• Maddog37
    • Nov 2010

Re: James Fantasia

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
    Puopolo does well in the current list at Hawthorn. But I'm happy with Schofield at the moment. Has the pep we need IMO
    Agree with this. Long term I think we will win on this one. Especially how our list sits now drafting the younger player is a better choice.

What are peoples thoughts on Paul Hamilton from Essendon as possible general manager of footy operations?

Not sure why he has left, or what he is going to.

• Nuggety Back Pocket
        • Oct 2009

Originally posted by azabob
        What are peoples thoughts on Paul Hamilton from Essendon as possible general manager of footy operations?

Not sure why he has left, or what he is going to.

http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsartic...8/default.aspx
        A good thought as Paul Hamilton is regarded as a good football person with experience at Essendon, North Melbourne and Port Adelaide. He has been replaced because James Hird wanted his mate Danny Corcoran in the job.

Originally posted by Nuggety Back Pocket
          A good thought as Paul Hamilton is regarded as a good football person with experience at Essendon, North Melbourne and Port Adelaide. He has been replaced because James Hird wanted his mate Danny Corcoran in the job.
          And a lot of the Essendon supporters are filthy about it. The honeymoon period is very quickly coming to an end for Jimmy.

• Nuggety Back Pocket
            • Oct 2009

Originally posted by Greystache
            And a lot of the Essendon supporters are filthy about it. The honeymoon period is very quickly coming to an end for Jimmy.
            Do you think Hamilton would be a good fit for the Bulldogs?

Originally posted by Nuggety Back Pocket
              Do you think Hamilton would be a good fit for the Bulldogs?
              Nor sure, I don't know much about him.

Originally posted by Chops
                In Fantasia's position? We would have to sack him first and I can't see it happening soon.

Like Eade, his contract will eventually expire and he will have to apply. Not many contractors get sacked.

Anyone know when it expires?
                  Paul Hamilton being an Essendon boy Macca might want to grab him, not that it's Maccas decision.

• boydogs
                    • Apr 2009

Originally posted by ledge
                    Anyone know when it expires?
                    Paul Hamilton being an Essendon boy Macca might want to grab him, not that it's Maccas decision.
                    Sounds like Hird made the call at the Bombers.

Not everything in footy clubs and other corporations is completely confined to a single person's responsibility.

Originally posted by azabob
                      If it meant getting rid of Fantasia, I'd bring in George Hamilton.

I've got a Bomber mate who talks highly of Hamilton as a quietly effective operator. While we're at it, would love to see us replace Dalrymple with Rendell. Looking at Dangerfield, Sloane, Talia, etc.. he has a great eye for young talent

If it meant getting rid of Fantasia, I'd bring in George Hamilton.

I've got a Bomber mate who talks highly of Hamilton as a quietly effective operator. While we're at it, would love to see us replace Dalrymple with Rendell. Looking at Dangerfield, Sloane, Talia, etc.. he has a great eye for young talent
                        Sedat, we missed the boat with Rendall, as soon as he was sacked, Collingwood had already signed him up.

Yes he has a great eye for talent, but I am ok with Dalrymple in the drivers seat at the moment (hopefully Im right, as we badly need to nail these drafts).

PS - Last night I was googling Fantasia contract length to add some more context to this discussion and I came across a Grant Thomas article that was written at the time Rodney Eade's contract wasn't renewed, and Thomas wasn't very complementary about Fantasia at all and low and behold, one of the "readers comments" was by a bloke called Sedat, and I swear it could have been lifted from woof by our very own Sedat!

PPS - Also during my googling I found an article from late August this year and it was about Hawkins wanting both Garlick and Fantasia sacked... interesting.

Former Crows recruiting boss James Fantasia returns to SANFL club Norwood

FORMER Crows recruiting boss James Fantasia is returning to day-to-day football as Norwood’s new chief executive.Fantasia will take charge of the SANFL Redlegs from Monday, replacing retiring chief executive Geoff Baynes.
                          Baynes leaves The Parade on Friday after planning his exit with a succession plan in the past six months.
                          Fantasia — an unsuccessful candidate for the SA Football Commission earlier this year — will be back in daily football operations for the first time since he had to leave AFL club Hawthorn in 2013 with ill health.
                          His resume not only includes significant AFL portfolios at the Adelaide and Western Bulldogs and a senior role in the SANFL administration, but also major business and commercial acumen and study. He also is a former Norwood and Woodville league player.

Don't let him control player contract retention... Caro said the other night Hawthorn made a very costly mistake hiring him. Arguably we did too.

• Missing Dog

Good on him for, presumably, recovering from ill health.

Don't let him control player contract retention... Caro said the other night Hawthorn made a very costly mistake hiring him. Arguably we did too.
                                There isn't much room for argument. We did, it was.

Good to see he is over his health problems.