• The Coon Dog

Kicks for goal after the final siren

I was having a chat with a mate about shots for goal after the final siren that affected the results of games involving the Bulldogs. Here's what we were able to recall, but I'm sure there might be others we have missed:

Alan Stoneham v Fitzroy - VFL Park - Goal - Bulldogs won
    Simon Beasley v Brisbane Bears - Gabba - Missed - Brisbane won
    Stephen MacPherson v North Melbourne - MCG - Goal - Draw
    Brad Johnson v Geelong - Etihad - Missed - Geelong won
    Brad Johnson v North Melbourne - Etihad - Missed - North Melbourne won

Bill Brownless (Geelong) - MCG - Goal - Geelong won
    Matthew Lloyd (Essendon) - Etihad - Missed - Draw
    Nick Reiwoldt (St.Kilda) - Etihad - Missed - Draw
    Nathan Bock (Adelaide) - Etihad - Missed - Bulldogs won
    [COLOR="Red"][B][U][COLOR="Blue"]85, 92, 97, 98, 08, 09, 10... Break the curse![/COLOR][/U][/B][/COLOR]

Re: Kicks for goal after the final siren

TCD, correct me if my memory faulters.
    Simon Beasley vs Syd and all the Syd supporters
    Syd won

Originally posted by Shnookie
      TCD, correct me if my memory faulters.
      Simon Beasley vs Syd and all the Syd supporters
      Syd won
      Not correct.

This was the one TCD stated which was against Bris, but was at Carrara.

It was a farce, fans everywhere and an opposition player on the shoulders of his teammate.

• Axe Man

There's a couple more here:

• Guido
          • Aug 2011

Against Freo at the Whitten Oval, mid-90's, can't remember for certain but Ben Allan maybe? Missed, Bulldogs won.

Either Scott West or Simon Atkins, maybe someone else, early 90s Ansett Cup game against Fitzroy in Tassie, was about 55 out on the boundary, didn't make the distance. (think I was in primary school at the time so it's all a bit of a blur, and there is a distinct chance that this was all imagined lol)

• Missing-Dog

Originally posted by Guido
            Against Freo at the Whitten Oval, mid-90's, can't remember for certain but Ben Allan maybe? Missed, Bulldogs won.
            Yep, it was Ben Allan.

Originally posted by Guido
              Against Freo at the Whitten Oval, mid-90's, can't remember for certain but Ben Allan maybe?
              Remember this like it was yesterday. Peter Quill had possession of the ball on the half back flank on the Doug Hawkins wing side of the ground and motions everyone to head to the boundary wing for a long kick. Then he stupidly proceeded to kick it inboard to Ben Allan on the 50 metre line. Luckily for us, his knees were shot and his kick after the siren fell about 5 metres short.

Originally posted by The Coon Dog
                I was having a chat with a mate about shots for goal after the final siren that affected the results of games involving the Bulldogs. Here's what we were able to recall, but I'm sure there might be others we have missed:

Alan Stoneham v Fitzroy - VFL Park - Goal - Bulldogs won
                Simon Beasley v Brisbane Bears - Gabba - Missed - Brisbane won
                Stephen MacPherson v North Melbourne - MCG - Goal - Draw
                Brad Johnson v Geelong - Etihad - Missed - Geelong won
                Brad Johnson v North Melbourne - Etihad - Missed - North Melbourne won

Bill Brownless (Geelong) - MCG - Goal - Geelong won
                Matthew Lloyd (Essendon) - Etihad - Missed - Draw
                Nick Reiwoldt (St.Kilda) - Etihad - Missed - Draw
                Nathan Bock (Adelaide) - Etihad - Missed - Bulldogs won
                At the MCG

• Desipura

Was Wayde Skippers mark and goal on the siren, to draw us the game against St Kilda at Etihad or am I mistaken?

• westdog54

Originally posted by EJ Smith
                    At the MCG
                    Definitely at Etihad.

Originally posted by Desipura
                    Was Wayde Skippers mark and goal on the siren, to draw us the game against St Kilda at Etihad or am I mistaken?
                    Was very late in the game but Riewoldt had a set shot a few seconds before the siren that levelled the scores. Skipper's goal actually put us in front

• Ozza

Originally posted by EJ Smith
                      At the MCG

This one was actually at the Docklands. Johnno's 300th game.

Geez, Josh Hill looked good that day.....kind of like how he looks now that he plays for West Coast!

• Flamethrower
                        • Oct 2009

Originally posted by Mantis
                        Not correct.

This was the one TCD stated which was against Bris, but was at Carrara.

It was a farce, fans everywhere and an opposition player on the shoulders of his teammate.
                        That incident led to a rule change banning players forming Rugby Union like "pyramids" on the mark. A 13yo Michael Voss can be seen running across the mark as Beasley lines up for goal.
                        Footscray member since 1980.

Originally posted by Flamethrower
                          That incident led to a rule change banning players forming Rugby Union like "pyramids" on the mark. A 13yo Michael Voss can be seen running across the mark as Beasley lines up for goal.
                          I nearly kicked the TV in that day.

• W W Biscuit

Interestingly enough, the game in which Steve MacPherson kicked a goal to draw the game against North Melbourne was the second week in a row that he had the final kick in a game to influence the result. The week before this game, scores were all tied up vs Sydney Swans at the Western Oval. Conditions were very wet and heavy. With seconds to go, SuperMac swooped on the hit out from a boundary throw in on our half forward line, slammed the ball on his boot and it promptly sailed through for a point on the siren. Win to the Bulldogs by one point. Yay!
                            Crumbs!

Originally posted by westdog54
                              Definitely at Etihad.
                              Yep and it was one of the most enjoyable days of footy I've experienced. Johnno's last quarter was epic!