Re: Bankers and Anchors - Round 12

As Wallis gets his game together he'll add extra parts to his game to become a more complete player, well at least I hope he does.

At the moment he's playing a significant role as a distributor by hand and that's great, though over the next couple of years he needs to start using the ball by foot to create.

We can't afford to have midfielders that won't use both hand and foot moving forward, if the game hasn't already gone past that, then it will soon.

• whythelongface

As Wallis gets his game together he'll add extra parts to his game to become a more complete player, well at least I hope he does.

At the moment he's playing a significant role as a distributor by hand and that's great, though over the next couple of years he needs to start using the ball by foot to create.

We can't afford to have midfielders that won't use both hand and foot moving forward, if the game hasn't already gone past that, then it will soon.
      He has shown, on occassions, that he can use the ball by foot, such as his lovely pass to Higgins last week. Hopefully he gains more confidence and starts to utilise his foot skills more.

Originally posted by paulv
        Boy it is great to see the love for Wallis and Addison coming through now. It would be a very interesting exercise to go back and see who was positive about them last season, compared to those who have simply jumped on the band wagon this season.

Wonder who will suddenly come good next year?
        Ahem....

Not sure anyone is on Addison's bandwagon, just acknowledging that he is doing what he does week in, week out. It's probably more noticeable because he's playing more this year.

Originally posted by Cyberdoggie
          Yeah so far he's pretty much just a handballer.
          You can see his first reaction is to pick the ball up and handball it in the same diving action on most occasions. Needs composure to know when to do that and to actually take the ball and create by himself by foot.

Just take a look at this article pre drafting, and in Mitch's own assesment of his game, he compares himself to Joel Selwood, and inside and outside midfielder who can create, and is efficient.
          Mitch Wallis

His stats from the 2010 u/18 champs also indicate that he kicks and handballs a simlar amount. From his 9 game AFL career he averages 8.4 kicks, 13.9 handballs, that is very Daniel Cross like in comparison, not the stats of someone who is an inside and outside midfielder.
          Just a handballer"????? I guess much the same could have been said about one Scotty West.
          If the kid turns out half that effective [ what does that equate to:3.5 Sutton Medals], I for one would be pretty happy.
          Watch out, I reckon the kid is coming big time.

Originally posted by paulv
            Just a handballer"????? I guess much the same could have been said about one Scotty West.
            If the kid turns out half that effective [ what does that equate to:3.5 Sutton Medals], I for one would be pretty happy.
            Watch out, I reckon the kid is coming big time.
            Sorry mate, half as effective as Scott West equates to struggling for a game. Maybe running at 95% of Scott West equates to half the Sutton Medals......

Appreciate what you're trying to say, though.

Originally posted by Mantis
              Addison is the same player he was last year, but he has gotten an opportunity due to injuries and is doing ok. I doubt he would be playing if our defence was at full strength.

Wallis has improved which was always going to happen for a 2nd year player, but he still has along way to go.
              I actually think Addision has improved significantly his ability to defend one-on-one this season compared to previous seasons. He looked lost and was busy ball-watching a lot of times in the past but I think he is cutting off the angles and reading the flight of the ball off the boot much better this season, and has become a much more effective defender as a result. He is a good example of McCartney's ability to teach players to be better at the simple things.

Wallis does have some way to go but his rate of improvement year on year has been far in excess of what I thought he would achieve. The areas you mentioned do need some work but you can safely assume that he will learn as he becomes more experienced at this level, and will invariably sharpen up his decision-making with ball in hand - he is certainly a natural footballer who has finely honed instincts for where to run and how to track the ball.

• always right

I think Wallis needs to get a little more poise into his game.....which will come with game time. He has a habit of trying to gather and dish off the ball in one action which sometimes leads to some shoddy handballs. Have been really impressed with his level of improvement this year.

As for Addison...he's playing within his limitations. Posters on here might not have him in a full strength defensive unit but I wouldn't be surprised if McCartney has a different view. We really need only one lock down small defender though so Addison needs to keep performing. I do still worry about him when he lines up on quick smart forwards.
                I thought I was wrong once but I was mistaken.

• Nuggety Back Pocket
                  • Oct 2009

Addison lacks the footy smarts to lock down the more classier small forwards but fits the BMcC criteria of being hard in and under. Has played within his limitations and done well.
                  The big improvement in Wallis IMO has been moving from an outside midfielder to now being a lot harder at the contested footy. This was a strong characteristic of his father Steve's league career.