• Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Re: Game Day 2012 - R6 Western Bulldogs vs Collingwood

Originally posted by Ghost Dog
    Come off it. They came off a nine day break and have some superstars in their team.
    We played really well and turned up. A missed early shot from Picken and and two or three turnovers and we may have one that.
    And besides, we are not cattle, we are DOGS. ^_^

enjoyed watching us play. Some great effort from the lads. Moving in the right direction for sure.
    That's precisely what I was trying to say. I wasn't unhappy with our effort (I actually edited my post before you posted your reply, highlighting that.
    However I don't think you can gloss over the fact that the reason we lost tonight was due to repeated skill/decision errors, which reinforces my point. We do not have the cattle to win these sorts of games.
    Dylan Addison ain't going to get any more skilfull, and it's not a knock on him. He can only be as good as he can be. He has a heart the size of the Lion, and exemplifies the type of effort you want to see from every player. Yet it cannot be denied that his skills are below AFL standard. We have lot of those types who under pressure do not have the skills required to consistently execute when it matters. And against quality teams it will show out.
    We are going to be in for a sustained period of these 'good effort, but no cigar' type performances for this reason until we are able to address the dearth of quality in our side.

Hmm.. we werent terrible but i reckon the pies arent all that flash... their backline can definitely be exposed one on one, and better forwardlines than our ramshackle one will take it to the cleaners. Pies on the slide as well... malthouse may have timed his exit perfectly.

• Ghost Dog
        • May 2010

Originally posted by Lantern
        Hmm.. we werent terrible but i reckon the pies arent all that flash... their backline can definitely be exposed one on one, and better forwardlines than our ramshackle one will take it to the cleaners. Pies on the slide as well... malthouse may have timed his exit perfectly.
        Why do you call it ramshackle. Liam Jones is 20 years old. I prefer to think of it as ' maturing'.
        Wasteful in front of goal. It cost us.

• Ghost Dog
          • May 2010

Originally posted by Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
          That's precisely what I was trying to say. I wasn't unhappy with our effort (I actually edited my post before you posted your reply, highlighting that.
          However I don't think you can gloss over the fact that the reason we lost tonight was due to repeated skill/decision errors, which reinforces my point. We do not have the cattle to win these sorts of games.
          Dylan Addison ain't going to get any more skilfull, and it's not a knock on him. He can only be as good as he can be. He has a heart the size of the Lion, and exemplifies the type of effort you want to see from every player. Yet it cannot be denied that his skills are below AFL standard. We have lot of those types who under pressure do not have the skills required to consistently execute when it matters. And against quality teams it will show out.
          We are going to be in for a sustained period of these 'good effort, but no cigar' type performances for this reason until we are able to address the dearth of quality in our side.
          Don't forget, the pies applied very good pressure. the turnovers happened late in the game. That's just footy. I thought Dylan did some good things and had a few shockers, but overall, did very well. I feel some players good acts just get totally ignored. We surprised a few tonight, so don't write the story of our season yet.

Why do you call it ramshackle. Liam Jones is 20 years old. I prefer to think of it as ' maturing'.
            Wasteful in front of goal. It cost us.
            It looks thrown together and doesn't have much system ATM.

Great to see Lake having a good game. It had been awhile.

• Missing-Dog

Originally posted by Eastdog
                Great to see Lake having a good game. It had been awhile.
                The back half was fantastic for the most part.
                Hope they can back it up next week.
                Need to beat the Kangas!
                We will have a bigger break and they be coming back from the west with a likely loss to WCE

Great game for the scapegoats, Wood, Addison, Gia, Cross, Hargrave.
                  It was a pretty good effort all up.

Sherman, why? For someone that loves the glory,Mohave a crack mate! Kick that and it's o e point. Miss and it's one goal and the ball in our fifty. Any Paki bookmakers around?

• Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Don't forget, the pies applied very good pressure. the turnovers happened late in the game. That's just footy. I thought Dylan did some good things and had a few shockers, but overall, did very well. I feel some players good acts just get totally ignored. We surprised a few tonight, so don't write the story of our season yet.
                    I admire your enthusiasm and positivity. I think over the years here, I could hardly be called a constant source of negativity. However in my opinion we have some serious shortcomings that I don't think will work themselves out over time without major changes tothe list.

I love the effort we show, but no matter how much effort we show with the list we have, we are more times than not, going to get beaten due to the dearth of quality on our list.
                    It reminds me of most of the 80's, where we would show all the effort in the world, but more times than not against the better teams it rarely see us win.
                    That's why games like the '84 last minute win against Collingwood was so great at the time, because we were a team of battlers, and we pinched one on effort alone.
                    I don't want us to remain like that. It's not sustainable. I want the effort + depth of skillful players that the top teams have.
                    I'm fully accepting of the fact that it is going to take some time to make the changes to the list to hopefully redress that imbalance on our list. Hopefully we can capitalise in the next coupld of years on what I think will be a poor ladder position by recruiting the types of players we dearly need.
                    I'm patient, and I'll still keep following the lads, hoping for the odd effort win ala the '84 game against the pies in the meantime.
                    Last edited by Yankee Hotel Foxtrot; 04-05-2012, 11:26 PM.

Originally posted by Rance Fan
                      The back half was fantastic for the most part.
                      Hope they can back it up next week.
                      Need to beat the Kangas!
                      We will have a bigger break and they be coming back from the west with a likely loss to WCE
                      The next 2 weeks a big chances for win as we come up against North Melbourne and Gold Coast.

• Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Actualy for most of the game I thought our pressure was fantastic, the best in has been all year. That for me was what I enjoyed the most tonight.

Our spread or lack thereof as it has been all year, at times got us in trouble.

• Yankee Hotel Foxtrot

Originally posted by West-Dog
                          Fairly simple in the end , Wood off with a hamstring injury and we lose some rebound , two Murphy mistakes , two Sherman mistakes , we drop our intensity a bit and they sneak away , its like being groped by a poltergeist you know what happened but you can't blame anyone
                          Love it!
                          Yeah it was a real shame that Wood went off, he was really showing why the club persists with him. He really has the ability to take his man and the game on. Tonight he was looking like a real influential player, and I too agree it was not coincidental we struggled after he exited the game.

• Ghost Dog
                            • May 2010

Originally posted by Yankee Hotel Foxtrot
                            Actualy for most of the game I thought our pressure was fantastic, the best in has been all year. That for me was what I enjoyed the most tonight.

Our spread or lack thereof as it has been all year, at times got us in trouble.
                            Yep and their smaller players were able to win the one on one chase into the goal square. Quick. They got some cheap ones. They had to play good footy to stay in the race for 3Q though.

Originally posted by Stefcep
                              1. Decision making, decision makinf, decision making.
                              2. Jones is not, will not ever be a KPF. Has not had a single effective possession. Doesn't help that..
                              3. We have no system going into the 50 other than kick it long, kick it high.
                              Contradiction if ever I've heard

• angelopetraglia

Just got back from the game. Really solid effort. Definitely not the demolition that many were tipping. Collingwood is far from the team that they were and we are not as bad as we showed last week.

In the end a few things ultimately cost us;

- some absolute shocking turnovers when it counted most that resulted in goals in the last quarter
                                -our inability to put on more scoreboard pressure when we were dominating the game, especially early
                                -they ran over the top of us in the last quarter too, the 10 day Vs 6 day break would have definitely helped them
                                -we lost any type of composure when going inside our own 50 in the last quarter and allowed the ball to rebound too quickly