially for a big man.

If he breaks even with a Hille or a Hurley we should be exstatic - that would be an outstanding debut.

• The Underdog

Originally posted by Mofra
      Not sure about the skills bit even by reputation, his kicking at VFL level has generally been very good, especially for a big man.

If he breaks even with a Hille or a Hurley we should be exstatic - that would be an outstanding debut.
      He certainly doesn't need to be a Lake clone. He just needs to play a decent negating game and not make any critical errors. Despite his more mature age, this is still his first game of AFL and we can't expect too much from him. It;s going to be up to the more experienced guys, particularly Williams to pick up the slack. Williams is going to have his hands full with Ryder/Hille and needs to have a strong game.

• LongWait
        • Sep 2009

Good luck and congratulations Lucas - you've worked hard for this!

If Marcovic can stand up as an AFL standard key defender we then get the opportunity to occasionally play Lake or Marcovic as a swing man. I can imagine either playing the Nick Maxwell role down back and loved it when Lake pushed up forward a few times last year - the panic on the defenders faces was obvious (like a fox in the chook pen.)

• Cyberdoggie

Hopefully he has a good game,

If he plays on Hille i think he will struggle. He seemed to find it difficult against a larger and much stronger Hawkins in the NAB cup game, but has been pretty decent against players more his own size.

Originally posted by Cyberdoggie
            Hopefully he has a good game,

If he plays on Hille i think he will struggle. He seemed to find it difficult against a larger and much stronger Hawkins in the NAB cup game, but has been pretty decent against players more his own size.
            Hille hasn't had much of a pre-season so may not be his absolute best. If Markovic does have to take a turn on Hille, hopefully his footy smarts combined with Hille being a bit underdone means he'll at least break even.

That'd be a good result for us, but I reckon he may spend most of his time on Hurley anyway.

So what his nickname?

Markovic sounds Serbian/Russian.

Lucas 'Stalin' Markovic- ruling the defensive 50 with an iron fist.

Originally posted by Gus
                So what his nickname?

Markovic sounds Serbian/Russian.

Lucas 'Stalin' Markovic- ruling the defensive 50 with an iron fist.

I like Drago.

"I defeat all man"

*I'm pretty sure Markovic is not Russian but whatever.

Nicknames don't need to be entirely factual.

I like Drago. Favourite Rocky movie of the lot.

• Desipura

Im thinking his dad followed the doggies due to our colors being the same as his dad's country of origin flag.

Originally posted by comrade
                      I like Drago.

"I defeat all man"

*I'm pretty sure Markovic is not Russian but whatever.
                      I must break you!

• Missing Dog

I believe his nickname is Horse

His name is most likely either Serbian or Croatian. Although Lukas is not really a name used in either of those countries.

He speaks well and sounds like he is well and truly ready. All the best Lucas.

• AndrewP6

Originally posted by Shnookie
                              Last year I asked why Lucas wasn't getting a game. Too Slow, Skills not good enough, poor decision making.
                              Mmmmmmmmm
                              Looks like some people have joined my band wagon.

Good Luck to jim & I hope Rocket rotates players all year so come September we are Fresh, Fit & Firing
                              His nickname is Jim?

Discover the meaning, origin, and history of the Markovic surname. Explore its roots, notable figures, and genealogy resources.

He's ROMAN!